Posted

Norf fans on BF claiming (in the Preuss thread) they have Josh Kelly in the bag next year too on a handshake deal with GWS, even with Gaff, Polec and Hall coming in this year.  Must have bottomless salary cap.

Posted
1 hour ago, Superunknown said:

Magnanimous.

My post was a reply to the post before mine. Of course it would have been nice seeing Gaff in the red and blue for 750k but it was never going to happen at that price. 

Posted
50 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

Norf fans on BF claiming (in the Preuss thread) they have Josh Kelly in the bag next year too on a handshake deal with GWS, even with Gaff, Polec and Hall coming in this year.  Must have bottomless salary cap.

And they'll still be a totally irrelevant, boring football club who will struggle to get 20k to any game of football.

Posted
4 hours ago, Roost It said:

Apologies to those who read my “We’ve got Gaff” posts. That was my mail. I’ll hold off next time I hear something and let others confirm. He would of looked great in red and blue on $750,000 

Don’t apologise, things do change. Keep the info coming if you think it has value. 

Our $750k to Norths potentially double that... that’s change most people’s minds haha.

Posted
5 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

I think Burton is a good player and should get them a high 2nd round pick

i'd argue a mid-late first, not that it really matters.. its a lottery i guess. he was taken then, has had development, got over his draft year injury and is a really good up and coming player.

Posted
7 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Gaff will be one of the few players to take the big $$ over staying or going to a club in a premiership window.  Others I can think of to move on big $$ and end badly were:

• Ablett (the years at GCS do not reflect well on him, despite his Brownlow there),
  • HW$NBN - forever to be the quintessential AFL Judas!  But may still get his Premiership.

Others who took the big $$ but at a Premiership contending club were Buddy and Tom Boyd. 

Dion Prestia. Ahahaha . . . damm. 

Posted

This has got me completely stuffed. Surely you play footy for the success? If you are a Gaff standard player then you will have a choice of good clubs whose lists are primed for success. If it comes down to the dollars then pick the one who has the most room in their cap. 

I get if you are a Tyson or Kent grade player then your options will be limited, fair enough you have fewer choices and go where you can.  For Gaff, however, he has actively chosen a Club that plays predominantly in Tassie or at Etihad. They have an average list and a crap jumper (admittedly I probably place more importance on this than he does) and he will rarely play in front of large crowds (think of all the times our players have mentioned when interviewed the 90,000+ crowds - the joy in Harmesy voice when talking about getting stuck into Selwood on the Members wing in the elinination final). Gaff can forget about all that. 

Most importantly though can anyone see Nth challenging for a flag in the near future? To me it's madness that he has chosen them 

Posted
11 minutes ago, FarNorthernD said:

This has got me completely stuffed. Surely you play footy for the success? If you are a Gaff standard player then you will have a choice of good clubs whose lists are primed for success. If it comes down to the dollars then pick the one who has the most room in their cap. 

I get if you are a Tyson or Kent grade player then your options will be limited, fair enough you have fewer choices and go where you can.  For Gaff, however, he has actively chosen a Club that plays predominantly in Tassie or at Etihad. They have an average list and a crap jumper (admittedly I probably place more importance on this than he does) and he will rarely play in front of large crowds (think of all the times our players have mentioned when interviewed the 90,000+ crowds - the joy in Harmesy voice when talking about getting stuck into Selwood on the Members wing in the elinination final). Gaff can forget about all that. 

Most importantly though can anyone see Nth challenging for a flag in the near future? To me it's madness that he has chosen them 

certainly not I....middle table rubbish ...

Gaff or more likely Gaffe   as I think hes surely made one  ;)

Posted

Can't knock Norf for having a dip.  Otherwise they are locked in mid table mediocrity.

They have a solid base of senior talent across the board with Tarrant, Brown, Goldstein, Higgins, Cunnington.  Add genuine talent in Gaff, Polec and Hall and they could jump up to contend.  Relatively weak teams have been winning big lately.

The biggest issue for them may be the disparity in pay for the newcomers vs the incumbents.  They must've sold the ultimate success dream to the incumbents and if it comes everyone is happy but if it doesn't - even finishing 2nd - cracks will form.

They've gotta punt though I think.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

Can't knock Norf for having a dip.  Otherwise they are locked in mid table mediocrity.

They have a solid base of senior talent across the board with Tarrant, Brown, Goldstein, Higgins, Cunnington.  Add genuine talent in Gaff, Polec and Hall and they could jump up to contend.  Relatively weak teams have been winning big lately.

The biggest issue for them may be the disparity in pay for the newcomers vs the incumbents.  They must've sold the ultimate success dream to the incumbents and if it comes everyone is happy but if it doesn't - even finishing 2nd - cracks will form.

They've gotta punt though I think.

What do you reckon of the notion, apparently, all teams improve ( supposedly ) , their list. So in some regards the status quo simply floats up. In that view will they rise higher than others in order to climb the next flight ? Me, i dont think so. They struggled when push came to shove...though I must say Cunnington is pretty handy with a shove. Funny I think this idea of 6-6-6 as I see it as a recurring theme.  I see them as somewhere low in the middle six. I dont think Scotts game stacks up to the rigours demented competition. There a little too light on style to goal  ( As we were) They had a pretty cruisy run last season.. I do however think they have done well to land fish.  will they gel as a team ? $64 q

We'll only know in combat  I acknowledge

Posted
3 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

What do you reckon of the notion, apparently, all teams improve ( supposedly ) , their list. So in some regards the status quo simply floats up. In that view will they rise higher than others in order to climb the next flight ? Me, i dont think so. They struggled when push came to shove...though I must say Cunnington is pretty handy with a shove. Funny I think this idea of 6-6-6 as I see it as a recurring theme.  I see them as somewhere low in the middle six. I dont think Scotts game stacks up to the rigours demented competition. There a little too light on style to goal  ( As we were) They had a pretty cruisy run last season.. I do however think they have done well to land fish.  will they gel as a team ? $64 q

We'll only know in combat  I acknowledge

If you were Norf's list manager what would you do?

They are in draft no mans land.  They could trade out say Goldie keep Preuss and go to the draft.  But they probably wouldn't get enough difference in the deal.

I think they've got to go for it.  It could be California or bust though.

Posted (edited)
56 minutes ago, FarNorthernD said:

Did anyone see Richmond or Collingwood challenging for a flag?

Forward line - Ben Brown, Ziebell, Simpkin, Mason Wood and some assorted smalls, far from the worst

Backline - Tarrant, big Majak, Thompson, Wright, Macmillan, McDonald, Marley Williams - that's not bad

Midfield - Goldy might have a couple of years left. Cunnington and Higgins are A graders. Gaff joins them. Polec on the wing. Lots of depth with Ahern, Anderson, Dumont, Hall. Might be missing a true superstar but weren't the Eagles?

Richmond might be a super team next year, they were pretty close this year, otherwise there won't be anyone at the heights Geelong, Sydney or Hawthorn have been recently. No reason North can't finish top 4.

I'd love to play for a big club at the MCG most weeks. But I doubt the Pies wanted him, the Tigers couldn't fit him in, the Hawks might be more stuck in no mans land than the Roos and if Melbourne offered me 750k and had to trade for me compared to 1.1-1.2M at the Roos sadly I'd go the Roos.

Edited by DeeSpencer
Posted
12 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

I'd love to play for a big club at the MCG most weeks. But I doubt the Pies wanted him, the Tigers couldn't fit him in, the Hawks might be more stuck in no mans land than the Roos and if Melbourne offered me 750k and had to trade for me compared to 1.1-1.2M at the Roos sadly I'd go the Roos.

we do..we are better surely than Nuffnuff. Wed offer the same , thereabouts to Hawks, Pies, Toiges.

is about $$$$    thats fine....enjoy looking up at us Gaffe

Posted
1 hour ago, FarNorthernD said:

I couldn’t see Bulldogs, Richmond or Collingwood challenging for a flag. 

Posted
49 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

I couldn’t see Bulldogs, Richmond or Collingwood challenging for a flag. 

A lot didn't have West Coast all that high leading into 2018 either.

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, A F said:

A lot didn't have West Coast all that high leading into 2018 either.

Thanks, I did mean to have West Coast in that list and not CollIngwood. But with CollIngwood making the grand final I suppose my point still stands. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Posted

Gaff still not decided according to AFL.com 7:35pm

Posted
14 hours ago, FarNorthernD said:

It would be hard to refuse and Norths list isn't that bad.

I would certainly work for a less high-profile company if they offered me an extra $450K. He is only human, and for some people money talks.

Posted
12 hours ago, ManDee said:

Gaff still not decided according to AFL.com 7:35pm

Only the biggest of optimists haven’t let this dream go now though.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Nasher said:

He may be staying at WCE.

Posted
41 minutes ago, Nasher said:

It’s now Thursday and he hasn’t made a call. If it was as simple as either North or the Eagles, I reckon he’d announced it by now. 

Theres still something going on. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, McQueen said:

It’s now Thursday and he hasn’t made a call. If it was as simple as either North or the Eagles, I reckon he’d announced it by now. 

Maybe he is just agonising over a very important decision

Posted (edited)
21 minutes ago, McQueen said:

He's really torn.  He's happy to stay at West Coast, but is under significant family pressure to come home. 

Connors' comment was that if he stays his family may be lukewarm towards him for a month, but they'll get over it. 

I suspect he'll come back and it will most certainly be to North, but it's not an easy decision for him. 

Edited by ProDee