Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 16 minutes ago, Bates Mate said: And now he can go home and smash 4 Scotch fillets to get himself ready for the big game Got to watch the trampolining and now the diving in the Olympics and because of no footy can get all our friends together for dinner out tonight. Silver linings all around! Quote
Docs Demons 1,810 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Reckon we would have been better served with the late game. Nearly in a plane all of today but at least a game will go ahead and can watch up here on TV. Must win this. Quote
whatwhat say what 23,841 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 17 minutes ago, Docs Demons said: Reckon we would have been better served with the late game. Nearly in a plane all of today but at least a game will go ahead and can watch up here on TV. Must win this. no doubt that it's an early game as we'll be on a flight to perth straight after Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Just now, whatwhat say what said: no doubt that it's an early game as we'll be on a flight to perth straight after Need to hope for a WA border closure over night or early tomorrow… come on! 3 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,715 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Coll upset of Eagles brewing ? So hope Eagles win - last thing I want is to play them at Optus on the rebound after being humiliated on the east coast again. 1 Quote
Engorged Onion 10,225 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said: Coll upset of Eagles brewing ? So hope Eagles win - last thing I want is to play them at Optus on the rebound after being humiliated on the east coast again. Interesting how it's only other teams that 'get up and are hungry' after a loss, never the Dees. Each game is an individual entity - and has no baring on the next. Unless you believe that the only way to win, is permanently having no confidence the week before playing the Dees, unless you win and in which case, you're supremely confident? [censored], it's even confusing for me to make sense of this logic. Edited July 31, 2021 by Engorged Onion 1 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Surely we have been the most interrupted by CoVID: One of only 2 teams to play a game knowing the rest of the season is postponed. The only team to have had a game postponed because an opposition player tested positive to CoVID. The only team to travel for no reason, because a lockdown was called mid flight. And the only reason we can’t lose our [censored] about it to headquarters is because of CoVID we’ll need to put our hand out for the 800k+ we’ve lost in gate revenue. ? 1 1 Quote
leave it to deever 17,614 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 1 hour ago, Demonland said: 12:10pm: Gold Coast v Melbourne (Marvel Stadium) 2.10pm: Hawthorn v Brisbane (Launceston) 3:10pm: Essendon v Sydney (MCG) 5.10pm: Fremantle v Richmond (Optus Stadium) 6:10pm: GWS v Port Adelaide (Marvel Stadium) Go stock your fridges and freezers. Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 1 hour ago, Demonland said: Sh*tshow Sunday seems more appropriate. 1 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,715 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 (edited) 20 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said: Interesting how it's only other teams that 'get up and are hungry' after a loss, never the Dees. Each game is an individual entity - and has no baring on the next. Unless you believe that the only way to win, is permanently having no confidence the week before playing the Dees, unless you win and in which case, you're supremely confident? [censored], it's even confusing for me to make sense of this logic. We have had a few games in the last two years where after a poor game/loss we have rebounded. Not sure why you say 'never the Dees'. The Eagles have made an art form of rebounding from east coast losses then win at home this year. Each game may be a 'separate entity' but don't underestimate what wounded pride can do when a team is back on its own turf. Yes, couldn't make much sense of your last para... Edited July 31, 2021 by Lucifer's Hero Quote
Engorged Onion 10,225 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 3 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said: We have had a few games in the last two years where after a poor game/loss we have rebounded. Not sure why you say 'never the Dees'. The Eagles have made an art form of rebounding from east coast losses then win at home this year. Each game may be a 'separate entity' but don't underestimate what wounded pride can do when a team is back on its own turf. Yes, couldn't make much sense of your last para... I'd argue it's not an artform - they play worse over here, and more consistent at home. Is it merely some CBF's for them when they're here? Maybe... It'd be great to get some stats, on teams, or interstate teams that win back home after losing interstate. Debatable if it has a thing to do with pride/emotions. Quote
dice 733 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 1 hour ago, CYB said: Fox listed the game as Gold Coast subs vs MFC. What does that mean? Omen Quote
Demon Disciple 12,530 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 43 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said: Coll upset of Eagles brewing ? So hope Eagles win - last thing I want is to play them at Optus on the rebound after being humiliated on the east coast again. Eagles are a soft downhill skiing team. Would rather they lose and have their confidence down going into next week, as opposed to winning on the road and getting some momentum trying to sure up a spot in the 8. 1 Quote
Chook 15,068 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 26 minutes ago, The heart beats true said: Surely we have been the most interrupted by CoVID: One of only 2 teams to play a game knowing the rest of the season is postponed. The only team to have had a game postponed because an opposition player tested positive to CoVID. The only team to travel for no reason, because a lockdown was called mid flight. And the only reason we can’t lose our [censored] about it to headquarters is because of CoVID we’ll need to put our hand out for the 800k+ we’ve lost in gate revenue. ? We didn't play finals last year, so we're behind every team that did. Quote
old dee 24,082 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 1 hour ago, Jaded said: Need to hope for a WA border closure over night or early tomorrow… come on! They will wait till we are half way there, then put us a 14 day hotel quarantine. Quote
DubDee 26,670 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Finally some luck for us. From Darwin to an away game in GC to a home game. get it done Demons 1 Quote
deebug 1,754 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Happy with this one, just hope the lads can get us a win? Go Dee's? 1 Quote