Posted

Will they announce the teams at half time?

• Haha 5
Posted

I like their ripper friday night clash in rd 13 between Sydney and Hawthorn.

Posted (edited)
11 minutes ago, dl4e said:

The Sunday games are also underwhelming, 

Sunday, June 13
North Melbourne v Greater Western Sydney, Blundstone Arena, 3.20pm AEST

Sunday, June 20
Hawthorn v Essendon, MCG, 3.20pm AEST

All stand alone games, although, Hawks v Bombs could be close, but full of errors.

I guess it is lucky the round starts on Thursday. 

Edited by kev martin
Posted
1 hour ago, Demonland said:

Are you keen to play on Thursday nights?

Yes!!! A win on Thursday night means we can sit back for the weekend and watch all the ne’er-do-wells battle it out. ?

Posted
1 hour ago, dl4e said:

Hawks actually got a Friday night game...interesting.

Assuming the Thursday night games will go for 3 or 4 weeks and then typically disappear again.

Posted
1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Hawks actually got a Friday night game...interesting.

Assuming the Thursday night games will go for 3 or 4 weeks and then typically disappear again.

They usually play the TNF games over the bye rounds for some reason (ironically when there's fewer games on)

Posted
5 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

They usually play the TNF games over the bye rounds for some reason (ironically when there's fewer games on)

Lol I’ve always wondered why they did that but with a full slate no Thus games.

Posted

The best way to kick off a round, aside from seeing the Dees get a win, is seeing Duckwood swearing at the umpires, moments after Geelong have lost in the dying seconds of a close match.

Posted
3 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Round 15 v Essendon Saturday night at the G (their home game) another prime time game as well as obviously Queens Bday in round 13 (bye in round 14)

https://www.afl.com.au/news/612566

Bombers off a 6 day break too.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Pollyanna said:

Bombers off a 6 day break too.

We are getting a good draw!

Perhaps the AFL are kind of apologising for last years horrible draw for us.

Still more draws to come and favourable could change to bad.

Edited by kev martin
Posted
4 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Round 15 v Essendon Saturday night at the G (their home game) another prime time game as well as obviously Queens Bday in round 13 (bye in round 14)

https://www.afl.com.au/news/612566

That will make it 10 of 14 FTA for the club Gonzo ... fantastic exposure but we need to keep playing well.

Entirely possible of course with a relatively low injury count and competition within the ranks (to keep all the players on their toes)

Posted

Hate Thursday footy. So hard to get there in time from work. Massively late night by the time you get home. I’m too old for that [censored]. 

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, Macca said:

That will make it 10 of 14 FTA for the club Gonzo ... fantastic exposure but we need to keep playing well.

very few have been in the prime time slot though Macca

Saturday night is a shared time slot with an interstate game thus preventing national coverage and Sunday 3:20 is just ok

Thursday and Friday nights are where the big boys play

Edited by Diamond_Jim
Posted

I reckon any FTA game is miles ahead of cable or streaming.  Especially those graveyard cable slots where only the very keen know which games are which

Saturday night on FTA beamed into Melbourne is the guts of a TV audience and what the club would be looking for

Rounds 11 & 12 are Friday night games and the following week we have the QB holiday Monday to ourselves.  So that's 3 weeks in a row to a total national audience. 

We can't have every week like that

Brighten up DJ ... good things are starting to happen.  Embrace!

Posted
15 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

very few have been in the prime time slot though Macca

Saturday night is a shared time slot with an interstate game thus preventing national coverage and Sunday 3:20 is just ok

Thursday and Friday nights are where the big boys play

See above DJ for my response

Posted
5 hours ago, dl4e said:

In fairness there aren't a lot of great options that week if you take out the QB. As ratings go it's probably the best of the worst options available.

Posted
15 hours ago, Cards13 said:

Lol I’ve always wondered why they did that but with a full slate no Thus games.

I think the reason is scheduling. If you play on Saturday then on the following Thursday that is a five-day break. So you can only really play on a Thursday after a bye or something like that. I think that is also often why we have a bye after QB.

Posted

watching Eddie last night he was saying that the only thing holding Thursday night football back was the FTA channels commitment to existing programming. Suspect the same applies to Monday night football.

Others on the panel said players didn't mind a 5 day break as long as it was limited to once or twice a season

Posted
1 hour ago, Red and Bluebeard said:

I think the reason is scheduling. If you play on Saturday then on the following Thursday that is a five-day break. So you can only really play on a Thursday after a bye or something like that. I think that is also often why we have a bye after QB.

Tell that to Brisbane, playing in Melbourne on Saturday then have to back up with a Thursday night game against the Cats.

Posted
1 hour ago, Diamond_Jim said:

watching Eddie last night he was saying that the only thing holding Thursday night football back was the FTA channels commitment to existing programming. Suspect the same applies to Monday night football.

Others on the panel said players didn't mind a 5 day break as long as it was limited to once or twice a season

AFL will use it as a bargaining chip at the next media rights agreement. Why give them TNF for free when you can make them pay for it?