Posted

Hi all

Anyone who is well connected in the travel industry know whether any of the airlines will schedule additional flights from Melb to Perth this week?  My memory is that in the past that is what has happened.. Does anyone know?  I am just holding off on flights at the minute in the (vain?) hope that more flights open up.  Any assistance greatly appreciated.

On 15/09/2018 at 08:32, Choko said:

Hi all

Anyone who is well connected in the travel industry know whether any of the airlines will schedule additional flights from Melb to Perth this week?  My memory is that in the past that is what has happened.. Does anyone know?  I am just holding off on flights at the minute in the (vain?) hope that more flights open up.  Any assistance greatly appreciated.

I wouldn't be holding your breath choko. I think they've put on flights for Perth fans coming to Melbn for a GF but not the other way round for a prelim. 

Edited by Hell Bent

was never going to go to Perth, but the prices are astronomically high. Talk about taking advantage of a situation, maybe a call to the ACCC should be in order.

On 15/09/2018 at 08:32, Choko said:

Hi all

Just rock up to check-in and ask to be "on standby".  They accept cash ($1 & $2 notes, and round 50c pieces) or bankcard.

Ahhh.  The good old days.  

Vain hope...yes.

Other options. 

(A) Hitchhiking underrated.  I have never heard of an MFC supporter that was a serial killer or vice-versa.  Can this be a ride-share thread too?

(B) Refugee option.  Hire a budget truck, and just cram in with a laptop that can stream real-time here.  If we get caught by Dutton's mob, make sure the blonde fair-skinned supporters are near the opening.  We may get through Eucla.

I had a look - it was cheaper to go via Singapore on Scoot than fly direct.

I will be getting in the Furfys and setting up camp in front of the telly. 

If anyone is going to make the drive over, I'll gladly tag along and split all costs. We don't have to sit together or anything. Just get me into the state of WA and back and you'll never have to look at me again.

$800 from Adelaide when normalky $450. What a joke!

Carpool and Road trip time people

On 15/09/2018 at 08:51, Chook said:

If anyone is going to make the drive over, I'll gladly tag along and split all costs. We don't have to sit together or anything. Just get me into the state of WA and back and you'll never have to look at me again.

Do you have a licence?

We need at least 3 rotating the 4-hour driving shifts.  We need to stop at Iron [censored].  It is a must see, even in the dark.

On 15/09/2018 at 08:52, Jibroni said:

$800 from Adelaide when normalky $450. What a joke!

Do you know what supply-demand is?  If you did, you would be less outraged.

On 15/09/2018 at 08:51, Chook said:

I wish I had the time to drive. 

I’m so mad about this. It’s not like I can’t afford to pay for the flights, but honestly it’s just a complete ripoff. How can I justify spending over a $1000 on flights when I spent just under double that on flights to Europe earlier this year. It’s a joke. 

Also how this first world country has no interstate fast rail network is a disgrace. 

isnt china southern one of our sponsors?

Who is there Oz domestic partner?

Could be a good news opportunity for them???

I know air asia leases out spare capacity.... maybe they could route one of their chinese destination flights from melbourne via perth with a long stopover... or just lease a few widebodies to an Oz operator

On 15/09/2018 at 08:53, TGR said:

Do you have a licence?

We need at least 3 rotating the 4-hour driving shifts.  We need to stop at Iron [censored].  It is a must see, even in the dark.

Got me P's at least, but I drive heaps for work and am very smooth at avoiding night-time roos.

On 15/09/2018 at 08:59, Chook said:

Got me P's at least, but I drive heaps for work and am very smooth at avoiding night-time roos.

If you talk about Fortnite or fart, I am kicking you out.  Can mum and dad spot you some driving money?

On 15/09/2018 at 09:03, TGR said:

If you talk about Fortnite or fart, I am kicking you out.  Can mum and dad spot you some driving money?

What's Fortnite, I do paleo (and therefore don't fart). And no they can't so lucky I've got my own source of income!

On 15/09/2018 at 08:54, TGR said:

Do you know what supply-demand is?  If you did, you would be less outraged.

Must be high demand to charge those prices, may also include those flying from Melb with a stopover in Adelaide.

On 15/09/2018 at 09:09, Chook said:

What's Fortnite, I do paleo (and therefore don't fart). And no they can't so lucky I've got my own source of income!

OK.  2 driving references and your in.

We need 2 more idiots.  I provide car.  Don't know if it has takata airbags?

We can watch all our wins in full this year during the 36 hour drive.

Edited by TGR

I wonder if the MFC can book a plane(s) for members only and cap the price...

On 15/09/2018 at 09:15, Dee tention said:

I wonder if the MFC can book a plane(s) for members only and cap the price...

Elvis's old plane hasn't been used in a while.

Why not get our right-wingers to contact 'the great man' about using Airforce One?

The AFL need to step here with Virgin being a sponsor... Capped prices for members. And more planes!

We need to align with the New England Patriots... We can use there plane!

They don’t need it this week. They are playing at home. ?

When the siren went last night my first thought was “I am going to Perth come he’ll or highwater”. 45 minutes later the chances went to 70% when briefly looking at this. After speaking with my mate who is only sort of keen that went to 50-50 and after sleeping on it I reckon I’m a 30 % chance to go. I can not get the leave on Fri and it is just a massive goddamn amount to fork out for what is not guaranteed to end well. And then if we somehow make it to the next week, that’s another $1000 outlay most likely.

i wish like hell it was a bit easier. Adelaide or Sydney and it’s a no brainer but I think this might just be a bridge too far unfortunately.

Booked $1250 return via Adelaide leaving Friday am and getting home late Sunday night ! Can be done but will cost that or slightly more sadly Jetstar