Chook 15,069 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:45, Nasher said: What was wrong with Lewis other than the stray elbow? Expand He falls over a fair bit. 2 Quote
davo 209 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:48, Radar Detector said: I thought Smith, Spargo and ANB were our least effective tonight. Lewis also did some Smith played most of the game forward so not sure there is a role for him. Not sure there is anyone really demanding a promotion though. Expand Bugg and Tyson starred today, JKH was good too in horrible conditions Quote
3031 11 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 Does Jay Kennedy Harris deserve some senior time now? Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,452 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 Those calling for Smith need to take nite of him being moved forward due to them flooding their defensive 50. I don't mind him in the backline next week against the Dogs. Bernie only comes in for a run with role especially given the Dogs speed Quote
titan_uranus 25,255 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 (edited) On 07/07/2018 at 12:45, Nasher said: What was wrong with Lewis other than the stray elbow? Expand And the elbow at that only became a thing because Walters took a dive. However, he just looked off tonight. Fresh air kick attempts instead of trying to pick the ball up, a couple of missed passes, and there was at least one other bad free kick against. He's just OK right now, nothing more. On 07/07/2018 at 12:50, Biffen said: Since Queens Birthday our glaring weaknesses have been leg speed and defensive pressure. Frost ,Garlett and Smith are pretty quick. I thought Smith had a fair first half. VDB got 16 tackles in the reserves. Spargo goes alright but he has limitations. Lewis had another mistake riddled game. If Vince and Lewis aren't getting pushed out we are not moving forward. Expand There is no way VDB is getting a game after one VFL game in 2.5 years. On 07/07/2018 at 12:51, Nasher said: I assumed Smith in the forward line was in response to the way Fremantle occupied our forward line, rather than our idea per se. It wasn’t going to be OMac, Frost, Hibberd or Jetta, so he’s th logical next choice. I can’t think of any other reason for it because he definitely did not look a natural forward. Expand That's probably right. I still query whether we need Smith in the backline. But we absolutely should not be putting him anywhere near the forward line again given what he showed up there tonight. Edited July 7, 2018 by titan_uranus 1 Quote
davo 209 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:55, 3031 said: Does Jay Kennedy Harris deserve some senior time now? Expand If he doesn’t get it this week he never will Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:51, Nasher said: I assumed Smith in the forward line was in response to the way Fremantle occupied our forward line, rather than our idea per se. It wasn’t going to be OMac, Frost, Hibberd or Jetta, so he’s th logical next choice. I can’t think of any other reason for it because he definitely did not look a natural forward. Expand Smith was doing SFA down back, needed to try something to get him into the game other than for tackling. 1 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,826 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 If Smith cant play down back he cant be in the team, he's not a forwards bum hole. ANB has he got pics of Goody's Missus or what? If he has i guess he's going to stay in the team but simon if he doesn't he has to go. Out: ANB, Smith(depending on match up) In: Anyone with as heart beat 1 Quote
Radar Detector 1,347 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:55, davo said: Bugg and Tyson starred today, JKH was good too in horrible conditions Expand Would prefer to give JKH a run than Spargo or ANB at this stage. We don’t need Tyson in the guts right now and I hope never to see Bugg in a Demons jumper again. 1 Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:54, Chook said: He falls over a fair bit all the bloody time, can barely bend down to pick up the ball, has no defensive pressure and panics under pressure. Expand Fixed. 2 Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:41, Nasher said: Joel Smith spent most of the night getting in Hogan’s way tonight. Expand I would blame the coaching staff for that, he is a defender Quote
WERRIDEE 5,638 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 I agree with petraccattack In Baker Out J.Smith. I feel the need for speed Quote
davo 209 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:57, Win4theAges said: If Smith cant play down back he cant be in the team, he's not a forwards bum hole. ANB has he got pics of Goody's Missus or what? If he has i guess he's going to stay in the team but simon if he doesn't he has to go. Out: ANB, Smith(depending on match up) In: Anyone with as heart beat Expand Honestly don’t know what’s going on with ANB, he’s been average or below for most of the year but he’s played every game, don’t think he’s missed a game since Goodwin became coach 1 Quote
davo 209 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:59, Radar Detector said: Would prefer to give JKH a run than Spargo or ANB at this stage. We don’t need Tyson in the guts right now and I hope never to see Bugg in a Demons jumper again. Expand I don’t mind Bugg when he’s in form, reckon he’d do better than Melksham at the minute Quote
Old Bear 388 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:44, chook fowler said: Out. J Smith In. Vince Would love to drop Lewis and ANB but don’t see an obvious replacement. Expand Lewis could be replaced by a much more attractive Witches Hat Quote
Red and Blue realist 2,063 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:44, titan_uranus said: If Smith was surplus to our defensive needs this week then no point playing him next week, so I expect him to be dropped. Not sure who gets his spot, but I think a running player over a tall. Expand Don't think it was his fault, the dockers clearly flooded so no point in playing 3 or 4 of our guys lose behind the ball. Thought he was pretty good early. No other team will play that way, so can't judge him on that performance, expect to hope the coaches show him what to do if he ends up there again 1 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 12:56, jumbo returns said: Pedo for Smith Expand I'd prefer t smith for j smith 1 Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 13:02, davo said: I don’t mind Bugg when he’s in form, reckon he’d do better than Melksham at the minute Expand Bugg is a class below Melksham, delist... 3 1 Quote
jumbo returns 6,745 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 13:05, Bates Mate said: I'd prefer t smith for j smith Expand Yeah, that might work, too 2 Quote
doc roet 1,302 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 Did Bernie play at Casey today,I don't think so. If not he might be freshened up and we could need it Quote
Radar Detector 1,347 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 13:02, davo said: I don’t mind Bugg when he’s in form, reckon he’d do better than Melksham at the minute Expand Bugg is a momentum killer. Wouldn’t trust he or ANB with a shot on goal if they were the last blokes on earth. Only player worse at that right now is big Maxy (but he more than makes up for it). 1 1 Quote
Watts Jurrah Dunn? 735 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 In: JKH Out: Smith Need run on the 'G, especially with heavy legs after Darwin. Pedersen, Tim Smith and Tyson are not the answer. Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted July 7, 2018 Posted July 7, 2018 On 07/07/2018 at 13:09, Skuit said: No change. This is the right balance. Expand Fair call we just dominated 4 quarters Quote