Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

Oliver and Frittata worst games for a long time. 

I must watch a different game of footy.

How many players have his influence and numbers under a heavy tag ?

Edited by Gator

Posted
6 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

And what is BBB going to do, had trouble last year, our forward line is dysfunctional, they expect a kid to be a big time pack mark, ain't gonna happen yet, as I said earlier maybe we are like the dogs snaged a great premiership and will continue to make finals and that's it, (hope not).

A dysfunctional forward line doesn’t average almost 110 points per game. I hear Tassie might but be looking for some supporters, maybe you could jump on an early membership package

Posted
3 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Does anyone else feel this year has just continued on from the end of last, the gap between our best and worst hasn’t improved. We seem to have issues on every line. 

Doesn’t feel like it did in 2021 when it felt like we wouldn’t ever loose to anyone regardless of score. Maybe we hit our straps come end of year but feels more of a hope than a certainty.

At this point, we have to hope we have one of the seemingly random weeks where our pressure is right up when we come up against Coll or Geel, beat them and hope that it builds some belief and recognition of what it takes to be there at the pointy end. Right now we look absolutely miles off being a contender in my opinion. Very much like the latter half of 22.

Posted
1 minute ago, bobby1554 said:

A dysfunctional forward line doesn’t average almost 110 points per game. I hear Tassie might but be looking for some supporters, maybe you could jump on an early membership package

Another stats person, so you believe we could beat the cats or pies with our forward line dream on

Posted
Just now, demon3165 said:

What game were you watching it was as poor a game from a side competing for the flag.

Our win over Richmond was far poorer than today given Richmond were seriously depleted. 

My two points.

1) Unlike North last week GC’s pressure wouldn’t allow us to play the game on our terms. We did pretty well to establish a reasonable lead on many occasions, we just couldn’t break them.

2) Collingwood have played like [censored] for 2 quarters in each of their last 2 wins over middle of the road sides like GC - would you say they were poor wins as well?

With that being said, it certainly wasn’t a good performance and I’d be concerned if Goodwin wasn’t concerned with elements of the game and the team structure.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Interesting that when Collingwood fall over the line against middle of the road signs like Essendon and Adelaide- the media, the players and supporters celebrate like they’ve won a flag and give the impression that they’re this special side that captures the hearts of the media and most football supporters.

Pies have a lot more key injuries than we do tho. 

Posted
47 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Probably back on the booze with Harley B.

Keep those racial stereotypes going

Posted

2.6 in the last is unlike us this year, we blew the chance to go up by 4 goals which would’ve killed the game and it almost came back to bite us.

Thankfully it didn’t, players were very happy to win that game judging by their reactions on the siren. They sung the song with gusto too, just shows how hard it is to win a game of footy. And credit to the Suns, they executed their plan well.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said:

Hunter’s cooked and Grundy’s a headless chook so there goes our recruits from last year.

Fritsch needs a wake up call.

Chandler’s struggling with his leg, had no explosiveness in the second half. 

I thought Oliver had left behind these shocker games in 2020 but he’s had a few this year now.

May and Lever madness bubbling along. Petty could help but he gives no offensive drive and that’s how the ball gets stuck at the wrong end. Disco was really coming in to the game late in the 3rd with some intercept marks, not sure they subbed the right guy.

When a team turns up the pressure and speed and we can’t get the backline set we’re coughing up goals.

And our ball movement just becomes gimmicky or bombing because too few of our players make quick accurate decisions.

Mate you really need to stop taking unwarranted pot shots at our players.

'Hunter's cooked'- Yes, he was off today but he's been very good this year.

'Grundy's a headless chook'- This one's an absolute shocker. Grundy has been a massive upgrade on Jackson. At least he actually has the capacity to kick goals and hold onto his marks.

'Fritsch needs a wakeup call'- Why? He definitely had a bad day but he's still averaging more than two goals a game. Not to mention that he's easily been our best forward over the past two and a half years.

'I thought Oliver had left behind these shocker games in 2020 but he’s had a few this year now'- Aside from the Brisbane game, all of Oliver's performances have been excellent-solid. And I thought he was great in the last quarter, when the game was there to be won.

Edited by Hopeful Demon
  • Like 18
Posted
Just now, Jaded No More said:

Pies have a lot more key injuries than we do tho. 

Very fair call.

It’s just that their inability to play 4 quarters cost them in the finals last year and it seems to be continuing this year.

Posted

Now they are trying to get JVR suspended saying his eyes weren’t on the footy the whole time.

Not bad calling where his eyes are, looking from behind through the back of his head.

Some in the media should be ashamed of their performance in their job, of not reporting news, but rather trying to create it.

Posted

This is what I know. 
we got smashed at clearances, especially centre and whilst we try different players there they always stand in the same spots, same as around the ground. We should try different set ups but we don’t.

Our kick ins as so predictable that opposing teams set up more players to the left so we are outnumbered… it’s like they know our plan and we don’t. 
Petty, Lever May should be our start8ng backs. I’d rather a smaller forward line.

GC played the centre and we didn’t clog it up and they got good movement through there, but they made sure their wingers stayed wide with langers and Hunter thus negating our fluid movement from defence to attack.
Kozzie is a good addition to the centre but like the tigers with Bolton we then don’t have him inside f50. 

Our f50 pressure game requires both Nibbler and Spargo, don’t think it works with just one. 
Fritta when not playing well doesn’t even chase or pressure, or if he does it’s token.

Posted
1 minute ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Our win over Richmond was far poorer than today given Richmond were seriously depleted. 

My two points.

1) Unlike North last week GC’s pressure wouldn’t allow us to play the game on our terms. We did pretty well to establish a reasonable lead on many occasions, we just couldn’t break them.

2) Collingwood have played like [censored] for 2 quarters in each of their last 2 wins over middle of the road sides like GC - would you say they were poor wins as well?

With that being said, it certainly wasn’t a good performance and I’d be concerned if Goodwin wasn’t concerned with elements of the game and the team structure.

One they played without a Rickman and the other coming of the Anzac game which was played pretty hard, just watch how they move the ball around which like the bombers and lions game completely tore us apart.

Posted
13 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

And what is BBB going to do, had trouble last year, our forward line is dysfunctional, they expect a kid to be a big time pack mark, ain't gonna happen yet, as I said earlier maybe we are like the dogs snaged a great premiership and will continue to make finals and that's it, (hope not).

A natural forward. 

Won't get in Fritsch' way 

Will take the no. 1 key defender

Will hit the scoreboard when he gets his chances 

Petty is a defender, and thankfully so because our defence needs him ATM. 

Jordon is paying a role and would be stiff to be dropped but we need Spargos creativity and touch. 

Hunters run up and down that wing will be tough to replace but agree he has been wasteful at times.  

Posted
1 hour ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

And breathe.....

Jesus. that was exhausting to watch. 

Fair play to GC. We were a little bit off tonight but a couple of times a year they pull a game like this out of the box. Killed us at the contest and clearance for a lot of the night and got the ball forward quickly before we could set up. I honestly thought we were destined to cough this one up after Fritta missed a sitter and they went down the other end and scored. 

Onwards and upwards. 

A few minutes after the siren went I thought to myself "Gold Coast will get smashed next week". They went at every content like their season depended on it and they had many tired and sore players at the end of the game (we probably have a few too). But as you say, that was their out of the box game and we won. They will often knock off one or two big teams each year (nearly got the pies last year but for a couple of non-calls). It wasn't great, but I'll definitely take it given how much the Suns threw at us.

Posted

Thought we did alright. On the road again, weather conditions we are not used to, and a very fast track.

A few of our players stood up when they had a chance.

Gawn was marking well, Tracc having a huge impact with his possession, kept us in it.

Our nose was in front most of the evening, fighting well, giving an effort, and not letting them have momentum for long periods.

The Suns used the ball well after winning the contest. Loved their composure, steps, ability to find space and the right options when running the ball.

Thought more of our possessions had an impact.

The backline spent a fair bit of time off their feet. Don't like it when they go to ground, in the contest.

Was it slippery out there?

Good to get those 4 points. They came at us and we hung in there.

Went to the Sporting Globe in Richmond. No atmosphere, no commentary for the first 15 minutes (playing Adelaide v Geelong). Only one Melbourne supporter in the room I'm was in. Could anyone suggest a public place to watch when we aren't in Melbourne, that is in the Prahran, Richmond, inner city areas?

Posted
1 minute ago, Stu said:

A few minutes after the siren went I thought to myself "Gold Coast will get smashed next week". They went at every content like their season depended on it and they had many tired and sore players at the end of the game (we probably have a few too). But as you say, that was their out of the box game and we won. They will often knock off one or two big teams each year (nearly got the pies last year but for a couple of non-calls). It wasn't great, but I'll definitely take it given how much the Suns threw at us.

Yeah, I thought the same Stu, that they'll probably get rolled by whoever they play next week but even if they do it shouldn't diminish our result. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Dee*ceiving said:

A natural forward. 

Won't get in Fritsch' way 

Will take the no. 1 key defender

Will hit the scoreboard when he gets his chances 

Petty is a defender, and thankfully so because our defence needs him ATM. 

Jordon is paying a role and would be stiff to be dropped but we need Spargos creativity and touch. 

Hunters run up and down that wing will be tough to replace but agree he has been wasteful at times.  

I agree with you on BB but when he was at north he got a majority of his goals on the lead, he is not a pack mark sort of player if they change how they deliver it he will be effective. 

Posted
Just now, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Yeah, I thought the same Stu, that they'll probably get rolled by whoever they play next week but even if they do it shouldn't diminish our result. 

Definitely not. They’re going to be a very good team in a year or two. But it’s nice to be the experience team that finds a way to win against a plucky young team, instead of the other way around! 

Posted

It's been a huge factor that our two key talls in Tmac and Bbb have been missing for tge most part . They were a key element in us winning a flag.

Take any clubs two best tall fwds out and they would struggle.  In hindsight we've done well without them. I do believe however it showed tonight. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, kev martin said:

Thought we did alright. On the road again, weather conditions we are not used to, and a very fast track.

A few of our players stood up when they had a chance.

Gawn was marking well, Tracc having a huge impact with his possession, kept us in it.

Our nose was in front most of the evening, fighting well, giving an effort, and not letting them have momentum for long periods.

The Suns used the ball well after winning the contest. Loved their composure, steps, ability to find space and the right options when running the ball.

Thought more of our possessions had an impact.

The backline spent a fair bit of time off their feet. Don't like it when they go to ground, in the contest.

Was it slippery out there?

Good to get those 4 points. They came at us and we hung in there.

Went to the Sporting Globe in Richmond. No atmosphere, no commentary for the first 15 minutes (playing Adelaide v Geelong). Only one Melbourne supporter in the room I'm was in. Could anyone suggest a public place to watch when we aren't in Melbourne, that is in the Prahran, Richmond, inner city areas?

As for no commentary, you should have considered yourself lucky.

Posted
2 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

I agree with you on BB but when he was at north he got a majority of his goals on the lead, he is not a pack mark sort of player if they change how they deliver it he will be effective. 

His contested marking in 21 was really good. Something he really worked on.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Suns were missing Touk Miller, Lachie Weller, Holman and some others. Miller is close to their best player, Weller is very underrated and Holman is a heart and soul goal kicker. 

I agree it wasn’t our best but it was remarkable to get the win considering we lost in so many areas usually our strengths. I really hope it’s a wake up call and we get things in order before Port and Carlton. 

Posted
14 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

ballard no concussion - the  issue was he heard a 'crack' in the neck

My eyesight is not great but the commentators kept acting like JVRs fist hit his head but I thought his fist :arm went over his right shoulder and Ballard felt the other side of his head probably because JVR’s shoulder hit it. ?