On 29/08/2023 at 05:35, jnrmac said:

These journos are imbeciles.

For a start Port has no picks. They have 37 and 42. Last year they traded their 1st, 2nd and 3rd round for JHF.

Port have Georgiades

On 29/08/2023 at 07:00, Roost it far said:

Port have Georgiades

We aren't trading a $900k a year player for Georgiades. He has more currency than that

On 29/08/2023 at 01:52, dazzledavey36 said:

Moore will come in for Frampton which then leaves JVR to take their next best defender and that's Jeremy Howe..

What a gold match up! Howe hates body contact and prefers to sit off and fly for a mark. I'd back JVR to easily put body Howe in a one on one contest.

Murphy will play on JVR, I reckon, and there's Maynard too. They've got plenty of defensive options. It's more about making them accountable and hurting them on turnover and bringing the ball to ground to prevent the intercept.

If I remember correctly the Kings Birthday game sold out but took four days to do so. But I remember a lot of empty seats and they were in bunches like they had not been sold.

On 29/08/2023 at 07:52, YearOfTheDees said:

If I remember correctly the Kings Birthday game sold out but took four days to do so. But I remember a lot of empty seats and they were in bunches like they had not been sold.

85,000 people were there, that’s a sell out when you include no shows and gaps in members area. This game will be 90plus and bigger than Ben Hur. If you’re not fully pumped I can’t help you.

On 29/08/2023 at 08:36, Bates Mate said:

Forward I hope, he'll be destroyed by our backs 

I dunno. I actually think he's in the Melksham mould of defensive forward. He can play on a tall, jump on their head or bring the ball to ground minimum. He's probably not as good a kick as Jake, but he's reasonable.

Just watching the replay of the Kings Birthday game. Worth watching.

Collingwood had won 23 of their last 25 H&A games

They were on fire and we smashed em. Just couldn't kick straight

On 29/08/2023 at 08:40, Binmans PA said:

I dunno. I actually think he's in the Melksham mould of defensive forward. He can play on a tall, jump on their head or bring the ball to ground minimum. He's probably not as good a kick as Jake, but he's reasonable.

Is why i think he'll play forward....or at least start forward... just my thoughts

On 29/08/2023 at 08:49, beelzebub said:

Is why i think he'll play forward....or at least start forward... just my thoughts

One of many fascinating sub plots to come in this game.

I seriously cannot remember a more evenly poised QF.

Should be a cracker and hopefully reignites the rivalry that has become more driven by our side than theirs. We win and go on to win the flag and the rivalry is legit again.

First time we've both been legit contenders and have met in a final in for 59 years.

Edited by Binmans PA

On 29/08/2023 at 07:05, jnrmac said:

We aren't trading a $900k a year player for Georgiades. He has more currency than that

We pay Grundy $650. He wants out, we trade him for Georgiades who we pay $400 and who actually plays seniors football. That feels like a good deal to me. 

On 29/08/2023 at 08:44, jnrmac said:

Just watching the replay of the Kings Birthday game. Worth watching.

Collingwood had won 23 of their last 25 H&A games

They were on fire and we smashed em. Just couldn't kick straight

And they had Sidebottom, DeGoey, Ginnivan, Elliott and Howe out and they say some had the flu whether that was true or not who knows, still should be a good game.

Demonland post Swans game

”We’ll belt the filth”

”Pies are no chance”

1 day later

”going to be close”

”they’re a good side”

Pre Game

MFCSS in full breakout.

”We’re no chance”

”Can’t see how we win”

It's the finals everyone has a chance some have an easier path than others it's on the day, injuries etc and I would sooner start playing at the G than say Brisbane.

I’m sihtting myself and will be till we’re 6 goals up with 5min to go in the last quarter and we’re chanting MELBOURNE over and over again as their supporters crawl from the stands

Edited by Roost it far

On 29/08/2023 at 09:45, Roost it far said:

I’m sihtting myself and will be till we’re 6 goals up with 5min to go in the last quarter and we’re chanting MELBOURNE over and over again as their supporters crawl from the stands

And im thinking its deja vu from last game..

Tight tight tight...  but theyll rush us....but we have more gears.

Im backing us... by about the same 3 to 4 goals 

On 29/08/2023 at 07:00, Roost it far said:

Port have Georgiades

Port also have their future first, Grundy and pick 34 for their future first?! 

Was watching 2 magpies fighting over a worm in the backyard this morning....

....they seemed to struggle a lot with possession though.

On 29/08/2023 at 00:12, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I'm not sure of the right thread to make this comment, but how ludicrous is the AFL's scheduling for the first week of finals? There are three night games all being played in the same time zone yet each starts at a different time. Our game starts at 7.20pm, the Friday game at 7.50pm and the Saturday game at 7.25pm. 

You can argue the merits of each time, but surely every night game in the same time zone (and two of them at the same ground) should start at the same time.

Yeah but Better Homes & Gardens is on a Friday night and has always pushed the footy back half an hour.... 🤷‍♂️

On 29/08/2023 at 09:16, Roost it far said:

We pay Grundy $650. He wants out, we trade him for Georgiades who we pay $400 and who actually plays seniors football. That feels like a good deal to me. 

Yeah $650 is fairly pricey for a bloke who's running circle work in Cranbourne 

On 29/08/2023 at 09:26, Roost it far said:

Demonland post Swans game

”We’ll belt the filth”

”Pies are no chance”

1 day later

”going to be close”

”they’re a good side”

Pre Game

MFCSS in full breakout.

”We’re no chance”

”Can’t see how we win”

Circle of life 

I was in Sydney for the R24 match.

While I was there, I was attacked by a freakin magpie. Not sure if it was some sort of omen. In any event, I survived the attack.