WELCOME TO THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB - HARLEY BENNELL

Posted (edited)

Reading back over the early part of this thread, Ethan, you must be melting down at your trade desk, mate. How ya feeling?

Posted
1 hour ago, RedLegs23 said:

Sam Edmund reporting that he want's to play his footy in Melbourne. Think's he'll be training with the Dees. Real chance.

he said last night on the 7 news interview that he couldn't think of anything better than playing on "... the G..."

Its us I reckon.

Posted
1 minute ago, Demon17 said:

he said last night on the 7 news interview that he couldn't think of anything better than playing on "... the G..."

Its us I reckon.

In with a real chance D17. Fingers crossed mate

Posted
14 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Will be ropeable if that happens and Martin winds up at Carlton too.

Would basically mean we’ve failed to attract Elliott, Martin and Bennell in one period. Worse yet losing out to lowly clubs like Blues and Saints would be very embarrassing after expressing public interest. 

Cmon Dees get it done!

Totally agree, although to be fair these 'lowly' teams looked (and finished) a great deal better than us this year. While we're clearly capable of a lot more and should correct it next year, from the outside, these guys are probably wondering whether we'll be a basket case again next year and therefore avoid us, and choose one of the teams that are on the up.

But still, would love to see this get done. I think we'll have a great year and Harley would be a pretty exciting part of that.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

Its us I reckon.

Collingwood, Hawthorn and Richmond play on the G as tenant clubs.  

Posted
3 minutes ago, RedLegs23 said:

In with a real chance D17. Fingers crossed mate

Looks good, although he could mean the scG (incidentally, what do Sydneysiders call their ground? Ours is the G because there's no point in saying the M bit, so surely it's the same in Sydney).

All that aside, I think we're looking pretty good. I hope Harley sees the promise and genuine excitement in our future, and not the dark cloud of potential basket case that seems to look above us every year.

Posted
52 minutes ago, hemingway said:

Collingwood, Hawthorn and Richmond play on the G as tenant clubs.  

Good point but i don't think they are in the frame.  Geelong  swans or us possibly.

Posted
48 minutes ago, RedButMostlyBlue said:

Looks good, although he could mean the scG (incidentally, what do Sydneysiders call their ground? Ours is the G because there's no point in saying the M bit, so surely it's the same in Sydney).

On that basis the Gabba in Brisbane should probably be the true “G”. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, buck_nekkid said:

This is just good due diligence from Bennell and his manager.  No use claiming love for one club yet. Get medicals from them all (assuming you will pass), have a nice meal and a chat with whomever is footing the bill, and see what firm offers come in.  Suggest he may get a few ‘offers to train on’ from different clubs, and then he gets to make a choice - select one now with a promise of getting on a list if he meets certain targets, or train at a few and make himself open to the PSD.  Given we have pick 2 in the PSD and rookie drafts, perhaps we hold a pretty good hand either way?

He isn't going into a draft.  He said he wants to nominate the club he goes to. 

1 hour ago, Demon17 said:

Its us I reckon.

Given he was being asked about meeting with the Dees he had to be positive about what the opportunities might be.  Having said that he sounded genuine and focused.  

Cautiously optimistic!

Posted

I'd be happy to just use him as the small forward/X-factor option in the F50 rather than expect him to pump out 14kms of gut running in the midfield, worth a shot, will cost us SFA really.

Posted

If we ended up with Langdon, Tomlinson, Bennell, Martin, pick 3 and 8 that would be amazing. 

I know it’s still early days but landing Bennell sounds very promising. His interview seemed to me like he is hoping it goes well with the Dees also. 
If we land him then the excitement for 2020 goes up a notch. Until west coast kick the first goal in 15 seconds of the first qtr :D 

Posted
On 10/9/2018 at 9:08 AM, SFebes said:

Absolutely NO. The positive is, Freo are clearing up cap space.

You sure, mate? :D

Posted
28 minutes ago, Spirit of '87 said:

On that basis the Gabba in Brisbane should probably be the true “G”. 

So we've possibly narrowed this down to 3 cities? Haha (I appreciate Harley seems to have indicated that he wants to play in Melbourne).

Posted
On 8/8/2019 at 12:48 PM, K-dog said:

I was feed information 3 weeks ago that Melbourne officials had been in touch with Bennell and his management...

Calf injury will be a problem of the past as they found something that’s been missed previously...

Now all this is starting to come to light!.. I can confirm we are the club in question!..

From everything I’m heard with the calf problem solved... it’s a risk worth taking..

On 8/8/2019 at 1:14 PM, K-dog said:

I have a source within the afl media circles... I’ve seen certain messages...

Just remember my post when it comes out that we are the club in question...

Old mate K-Dog was on this back in August. Has a 4 post, 1 issue contribution to Demonland. Reckon I'll watch any future contributions with interest

Posted
45 minutes ago, A F said:

You sure, mate? :D

Err, there's been a fair bit of info come out re his injury status since early September.....wouldn't you agree? Sounds like a fair bit of risk has been taken off the table.

Posted
1 hour ago, SFebes said:

I'd be happy to just use him as the small forward/X-factor option in the F50 rather than expect him to pump out 14kms of gut running in the midfield, worth a shot, will cost us SFA really.

if this was the 80s. yes. but all forward have to clock up the Kms now. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Demon17 said:

Good point but i don't think they are in the frame.  Geelong  swans or us possibly.

Your right. Guess my point was that if a player wants to play regularly on the MCG (as a home ground), he has a choice of clubs. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Bay Riffin said:

if this was the 80s. yes. but all forward have to clock up the Kms now. 

Possibly, without knowing the GPS data for all small forwards across the league I wouldn't know, the biggest shift is possibly defensive pressure rather than km output? Couldn't imagine Eddie Betts racking up too many kms?

Posted

Geez I hope so is a gun when fit, and as for his past history of playing up he now has a baby girl and it’s amazing how quickly people grow up when they hold there kid for the 1st time 

Posted

I know this is a risk, but if he can get back to anywhere near what he was then he's exactly what we have been missing.

...please let this be so.