Late to the party, what’s this new 50m rule when it’s a 1-2?

danger fell over after a little contact and gets a goal. [censored] joke

3 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Yes i had no idea about this ruling 

Love them or hate them, it looks like Geelong have weathered the Pies best efforts, and and now settling. Selwood - a sook and free kick hunter but one of the best captains I have seen - is now a liability. 

2 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said:

Love them or hate them, it looks like Geelong have weathered the Pies best efforts, and and now settling. Selwood - a sook and free kick hunter but one of the best captains I have seen - is now a liability. 

Thought you were gonna pot him, then thought you were gonna praise him, then saw you pot him. This post truly was a journey.

9 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Don’t think it’s new Dub. You can’t hold a bloke after he gives off a handball and is looking to get it back. A 50 is awarded.

Edited by Dee Zephyr

6 minutes ago, Chook said:

Thought you were gonna pot him, then thought you were gonna praise him, then saw you pot him. This post truly was a journey.

Thankyou. I aim to please (and confuse).

4 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Don’t think it’s new Dub. You can’t hold a bloke after he gives off a handball and is looking to get it back. A 50 is awarded.

Well I’ve watch a lot of footy and never seen it before. Maybe one if those dormant rules that’s been rejuvenated?

1 minute ago, DubDee said:

Well I’ve watch a lot of footy and never seen it before. Maybe one if those dormant rules that’s been rejuvenated?

Well, it was Geelong, and Dangerfield at that

3 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Years ago they paid it more regularly, they don’t pay it anywhere near enough these days. 

4 minutes ago, DubDee said:

It's fairly new (last two years or so?) - designed to stop snipers and promote attacking footy. Whether it does that... 🤷

1 minute ago, Kit Walker said:

It's fairly new (last two years or so?) - designed to stop snipers and promote attacking footy. Whether it does that... 🤷

I believe it was brought in after an early 2010s GF where Ablett Jr either did this, or had this done to him. It's called the Ablett rule, i.e., illegally blocking a player from getting a handball receive is a 50 rather than a free to the infringed player. Rarely enforced, and usually incorrectly awarded a free to the infringed player (not a 50 as per the rule).

One actually happened to (I think Hunt) in the Dees game last night when Langdon tried to handpass to him but Hunt was impeded. Hunt got the free, but IMO it should have been 50 per the rule. It totally destroyed our momentum in that passage, which I believe is what the rule was brought in to prevent.

5 minutes ago, Kit Walker said:

We got one last week.

Terrible. I am going to ch 32

OMG - Selwood the ducking winger HTB, goal Collingwood .... then a second free.  Great culture Cats.

Then, Selwood again missed an easy tackle on Sidebum. 

He is going too get really angry and maybe completely loses it.

Selwood getting jeered, then run down from behind, might just be the best thing I’ll see all weekend. And I saw Langdon’s goal. 

Bit annoying that Collingwood look like being one of our competitors in the finals. In the sense that they might be able to make a prelim via the 5-8 route.

Edited by John Demonic

Geelong well past their bed time once again.  They should really demand day games only.

tweet just came in from Chris Scott

apparently a lot of Cats team had the sniffles this morning

Pendlebury was airing his concerns to the ump about Geelong players “going to ground.” What does that mean?

I think they need a pillow and doona