Posted
5 hours ago, old55 said:

I used to hate Esserdun (sic) but now I just pity them.

I get what you're doing. Saying you hate them makes them feel as if they're still relevant. Saying you pity them hurts them far more 👏

Posted

I’m married to a Carlton supporter, sshhh, I pretend to be neutral about them, but secretly I detest the vile, arrogant and entitled supporters (husband excepted) and club. God help us all when they finally reemerge. 
I was barracking for Adelaide tonight 

• Haha 5

Posted

Living in and around Essendon for the past 20 years, I've come to realise that Essendon supporters are essentially an affluent version of the Richmond supporter. Their version of the game is essentially "The umpire is always wrong, everyone is always out to get us, we have a rightful place amongst the greats, the league is grateful of our existence." Being at The Lincoln Arms or Royal during an Essendon game is truly nauseating, with 10-20 of them spreading out across enough seats and tables for 50 people, sipping on red wine and Pure Blonde. Don't make eye contact, no sudden movements. Avoid football small talk with an Essendon supporter at all costs: your eyes will roll so hard into your skull, you'll do a 360 flip.

Anyway, Melbourne by 32 points.

• Haha 5
Posted

Bomberbliz/Bigfooty

A bit more to offer in the last few days.  As usual I've left out most of the repetiveness.

Not sounding like fans of a team that is in the eight!

• Yeah, im optimistic we progressing!! Cant help being glass half full, comes with the Territory!  ... its an illness, im hoping the therapy will help.
  • We need fwds who will lead against melbourne. Lever and may will distroy us if we bomb it in like we have been.
  • Dees onball division is still a scary proposition in wet.  Got a big task ahead of us
  • Reckon wet weather footy also favours older stronger bodies. It will be a hard slog.
  • I’ll give you the tip, every supporter base reckons they get screwed by the umps.
  • I think game plan is only half the story for wet weather. The other half is skill level. We have relatively poor ball handling skills in dry weather - fumbling, not being able to pick the ball up of the ground, double grabbing etc. it gets magnified in wet weather.
  • Hirdy wouldn’t have picked such an appalling team.
  • Boring selections but I supppse finals is still a live proposition. Hard 6 games coming up but pinch a couple and we would be certain to play finals.
  • We’ve gone away from stacking the forward line with resting midfielders because they don’t provide enough defensive pressure.
  • This will be the start of a long losing streak.
  • The changes don’t really matter. We will get smashed and probably for the next 6 weeks or so.
  • Should just forefeit the next month.
  • Who does May go to without VOSS, May will monster Jones or nullify Stringer.
  • If it’s absolutely hosing down rain both sides might struggle to kick a score.  The upside as i see it is Melbourne are less likely to get away from us.  10 goal plus thumpings dont tend to happen in torrential rain and upsets do happen.  Both positives even if i cant remember essendon playing great wet weather football
  • Anyone thinking this isn’t heading towards a blow out beyond 7-8 goal margin is probably in for a reality check.
  • If nothing else this game is the first real test against the elite of the comp.  Will be fascinating to see if our structures hold up.
  • Hope it rains all night and their beanpole forward line have to play on the deck.
  • Strange they brought in Brown. He will be borderline useless in the forecasted conditions

My Favourites:

• You’re getting worse on here lately. You should take a break and reach out to someone who can support you during these tough times.
  • People that are giving us a chance…don’t do it to yourself.
  • Brown is like a giraffe on an ice rink in the wet!
    • Love the analogy - Watching that would be worth the admission fee alone…..

Margin too difficult to predict in wet weather so happy to win by enough to keep or better our percentage of 150%. 

• Thanks 7

Posted
2 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Bomberbliz/Bigfooty

A bit more to offer in the last few days.  As usual I've left out most of the repetiveness.

• Yeah, im optimistic we progressing!! Cant help being glass half full, comes with the Territory!  ... its an illness, im hoping the therapy will help.
  • We need fwds who will lead against melbourne. Lever and may will distroy us if we bomb it in like we have been.
  • Dees onball division is still a scary proposition in wet.  Got a big task ahead of us
  • Reckon wet weather footy also favours older stronger bodies. It will be a hard slog.
  • I’ll give you the tip, every supporter base reckons they get screwed by the umps.
  • I think game plan is only half the story for wet weather. The other half is skill level. We have relatively poor ball handling skills in dry weather - fumbling, not being able to pick the ball up of the ground, double grabbing etc. it gets magnified in wet weather.
  • Boring selections but I supppse finals is still a live proposition. Hard 6 games coming up but pinch a couple and we would be certain to play finals.
  • We’ve gone away from stacking the forward line with resting midfielders because they don’t provide enough defensive pressure.
  • The changes don’t really matter. We will get smashed and probably for the next 6 weeks or so.
  • If it’s absolutely hosing down rain both sides might struggle to kick a score.  The upside as i see it is Melbourne are less likely to get away from us.  10 goal plus thumpings dont tend to happen in torrential rain and upsets do happen.  Both positives even if i cant remember essendon playing great wet weather football
  • Anyone thinking this isn’t heading towards a blow out beyond 7-8 goal margin is probably in for a reality check.
  • If nothing else this game is the first real test against the elite of the comp.  Will be fascinating to see if our structures hold up.
  • Hope it rains all night and their beanpole forward line have to play on the deck.
  • Strange they brought in Brown. He will be borderline useless in the forecasted conditions

My Favourites:

• You’re getting worse on here lately. You should take a break and reach out to someone who can support you during these tough times.

Margin too difficult to predict in wet weather so happy to win by enough to keep or better our percentage of 150%. 

Wow came with a flurry to finish the week. Bombers fans are pepping up good to see!

Posted
9 hours ago, praha said:

Their version of the game is essentially "The umpire is always wrong, everyone is always out to get us,

Plenty on this site that hold the same view, particularly if we are behind in the game.

Posted
11 minutes ago, layzie said:

Wow came with a flurry to finish the week. Bombers fans are pepping up good to see!

I had to wade through dross to the equivalent of about 25 DL pages to extract this weeks contributions.  Any idea what that is like 🤮 given they are my most hated team!

The things I do for my fellow DL's😉

• Thanks 4
  • Love 7
Posted
1 minute ago, Lucifers Hero said:

I had to wade through dross to the equivalent of about 25 DL pages to extract this weeks contributions.  Any idea what that is like 🤮 given they are my most hated team!

How do you do it LH? HOW?

Posted
Just now, layzie said:

How do you do it LH? HOW?

Through gritted teeth!😬

• Haha 7
Posted
4 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

And it's much appreciated Luci.

Posted
16 hours ago, old55 said:

I used to hate Esserdun (sic) but now I just pity them.

I hope that when the pity runs out you will hate them again. 

Posted (edited)
25 minutes ago, Grapeviney said:

OMG they think they can play finals - that is so cute! 

Let them play finals it's not like they'll win 1.

Edited by AzzKikA

Posted

It does look like us and Collingwood top 2 after this round. When was the last time that happened?

Posted
22 minutes ago, Wadda We Sing said:

It does look like us and Collingwood top 2 after this round. When was the last time that happened?

QuickAgedClingfish-max-1mb.gif.4ed26826d14356c252bd2b8d950b501e.gif

• Haha 7

Posted
4 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Bomberbliz/Bigfooty

My Favourites:

Hirdy wouldn’t have picked such an appalling team.”

The continuing blind adoration for him is 🤮

Posted

I think it should of read; "Hirdy would have pricked such an appalling team".

• Haha 9
Posted
14 hours ago, KLV said:

I’m married to a Carlton supporter, sshhh, I pretend to be neutral about them, but secretly I detest the vile, arrogant and entitled supporters (husband excepted) and club. God help us all when they finally reemerge. 
I was barracking for Adelaide tonight 

This is the unspoken reason why GCS and GWS (and Tassie) must succeed. To keep the likes of Carl, Ess, etc, away from success.