• Demonland changed the title to GAMEDAY: Rd 20 vs Fremantle

Posted
25 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Thought I'd randomly check weather radar. Wet deck on a dodgy ground that recently had turf changed.

What could go wrong.

Screenshot_20220729-081240_Chrome.jpg

Supposedly will clear by the arvo.

Deck will still be wet, but i presume it drains ok. The problem is the ground is in woeful condition so it will be shifting like crazy i suspect. 

Which will negate a bit of the advantage the dockers have with leg speed and perhaps make their switch and  flick it around style more challenging. 

Our big advantage over the dockers is our bulls in the middle. The conditions should suit Viney, Oliver and Trac and i reckon their mids will struggle big time to contain them. 

Posted

Don't know why, but I'm more confident tonight then I have the most in the past 4 weeks.

I reckon Viney will be the one who sets the tone tonight.

Posted
2 minutes ago, binman said:

Deck will still be wet, but i presume it drains ok. The problem is the ground is in woeful condition so it will be shifting like crazy i suspect. 

Which will negate a bit of the advantage the dockers have with leg speed and perhaps make their switch and  flick it around style more challenging. 

Our big advantage over the dockers is our bulls in the middle. The conditions should suit Viney, Oliver and Trac and i reckon their mids will struggle big time to contain them. 

Their talls also slaughtered us last time. Winning the ground ball will be critical tonight.

Posted (edited)
6 minutes ago, binman said:

Just hope there won't be any nasty injuries that wouldn't have happened on a normal deck.

Edited by layzie

Posted

Dees by 52. Spargo to kick 3

Posted

The Manor will be a cold and lonely place tonight, as I find myself abandoned by both the domestic staff and friends. Even The Manor's attack dogs have scant interest in watching the football with me. Despite the inherent dangers, I find myself missing SWYL and his Bangkok band.

There are positives though, and I believe my spirit will be lifted by a famous Melbourne victory ( and Shiraz ). I find myself echoing a number of posters above in having no real evidence to support my claim of a great win.

It's a game we simply must win. Lose this and I do not see us defending our crown. And that I think is what will motivate and drive The Dees tonight.

In fact, as my mood and optimism lifts, my nethers tell me that the [censored] cats will suffer a defeat and we will return to our rightful position atop the ladder.

• Like 14

Posted
3 minutes ago, BenF said:

We will win and the effects of it will richocett into next week!

The ricochet is always funny until someone gets hurt and then it's just hilarious. 

Posted

There is no denying that tonight’s game is a litmus test for both teams.

We all know that the colours that apply to the original ‘litmus test’, from which the modern term is derived, were red and blue.

This thesis provides conclusive evidence of a Demon win.

The final margin is harder to prove scientifically, but I’m suggesting 20 points.

Posted
17 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Their talls also slaughtered us last time. Winning the ground ball will be critical tonight.

Minus May for most of the match and Petty in the second half. Providing we don't have in game injuries, it'll be very different this time...

Posted

The Dockers' round 11 win at the MCG saw Logue hold May to season lows of just six disposals and one mark (well below his 2022 averages of 19.1 and 5.2) in a big tactical win for Longmuir.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/807974/does-this-dockers-defender-hold-the-key-against-dees-

Apparently Griffen Logue holds the key to tonight.

Some cutting edge analysis by Nathan Schmook on the AFL website.

(we'll just ignore the fact that May missed the last three quarters of that game with concussion and was on track for a 24 possession game)

• Haha 16
Posted
4 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

The Dockers' round 11 win at the MCG saw Logue hold May to season lows of just six disposals and one mark (well below his 2022 averages of 19.1 and 5.2) in a big tactical win for Longmuir.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/807974/does-this-dockers-defender-hold-the-key-against-dees-

(we'll just ignore the fact that May missed the last three quarters of that game with concussion and was on track for a 24 possession game)

That's a shocker by Schmook..

Doing some research wouldn't hurt once in a while.

Posted (edited)
33 minutes ago, BenF said:

We will win and the effects of it will richocett into next week!

Not quite echo through the ages - but it's a start!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Demonland said:

FYI The ground is a mess.

IMG_6373 2 copy.png

IMG_6374 copy.png

Was about to ask. That looks bloody terrible. 

It’s like they are making a volleyball field off to the side…

Posted

At Gussy’s first touch tonight the Richter scale might just register six point something.
A richter for every year of his contract. 😃

Posted (edited)
26 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Ross Lyon on Footy Classified recapped the last time the two sides met and in his 5 bullet points detailing how Freo beat us he had one point saying May got shut down and another regarding something to do with May not having influence. He played one quarter ffs!

Edited by layzie

Posted
26 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Initial quote already edited.

The Dockers' round 11 win at the MCG saw Logue head to May to throw out the Demons' defence in what looked a crafty move before May was substituted with concussion in the second quarter, having impressed early.

Posted
1 minute ago, roy11 said:

Initial quote already edited.

The Dockers' round 11 win at the MCG saw Logue head to May to throw out the Demons' defence in what looked a crafty move before May was substituted with concussion in the second quarter, having impressed early.

Haha. What a re-write!  

‘Yes, the fundamental conceit of my essay has been debunked but what if it was true?!

Can you imagine?!’

Posted
1 hour ago, binman said:

They killed us with speed but also contested marking earlier in the season. Hopefully we took some lessons from that.

Posted (edited)

Looks like a lot of rain today in Perth mostly short heavy showers easing off into the evening but still present. So it should be slog combined with the poor conditions of the surface. Not a good evening for talls I suspect. Whichever team wants the game more will take the points. I thinks we are up to the challenge.

Edited by John Crow Batty