Posting Unsubstantiated Rumours on this Website is Strictly Forbidden

MFC Member Forum

Lucifers Hero

2 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Can someone please paraphrase what STMJ said about Oscar?

A diatribe of how useless he is and why is he still on the list and should have let him go and kept Frosty.  Goodwin's response was all class.  He has utmost belief that Oscar will play the role we want.

Don't know who it was but it was embarrassing.

2 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Can someone please paraphrase what STMJ said about Oscar?

No talent, what do the coaches see in him, frost better so it true hes only on the list to keep Tom at the club. The last bit was a bit cringe worthy.

5 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

Well said. I have never been more mortified about such an attack which I'm not repeating. 

Huge kudos to Goodwin on the classy manner he dealt with the question.

Yep, massive cringe at that one. The guy seemed pretty proud of himself afterwards. 

Someone asked re Jones and his role moving forward considering he played a bit on the wing and we've brought in two wingers in Langdon & Tomlinson. Goodwin said theyll be looking to play Jones high forward next season. Also wanted Fritsch off the wing and up forward too.

Few questions re forward line, and (to me at least) they seem pretty ok with what we have. 

Petty, TMac & Weid as the talls, Fritsch, Melksham, Hannan and co as the support.

Also said Petracca will spend more time in middle, but we've heard that before so I guess wait and see.

The interesting and puzzling thing about our new facilities were that a working group has been formed funded by the State Government, the AFL and the Club.  Working group to do feasibility studies of options in the MCC precint.  It was good to hear the State Goverment is in the game as they will be our biggest hurdle.

Puzzling because I thought we had already done feasibility studies on options before PJ left and the Jolimont station development was the front runner at the time.  Puzzling that we are starting over.

No time frame given on when the working group reports findings to the Board.  I felt new facilities are a long way off.

1 minute ago, stranga said:

No talent, what do the coaches see in him, frost better so it true hes only on the list to keep Tom at the club. The last bit was a bit cringe worthy.

I'm admittedly not the biggest of OMAC fans, but that is seriously poor form. The type of supporter who i'd be glad if they did not renew their membership.

Coaching Structure.

Reporting to Richardson (Director of Coaching):

• Forwards:  Plapp as Coach and Rooke as forward development
  • Stoppage/Midfield: Matthews as Coach and Stenear as midfield/stoppage development
  • Backs:  Chaplin as coach with Radford as backs development.

I like that structure in that it focus the development resources to each specific area.  Not so sure I like the lack of experience in our line coaches in Chaplin and Plapp.  Time will tell.

Reporting to Egan (Head of Development):

• Ruck/Goal kicking coach:  Stafford
  • Specialist Coach:  Lewis

Not sure about a ruckman teaching forwards how to kick goals but there it is.

54 minutes ago, george_on_the_outer said:

Main points:

1. Loss coming, but covered from cash reserves( I’d check this when financials released)

2. Training facility still being discussed with up to 8 government institutions.( Have heard this multiple times before)

3. Injuries were the reason, not an excuse. Of the mids only Lewis and Jones completed more than 50% of preseason.

4. Board were aware of this prior to season, but hoped to have players returning. We just got more injuries.

5. Coaches aware of lack of outside run. Addressed with Langdon and Tomlinson..

6. Greg Stafford to take up goal kicking coaching along with rucking. Beat 3 others viewing for the role.

7. Only 3 players had post season surgery compared to 16? last year. All of those last year were classed as essential surgery’s.

8. At round 22 Goodwin had a review with the players to vent their frustrations with the year. Big positive.

9. Plenty of Muppets asking questions after. They should read Demonland if they want to know the latest about all manner of things. Some must live in isolation with their lack of knowledge about players and the club.

Well the forward line will be fixed up if Stafford is coaching goal kicking ..........

Holy cow.

1 hour ago, Lord Nev said:

Mate, I don't disagree with your point, just annoying to keep having to read it again and again in a thread about the member forum.

Or he could have gone to the forum and made his point(s) there.

Folks here have done a pretty good job of covering the night so I'll only add a couple of clarifications.

Pert said the proposed social club and other facilities were wanted "within walking distance of the MCG", which probably kills the Bartlett oval speciation.

His speech is online so no need to go into anything else here except he stressed the Alice Springs game would only come home when it made financial sense. We're there for at least the next four years.

The clown who ripped into Oscar identified himself only as "Ian" and said he went to the football with his brother. Goodie in response pointed out that Oscar had double hip surgery off season, missed four months of training and was unable to build his strength to the level he needed to do the job being asked of him. He said Oscar would not have been satisfied with his year. Goodwin finished with: "I have unwavering faith in Oscar McDonald becoming the player we want him to be."

The question why keep Oscar and get rid of Frost had already been answered, sort of, when Goodwin talked about players needing to have cohesion and the ability to know what their team mates were going to do before they did it. That rules out Frostball, I reckon.

The most telling part of the presentation was Mahoney's chart on the time midfielders spent in pre-season. Apart from Gawn none of the regulars with more than 48% prep time.

I also liked Goodwin's response to the Plan B question which might raise a few eyebrows here: "There are not too many clubs with a Plan B: you get Plan A right you are a successful club" (Not an absolutely direct quote. I missed a few words there but that's the gist.)

Edited by pitmaster
  • Like 13

44 minutes ago, stranga said:

Some more points:

1. Belief that fitness will fix the poor skill level. ?

2. Goodwin kept emphasising the word "cohesion" and players knowing exactly what their teammates are going to do in all situations.

3. 666 caught us off guard. Coaches working hard to build a game plan to link offence and defence better. No further detail given.

2. Is a huge issue. OUr players were like deer in the headlights because they didn't know what to do with in ball in hand 

1 will help 2 although when players are confident in hteir teammates about where the ball is going (like say Richmond) its amazing how fit they will look. When the ball goes whizzing back over your head its amazing how unfit you look. 

3 is unbelievable.

5 minutes ago, pitmaster said:

Folks here have done a pretty good job of covering the night so I'll only add a couple of clarifications.

I also liked Goodwin's response to the Plan B question which might raise a few eyebrows here: "There are not too many clubs with a Plan B: you get Plan A right you are a successful club" (Not an absolutely direct quote. I missed a few words there but that's the gist.)

That's glib. And total BS.

Coaches have plans when one down with injury, or a team kicks 5 in a row, or they are kicking with the wind, or its wet, or the opposition is taller etc etc.

The issue as Goodwin knows is what to do when Plan A isn't working. Maybe thats why we were so cooked this year. Certainly fits with the 'Goodwin is stubborn' view - how long did it take for him to change when teams kept chipping the ball and switching against us.

2 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

3 is unbelievable.

Not really. Surely the fact we had so many key players injured and rehabbing through the preseason made responding  to the 666 rule change more difficult, for example just in terms of positioning and set up.

Add to that avb and kk were likely our wingers and neither played a game.

14 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

That's glib. And total BS.

Coaches have plans when one down with injury, or a team kicks 5 in a row, or they are kicking with the wind, or its wet, or the opposition is taller etc etc.

The issue as Goodwin knows is what to do when Plan A isn't working. Maybe thats why we were so cooked this year. Certainly fits with the 'Goodwin is stubborn' view - how long did it take for him to change when teams kept chipping the ball and switching against us.

It's only glib because it doesn't match your opinion 

So what is Ricmomd's plan B when the gun and run isn't working?

2 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

Dear Gonzo, I got up to ask 2 questions, some of the questions were excellent, so were the answers

What were they?

Did anyone raise our delivery into the forward 50 and whether the bomb to the hot spot was a coaching directive or something the players were doing for lack of other options? 

I thought tonight was a great initiative and the speeches as open and transparent as an AFL club can be in such a dog eat dog environment. As Saty said some of the questions were excellent and other made me cringe. Bartlett was quick to point out that questions had to be respectful.

Goody want s the players to be instinctive but he wants cohesion and consistency. I can see that what is lost with so many injuries and no pre season that we never had a settled team. The best back 6 never got to play together. This is so important and builds confidence and a knowledge that each team member knows what the others will do. Burgess wants them training 80 % of the time with a footy, practising drills and getting buy in from everyone. That is one of the keys to Richmonds success.

I'm a fan of Josh and posted on here that we would struggle to make finals this year due to injuries before round 1, but even so,  l felt he overplayed the injury card in his speech tonight. Surely we weren't bottom 2 material even with injury which were exacerbated by poor player management. Players carried leg injuries throughout 2018 and should have been allowed to recover so they were back for finals and 2019. And shoulder injuries don't stop you running. Would have been nice if they acknowledged some errors they made, but apparently we were just unlucky with injury and they did everything right but there was nothing that could be done. 

Edited by Demons1858