Adam The God 30,747 Posted April 30, 2023 Posted April 30, 2023 Underground handballs are fine. It's the handballs over the back of the head from anyone but Oliver who are too flashy IMO. 1 Quote
The Jackson FIX 3,512 Posted April 30, 2023 Posted April 30, 2023 He’d be a nightmare to defend - can’t just put your hands up to block a handball you also have to think about defending down low. reminds me a bit of keeping up to the stumps to a medium/quick - they’re generally not looking for the stumping, they’re looking to keep the batsman honest, keeping them further back on the crease so they can’t get to the pitch of the ball as easily. Maybe Hunter throws these little dinky unders in to keep the defender honest? n.b. I never kept up to the stumps to a medium or quick…. Way too much of a pea heart. Quote
DeeSpencer 26,691 Posted April 30, 2023 Posted April 30, 2023 39 minutes ago, Webber said: He never broke the lines, was always an accumulator on connection and smart play-maker. Still is. Most of those 6 kicks last night WERE effective. And the sun still rises in the east. Prime Lachie Hunter was absolutely a line breaker. Could still be if we gave him the ball first option when he was in space - not by leg speed but by the speed of his brain creating overlap by switching from defence to attack. We make life very hard for him by mucking around with it before it gets to him when his space is closed. But the reality is he’s not getting the ball in space, not trusting himself to kick more than 30 on the run and is now a defensive positioning, slow safe kicks and handball player. That’s still useful, but isn’t a complete wingman at all. He’s providing little more than what JJ did last year and the attacking spark he gave us in preseason isn’t there. He hasn’t had many actually effective kicks in weeks. Not the Champion Data version but the real version. Quick, accurate, corridor or zone breaking. 1 Quote
Ollie fan 3,672 Posted April 30, 2023 Posted April 30, 2023 I’m perfectly happy with underground handballs, but what I hate are look away handballs. So often, they miss the target, or even worse, get to a target who is completely under pressure because the person making the hand pass has not been able to see the pressure happening. Quote
IRW 1,388 Posted April 30, 2023 Posted April 30, 2023 On 4/24/2023 at 11:22 PM, Bates Mate said: Seen more in the past 2 weeks than I have in the past 20 years mostly from Lachie Hunter but others getting involved. Is it a new clever tactic or just larising? . Came off a couple of times but soo bad when it dosen't When Grundue did it in his game and set up a goal I thought it was genius. I reckon the AFL players sit around in pubs talking about doing it ,then they practise in the car park after training because they don't want the coach to see it on game day until they get it sorted. 1 Quote
Webber 10,650 Posted April 30, 2023 Posted April 30, 2023 3 hours ago, DeeSpencer said: Not the Champion Data version 3 hours ago, DeeSpencer said: not by leg speed It’s amazing how expert you are at blustering a narrative that opposes what’s otherwise widely understood. Lachie Hunter has NEVER been a line-breaker in the way everyone understands it - by straight-line foot speed. Of course he’s a creative playmaker by brain speed. That however is a different ability. He is also an EXCEPTIONALLY efficient user by the metric of hitting targets and not turning the ball over. However, you believe there’s another version - your “real” version. Not sure why you think contrary hyperbole helps your arguments, because it actually does the opposite. 2 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 30, 2023 Posted April 30, 2023 The problem with underground handballs is doing them on a dewey surface. 1 Quote
Demons1858 1,827 Posted April 30, 2023 Posted April 30, 2023 6 hours ago, A F said: Underground handballs are fine. It's the handballs over the back of the head from anyone but Oliver who are too flashy IMO. What about the under ground kicks, starting to see a few of those also? Quote
Cyclops 512 Posted April 30, 2023 Posted April 30, 2023 The bounce handpass is good for a player to dispose of the ball however for the receiver it slows the ball up after bouncing. This adds pressure to the receiver to then take and dispose of the ball. Also, quite often, the ball is fumbled as the bounce is inconsistent. 1 Quote
ManDee 7,395 Posted May 4, 2023 Posted May 4, 2023 FCS they are not underground handballs, unless we are playing at Coober Pedy! 2 Quote
leave it to deever 17,619 Posted May 4, 2023 Posted May 4, 2023 (edited) I've been surprised by how many have occurred of late by us. Most of them have been effective. They make me nervous. Edited May 4, 2023 by leave it to deever Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,777 Posted May 4, 2023 Posted May 4, 2023 I'd love to hear an open and frank discussion on the Bulldogs' handballing of 2016 and how much of it was planned delivery and how much luck. It was obviously a team play but they took unsighted and unusual handballing to a new level. Quote
AzzKikA 2,371 Posted May 4, 2023 Posted May 4, 2023 On 4/25/2023 at 11:25 AM, Demon Dynasty said: Think again DS Doc's explanation of time travel in "Back to the Future" tells us that the "underground" handball is not only plausible but may well transcend time and stop the game for a nano second, thereby confusing oncoming opponent and providing receiver with more time to assess and gather... 1 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted May 4, 2023 Posted May 4, 2023 14 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: I'd love to hear an open and frank discussion on the Bulldogs' handballing of 2016 and how much of it was planned delivery and how much luck. It was obviously a team play but they took unsighted and unusual handballing to a new level. they may as well allow throwing as long as 2 hands are used. it's effectively how it is now 1 Quote
beelzebub 23,392 Posted May 4, 2023 Posted May 4, 2023 1 hour ago, daisycutter said: they may as well allow throwing as long as 2 hands are used. it's effectively how it is now Only if wearing particular guernseys 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted May 4, 2023 Posted May 4, 2023 2 hours ago, beelzebub said: Only if wearing particular guernseys there's a lot more than just the dogs, bub Quote