7 hours ago, george_on_the_outer said:

Except that Carlton, Essendon, St Kilda and Richmond still have them.

It was very much wokey virtue signalling by the MFC. There was no compulsion to do so.

Gambling can be a problem without doubt. It's also a personal decision.

As a business decision... it's dubious that we benefit.

2 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

It was very much wokey virtue signalling by the MFC. There was no compulsion to do so.

Gambling can be a problem without doubt. It's also a personal decision.

As a business decision... it's dubious that we benefit.

If we still had PJ as a CEO or had had a competent CEO it wouldn't have mattered. Pert failed to capitalise on the bonanza of a flag. If the commercial team had held a fundraiser before the start of 2022, they'd have probably raised whatever we need for Caulfield...

You have to live your values a bit. As the club said at the time, gaming is not our core business, and whilst gaming was imperative in the past, we need to grow our football-related income. Pert had a golden opportunity to do that and sat on his hands.

We need to look at ways to grow the business and not also contribute to destroying lives through gaming. It's not woke, it's corporate responsibility.

Edited by Adam The God

11 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

If we still had PJ as a CEO or had had a competent CEO it wouldn't have mattered. Pert failed to capitalise on the bonanza of a flag. If the commercial team had held a fundraiser before the start of 2022, they'd have probably raised whatever we need for Caulfield...

Yep

we definitely missed that boat

The memorabilia was rather meh as well. Straight out of the blank T Shirt press shops seemingly

37 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

You have to live your values a bit. As the club said at the time, gaming is not our core business, and whilst gaming was imperative in the past, we need to grow our football-related income. Pert had a golden opportunity to do that and sat on his hands.

We need to look at ways to grow the business and not also contribute to destroying lives through gaming. It's not woke, it's corporate responsibility.

I have virtually no interaction with the club but bumped into Pert one day, and told him how happy and appreciative I was to see a premiership after 57 years of support. He said , yeah and how good were the girls winning too.

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

Corporate responsibility is to get the best return.

1 hour ago, 48 Year Now said:

I have virtually no interaction with the club but bumped into Pert one day, and told him how happy and appreciative I was to see a premiership after 57 years of support. He said , yeah and how good were the girls winning too.

spot on; whole of club approach

On 26/06/2025 at 18:49, Demonstone said:

Luxury. We used to get changed in cardboard box in middle of road.

We got changed in the snow and then walked 9kms to the ground in bare feet in a blizzard.

On 25/06/2025 at 13:48, old dee said:

Nothing will go ahead without state government money. They are broke. The MFC will end the decade at Casey / Goschs. End of story.

Its true that the State government has invested heavily in infrastructure with huge long term financial impacts. They are naturally constrained in what they are now undertaking. But they will continue to support activities.

It would be best to present a project that has a social and economic return. Not that that has necessarily had any relationship to support in the past. I reckon thats where Caulfield has an advantage. FB has the added advantage of being in a greenfield location already slated for expansion. A shiny new toy.

On 24/06/2025 at 11:14, whatwhat say what said:

1/10th the price and utterly useless for a club with afl, aflw, vfl, and vflw teams to manage

Exactly why hawks have worked for the last 15 years to get out of the joint

WE could have Waverley, the population centre of Melbourne, as an administrative and membership centre while increasing and improving Casey as a player/ training facility

2 hours ago, dpositive said:

WE could have Waverley, the population centre of Melbourne, as an administrative and membership centre while increasing and improving Casey as a player/ training facility

No thanks 2 centres on the outscurtes of melb.

3 hours ago, dpositive said:

no, we couldn't, as we don't control it - the afl does

it's a fait accompli it'll be a home for the umpires

Richmond announcing redevelopment of Punt Road.

When are we doing anything? It will be very disappointing if there are no real news/updates about Caulfield by end of the year.

6 hours ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Richmond announcing redevelopment of Punt Road.

When are we doing anything? It will be very disappointing if there are no real news/updates about Caulfield by end of the year.

That’s been a decade, if not more, in the planning

Any news...

Or been "scratched"

I heard an interesting point of view of McGuires on footy classified

Firstly. We were mad not to take up the Waverley park option until we find and build a home base

Secondly the most interesting to me was the option of the port Melbourne football oval and precinct and port I believe have the same theme song

It is many years since I lived in Melbourne so I’m ignorant to what is there now but it would make sense for a central location and not far away as the crow flies to the G

Thoughts

Apologies if this has been brought up somewhere else

4 minutes ago, FlowerPower said:

Firstly. We were mad not to take up the Waverley park option until we find and build a home base

Secondly the most interesting to me was the option of the port Melbourne football oval and precinct and port I believe have the same theme song

It is many years since I lived in Melbourne so I’m ignorant to what is there now but it would make sense for a central location and not far away as the crow flies to the G

Thoughts

Anyone Collingwood or Richmond want us out of our current situation as quickly as possible. So they can get their grubby hands on another ground.

4 minutes ago, FlowerPower said:

Thoughts

Port is wonderful ...if you live in Port.

It's a cow of a place to get to, and out of otherwise.

We're we ever offered Waverley ?

1 minute ago, ANG13 said:

Anyone Collingwood or Richmond want us out of our current situation as quickly as possible. So they can get their grubby hands on another ground.

Yes, you could bet there'd be black and white wrappings on those goalposts at Goschs quicker than you could blink ;)

On 27/06/2025 at 16:40, beelzebub said:

...........very much wokey virtue signalling by the MFC. .................

Trot out the tired old and hackneyed cliches. Gambling on pokies is insidious and destroys families. No if's or buts. When addiction takes hold, it becomes a sickness. There is no longer a 'choice'. It becomes a fight to beat the black dog. It can never be underestimated, just how tough that fight can be.

8 minutes ago, I'va Worn Smith said:

Trot out the tired old and hackneyed cliches. Gambling on pokies is insidious and destroys families. No if's or buts. When addiction takes hold, it becomes a sickness. There is no longer a 'choice'. It becomes a fight to beat the black dog. It can never be underestimated, just how tough that fight can be.

No one's arguing that.

What exactly did we accomplish ?

We are not moving to Port Melbourne.

WE ARE NOT MOVING TO PORT MELBOURNE.

This may contain: two men talking to each other in front of a shelf with dishes on it and the words please, please try to understand before one of us dies

Edited by Rab D Nesbitt

25 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

WE ARE NOT MOVING TO PORT MELBOURNE.

This may contain: two men talking to each other in front of a shelf with dishes on it and the words please, please try to understand before one of us dies

What if we... invade Port Melbourne...
Ponder Inspector Gadget GIF

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

Port is wonderful ...if you live in Port.

It's a cow of a place to get to, and out of otherwise.

We're we ever offered Waverley ?

Offered? The Hawks put it up for sale. Think the AFL bought it for $10m

Caufields gonna cost 10x that btw.

1 hour ago, ANG13 said:

100%

Its all about getting access to Gosch's Paddock. Without it, Collingwood and Richmond will have a substandard training facility by current AFL standards.

Dees should be using Gosch's Paddock until the opening ribbon on Caulfield is ready to be cut.