Saints have done well to snag a goal just before half time. I so wish we could have done the same.

2 minutes ago, BDA said:

Good response from the saints. It was looking like it was going to be a rout so fair play to them for getting back into this game

Nearly messed it up with another silly advantage call.

3 minutes ago, BDA said:

Good response from the saints. It was looking like it was going to be a rout so fair play to them for getting back into this game

Umpires getting involved, haven't seen all the replays to confirm those Free Kicks were legit.

Edited by ElDiablo14

1 minute ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Umpires getting involved, haven't seen all the replays to confirm those [censored] were legit.

Edited by ElDiablo14

17 hours ago, Redleg said:

Usually they say on AFL site subbed out with injury if concussed. 

Doesn't say anything. But he was clearly unbalanced and his feet were buckling as he went off.

Would have to be concussed you would think, but it's Carlton.

He looked genuinely out of it when the team was singing the song in the rooms too.

We definitely need a couple of elite kicks in our list, they can make the difference by getting goals from almost impossible angles and distances.

Giants make our skill level look very ordinary.

Hogan and Bedford would be handy right about now for us.

How didn't the footy department see that Bedford was the more superior small forward than Chandler?

5 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Giants make our skill level look very ordinary.

Hogan and Bedford would be handy right about now for us.

How didn't the footy department see that Bedford was the more superior small forward than Chandler?

We did not want him to go. He asked to be traded. Was out of our hands.

2 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

GWS are quick, they’d expose us badly on the outside. I reckon they’d smash us. 

We wont meet them unless they get to the Grand final.

22 minutes ago, YearOfTheDees said:

We did not want him to go. He asked to be traded. Was out of our hands.

Because there wasn't many opportunities presented to him last year.

Just now, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Because there wasn't many opportunities presented to him last year.

We offered him a three year contract.

Popped into the footy. It's nice just being a neutral observer. 

Also the difference to our game. Both forward lines have open space 

And Toby just nutts another one.

Bedford ugh.  Still can't believe we let him go and went with Laurie. 

No offence to to the young fella but they are chalk and cheese in terms of speed & finish.

Even slightly ahead of Chandler imv and will probably jump ahead in coming years.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

GWS will be a difficult opponent for port or lions. And they don’t seem to mind playing at away grounds. Tough on the inside, great spread, solid defensively and some real method going inside f50. They’re a well coached team and can’t be taken for granted

Edited by BDA

Every thread ends up as Team X would beat us. Without fail.

What is it with all the Bedford revisionism in this thread. He did not show this kind of form when playing for us. And he had chances to do so.

Edited by BDA

1 minute ago, Clintosaurus said:

You know who wouldn’t beat us? West Coast 

45 minutes ago, Chook said:

Love your work WCW but I'm sorry to inform you the quality of the crepe paper used in each team's banner does not portent the future.

Love your work too, Chook. Firstly, the Swans - like most other clubs - use plastic and not crepe paper; secondly, the problem wasn’t the construction of the backing, it was that the sleeve (the cylindrical vinyl attachment through which the pole is inserted) had split in two; thirdly, and most importantly, I wasn’t being serious anyways. 😁

11 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

this thread would beat us

16 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Bedford ugh.  Still can't believe we let him go and went with Laurie. 

No offence to to the young fella but they are chalk and cheese in terms of speed & finish.

Even slightly ahead of Chandler imv and will probably jump ahead in coming years.

can’t remember many people complaining when we let him go

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Featured Content

• GAMEDAY: Rd 16 vs Gold Coast

It's Game Day and the Demons are back on the road again and this may be the last roll of the dice to get their 2025 season back on track as they take on the Gold Coast Suns at People First Stadium.

• Haha
    • 546 replies
  • PREVIEW: Gold Coast

The Gold Coast Suns find themselves outside of the top eight for the first time since Round 1 with pressure is mounting on the entire organisation. Their coach Damien Hardwick expressed his frustration at his team’s condition last week by making a middle-finger gesture on television that earned him a fine for his troubles. He showed his desperation by claiming that Fox should pick up the tab.  There’s little doubt the Suns have shown improvement in 2025, and their position on the ladder is influenced to some extent by having played fewer games than their rivals for a playoff role at the end of the season, courtesy of the disruption caused by Cyclone Alfred in March.  However, they are following the same trajectory that hindered the club in past years whenever they appeared to be nearing their potential. As a consequence, that Hardwick gesture should be considered as more than a mere behavioral lapse. It’s a distress signal that does not bode well for the Queenslanders. While the Suns are eager to remain in contention with the top eight, Melbourne faces its own crisis, which is similarly deep-seated but in a much different way. After recovering from a disappointing start to the season and nearing a return to respectability among its peer clubs, the Demons have experienced a decline in status, driven by the fact that while their form has been reasonable (see their performance against the ladder leader in the Kings Birthday match), their conversion in front of goal is poor enough to rank last in the competition. Furthermore, their opponents find them exceptionally easy to score against. As a result, they have effectively eliminated themselves from the finals race and are again positioned to finish in the bottom half of the ladder.

• 4 replies
  • NON-MFC: Round 15

As the Demons head into their Bye Round, it's time to turn our attention to the other matches being played. Which teams are you tipping this week? And which results would be most favourable for the Demons if we can manage to turn our season around? Follow all the non-Melbourne games here and join the conversation as the ladder continues to take shape.

• Thanks
    • 287 replies
  • REPORT: Port Adelaide

Of course, it’s not the backline, you might argue and you would probably be right. It’s the boot studder (do they still have them?), the midfield, the recruiting staff, the forward line, the kicking coach, the Board, the interchange bench, the supporters, the folk at Casey, the head coach and the club psychologist  It’s all of them and all of us for having expectations that were sufficiently high to have believed three weeks ago that a restoration of the Melbourne team to a position where we might still be in contention for a finals berth when the time for the midseason bye arrived. Now let’s look at what happened over the period of time since Melbourne overwhelmed the Sydney Swans at the MCG in late May when it kicked 8.2 to 5.3 in the final quarter (and that was after scoring 3.8 to two straight goals in the second term). 

• 3 replies
  • CASEY: Essendon

Casey’s unbeaten run was extended for at least another fortnight after the Demons overran a persistent Essendon line up by 29 points at ETU Stadium in Port Melbourne last night. After conceding the first goal of the evening, Casey went on a scoring spree from about ten minutes in, with five unanswered majors with its fleet of midsized runners headed by the much improved Paddy Cross who kicked two in quick succession and livewire Ricky Mentha who also kicked an early goal. Leading the charge was recruit of the year, Riley Bonner while Bailey Laurie continued his impressive vein of form. With Tom Campbell missing from the lineup, Will Verrall stepped up to the plate demonstrating his improvement under the veteran ruckman’s tutelage. The Demons were looking comfortable for much of the second quarter and held a 25-point lead until the Bombers struck back with two goals in the shadows of half time. On the other side of the main break their revival continued with first three goals of the half. Harry Sharp, who had been quiet scrambled in the Demons’ first score of the third term to bring the margin back to a single point at the 17 minute mark and the game became an arm-wrestle for the remainder of the quarter and into the final moments of the last.

• 0 replies
  • PREGAME: Gold Coast

The Demons have the Bye next week but then are on the road once again when they come up against the Gold Coast Suns on the Gold Coast in what could be a last ditch effort to salvage their season. Who comes in and who comes out?

• Sad
      • Thumb Down
    • 372 replies