Posted

Huge upside ~ an Under 18 All Australian.

ESPN’s Chris Doerre (aka Knightmare) had him at 16 in his October power rankings:-

Harrison Petty (VIC)

Best position: Key defender
Height, weight: 195cm, 82kg
Recruited from: Norwood
Projected draft range: Second round
Similar to: Robbie Tarrant
October Ranking: 16
Rationale: Named South Australia's MVP during the Under-18 Championships. Petty is a relatively untapped talent who has improved significantly this season and is still growing, having shot up 5cm this season. Petty's potential as a still growing key defender with a late-year birthday sees him hold firm despite others rising.
Strengths:
Intercept marking
Reads the flight of the ball early
Takes marks at highest point
Clean at ground level
Effective ball user
Composure with ball in hand
Rate of improvement
Strong performances from limited exposure
Weaknesses: 
Keeping balance in one-on-one contests
Strength solid but not as advanced as some of his peers
Capable but not a freakish athlete

According to Snoop Dog:-

HARRISON PETTY – NORWOOD / KEY DEFENDER / 195cm

Tall defender from SA that wasn’t really on my radar leading into Champs but was super impressed with him through them and in the subsequent games I saw. Just reads the footy so well and happy to peel off and intercept. His hands are assured and his ball skills are very good to. Seems to play the game with a lot of composure and could be a steal this late.”

Tall defender who is strong overhead and provided strong rebound for South Australia in the NAB AFL U18 Championships. Won the South Australia MVP award as well as U18 All Australian honours.

Player bio
Former club: Norwood
Height: 195cm
Weight: 82kg
Position: Defender
2017 U18 Stats
Games: 4
Goals: -
Avg Kicks: 6.3
Avg Marks: 4.3
Avg Hballs: 6

4 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

I trust Taylor but we have a lot of key defenders now.

Only two are actually proven quality. That’s not a lot. 

Don't mind this pick. We tend to gravitate towards mids and forwards but like this kid. Reckon he may be pretty tough.

already coming round to this kid...could be the fourth furphy though. definitely rather him in the side than o-mac.. and maybe even frost by the end of 2018/9. he looks good. would've liked garner or houlahan though. annoyed the bombers took houlahan. grrrrr. he'll be a player!

Let's just hope he's not a heartbreaker.

Adelaide had a pick inside the top 10. Then neither Adelaide or Port had another pick before we selected Petty. I suspect that is why we were able to land him.

Good selection.  Outside of Lever you could argue our other tall defenders (T Mac not included) are still projects as well, and selecting Petty not only gives us insurance but also gives him time to develop as well.

7 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

Let's just hope he's not a heartbreaker.

Harrison?  Petty?  Are we trying to re-unite the Travelling Wilburys here?

3 minutes ago, Watts Jurrah Dunn? said:

Petrucelle the next pick? Best available before needs.

Given the plethora of key and medium sized defenders we already have developing, I'm not sure about this one.

We all collectively decided that he has a kick on him like John Butcher and our voices were heard

Edited by Deeprived Childhood

1 hour ago, Clint Bizkit said:

I trust Taylor but we have a lot of key defenders now.

This one is going to take a few years before we really consider giving him games I would think.  The great advantage of having a strong line-up with some depth behind it is that you can take your time with the kids and not play them until they are ready. 

OOOOO hh Great another pick that will take a few years Just what we neeed

wow over whelemed\

Agree he is big and strong. I still shudder at the Luke Molan big and strong selection from 2001.

I thought we would pick a Ruck like Hayes or runner like Wooller or Garner. 

He might actually develop into a ruck as he is apparently still growing. 

hayes will be better such a poor choice

1 hour ago, Rocky said:

already coming round to this kid...could be the fourth furphy though. definitely rather him in the side than o-mac.. and maybe even frost by the end of 2018/9. he looks good. would've liked garner or houlahan though. annoyed the bombers took houlahan. grrrrr. he'll be a player!

So, Rocky, you already prefer a totally unproven teenager to OMc and possibly Frost.

Dont sit down too heavily: crystal balls ? tend to be fragile. 

Was pick 16 in Knightmare’s phantom draft.

Appears highly rated, could have done well here..

edit- apologies that was an earlier phantom draft from Knightmare. His final phantom draft had him at 28.

Edited by Beetle

2 members of the Wilburys. It will be the end of the line for opposition key forwards. He'll handle them with care.

1 hour ago, Watts Jurrah Dunn? said:

Petrucelle the next pick? Best available before needs.

Given the plethora of key and medium sized defenders we already have developing, I'm not sure about this one.

What plethora?

Tom is a forward now. Years of turnovers = no more backline.

Oscar, Frost and Lever are our starters. Joel Smith the back up medium, Wagner a 3rd tall option if needed but really a flanker type. Keilty a rookie list mature back up. That's it. 

Frost is a bit out of favour, Oscar isn't solidfied as a genuine long term option, Joel Smith limited experience, makes a lot of sense to bring in another one.