Posted (edited)
59 minutes ago, Redleg said:

If Kane is right, we trade Tom to Port and BBB maybe retires due to injury, if he can't get his knee right.

No chance TMac would move his family interstate for the short time he has left in the game. 

BB could well agree to retire and take a more active role coaching our AFLW team. 
He could well have his eye on a role in Tassie in a few years, and this could be a good stepping stone. 

Edited by Jaded No More

Posted
2 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

No chance TMac would move his family interstate for the short time he has left in the game. 

BB could well agree to retire and take a more active role coaching our AFLW team. 
He could well have his eye on a role in Tassie in a few years, and this could be a good stepping stone. 

methinks he was referring to tomlinson

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Redleg said:

If Kane is right, we trade Tom to Port and BBB maybe retires due to injury, if he can't get his knee right.

Has Kane said something about this? And would anyone take on Tom given his injury history and age? We'd likely have to pay a portion of his contract at the very least. And why would Port need another tall forward? They have them coming out of their ears. Play him as a defender, you think?

Posted
12 minutes ago, A F said:

Has Kane said something about this? And would anyone take on Tom given his injury history and age? We'd likely have to pay a portion of his contract at the very least. And why would Port need another tall forward? They have them coming out of their ears. Play him as a defender, you think?

yes was thrown up as a option for Port as a tall defender. He states Tmac has pace???

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2023/06/21/premiership-demons-floated-as-trade-option-for-flag-contender/

Posted
4 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

methinks he was referring to tomlinson

No it was Tom, named and pictured.

Posted
4 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

He has one year left on a contract with us.

What if an Interstate club like Port and Adelaide, with Dodee rumoured to be looking around, offered a 3 year deal at reasonable money, I think he would look at that. There are other clubs like Sydney, who are short on key defenders too.

You can rent for a couple of years and the family might see it as an adventure.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Redleg said:

What if an Interstate club like Port and Adelaide, with Dodee rumoured to be looking around, offered a 3 year deal at reasonable money, I think he would look at that. There are other clubs like Sydney, who are short on key defenders too.

Perhaps, I guess it depends what he has set up post footy.

He might just be happy to hold us to his contract for a year and then call it day, knowing he's won a flag and his body is absolutely had enough. 

I am not sure Port or Adelaide would take the risk on a 3 year deal for him with his history of serious foot injuries. If they do, they're frankly mad. 

Posted

Agree JNM sounds pure fantasy TMAC and BBB are struggling to get out on the park I am hoping that we can nurse them through to the finals but even that is looking shaky.!!

Posted
54 minutes ago, Redleg said:

I would have thought Oscar McDonald was a better option. There was surprise when West Coast Eagles, desperately short of fit players, decided not to pursue him at the recent mid-season draft.

Posted

Can we target a Forward Coach... someone who knows wtf forward play is actually about.......

Posted (edited)
On 6/22/2023 at 7:46 AM, Sydney_Demon said:

There was surprise when West Coast Eagles, desperately short of fit players, decided not to pursue him at the recent mid-season draft.

Surprise from who?!?

Edited by JimmyGadson
Posted
On 6/22/2023 at 4:46 PM, Sydney_Demon said:

I would have thought Oscar McDonald was a better option. There was surprise when West Coast Eagles, desperately short of fit players, decided not to pursue him at the recent mid-season draft.

That speak more volume of Oscar then it does on West Coast.

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, redandbluemakepurple said:

If May pulled another hammy , big Oscar would be a fixture.

No he [censored] wouldn't lol. 

The dude isn't even on an AFL list and that's purely because he's not that good at all.

Posted
18 minutes ago, redandbluemakepurple said:

If May pulled another hammy , 

I just threw up in my mouth.

Posted (edited)

I still think Himmelberg would be a great interim foil for Van Roo. And especially so if we targeted Caddy in the draft who is exploding and looks Curnow-esque. 

Liam Henry would be a great addition too and could really rejuvenate both Pickett, himself and our forwardline. Would bring serious excitement, playing with your best mate brings the best out of you. 

I'd also shake up our half forwards and trial either Salem or Bowey on a flank over the summer to add a great user to the frame. 

Henry         Himmelberg         Fritsch

Caddy         Van Rooyen         Bowey 

Starting midfield:

Oliver   Trac    Pickett 

So much more exciting. 

Edited by JimmyGadson
Posted

It looks like 'club led' trading contracted players is on the agenda.

clubs-pushing-for-ways-to-lead-trades-of-contracted-players

Currently happening with OOC players eg Hunt😢 last year.  Trading in-contract players takes it to another level,

Posted (edited)

And another possible change for points and drafting

LEAGUE FLAGS CHANGES TO BIDDING SYSTEM

...the League is set to continue tying up any loose ends within its bidding process, including whether clubs can match first-round bids on father-son prospects with a host of later selections.

"They are really different, a father-son versus a Northern Academy versus a Next Generation Academy. They're all in for different reasons. Having specifics around each of those three is really important for us," Dillon told Gettable.

"When we first brought in the bidding system, we had the hidden picks where clubs were aggregating heaps of picks. We moved to change that. Sometimes, people look at it and say, 'How can you pick up a player in the early part of the draft by matching (a bid) with picks in the 40s?' Again, as we evolve, that's something to look at. We're taking feedback from clubs all the time on it." – Riley Beveridge

The AFL closed the loophole some years ago by decreeing a club could not have more draft picks than list spots.  They relaxed it in 2020 due to covid altho the connection was vague at best. 

It can only be a good thing if the AFL closes the loophole again and reverts to the draft picks = list spots rule.

The downside is that 3rd and 4th round picks will have little trade value for points accumulation. 

Edited by Lucifers Hero
Posted (edited)

Perfect timing for the AFL to change the rules on Father son draftees just as the Dees have a few coming through over the next few years. 
Does it mean they will leave all the NSW, Queensland and Tassie clubs to still have the same access to the academy players?

Edited by Colm
  • Angry 2
Posted
41 minutes ago, Colm said:

Perfect timing for the AFL to change the rules on Father son draftees just as the Dees have a few coming through over the next few years. 
Does it mean they will leave all the NSW, Queensland and Tassie clubs to still have the same access to the academy players?

If the AFL close the loophole again clubs will have to 'pay' more for F/S and Academy players.

Posted

Yup we get short end of the stick again like we did with Mac Andrew. 
Although with hindsight I’d take JVR every day of the weeks anyways. 

Posted
26 minutes ago, Colm said:

Yup we get short end of the stick again like we did with Mac Andrew. 
Although with hindsight I’d take JVR every day of the weeks anyways. 

We get the short end of the stick, but only because we were probably the first club to exploit the points rules with GWS