Farewell Jack Watts

Trade Jack Watts or not? 477 members have voted

1. 1. Do we trade Jack Watts?

• Yes.
    • No.

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

2 hours ago, Dee tention said:

What is that supposed to mean?

90% of people have him gone...

What are you talking about, nearly 70% want him to stay.

3 minutes ago, Bobby McKenzie said:

And 100% of them have no say in the matter

1 hour ago, Dr.D said:

people still thinking he's going to stay? LOL. 

We'll accept anything to get him out the door. The club doesn't want him, get it through your minds!

The club also doesn’t want to let him go for pick 40

27 minutes ago, Bobby McKenzie said:

You do realise there's a difference between "90% have him gone" and "90% want him gone" ?

Why am I doing this ?

I think the club will be very aware that there will be a big backlash from fans if the deal for Jack isn't very good. Hence Geelong opting out. I also think the odds of Him staying have shortened. The big unknown is what it will take to get Lever.

And Sooooo If Port don't offer pick 29 then???????????

What happens??

What if they only offer pick 29 and not another penny more!???

2 hours ago, Akum said:

Think their lack of picks is really starting to bite. They were hoping to persuade players to head to GCS so they didn't have to use their highest pick on GAJ, and that didn't happen. They were hoping to get a big compo pick for Motlop, and that's unlikely to happen. So the cupboard is bare.

You could be right about PA.

They've got a few players that I'm sure we'd happily introduce to the squad.

We asked the cats for pick 20 and they didn’t even want to discuss it. 

Port have been told the same top 25 pick is our asking price which I think is very fair for a quality player. 

Hes a chance to stay 

Tom Rockliffe won't come cheap either.

Given that Port are bogan scum and Watts wants to stay in Victoria I can see Watts and his manager crossing their arms, facing the camera and saying "No Deal".

43 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Strangely Jack has been at the club  prior to any of them. Jack's remuneration  cant be a surprise.

If he's being pushed out for cap space it makes an absolute lie of everything said to date by the club.

There's much we still dont know 

I doubt he's offloaded for cash but I'm convinced it's a factor. Got to have extra room to keep bringing guys in and money tied up in Hogan, T McDonald, Weids and Watts is a lot for 4 forwards when you might only play 2.

The first we heard of Watts getting traded was after Frost unexpectedly re-signed. To me it was an indication that Tom McDonald was going to be a forward and they had to ship one out.

5 minutes ago, picket fence said:

What happens??

Absent some king of other pick involvement arising from compensation or another trade, he'll stay.

The club has repeatedly said that if they don't get a satisfactory outcome then he will stay. People seem so eager to take the clubs word on some things, but not on others.

7 minutes ago, picket fence said:

What happens??

we'll go shopping with pick 29  and that will be that

8 minutes ago, picket fence said:

What happens??

As long as we don't have to pay any of Watts' salary it's a yes from me.

I think a big reason the Cats are saying no is they want cash relief in the deal as well.

to the mods..we seriously need this emoji 

thinking.jpg

1 hour ago, the rolling fog said:

Wonder if McCartney is in Goodwin's/the FD's ear about Watts. He was all about contested football and pressure at the Bulldogs. 

Also noticed that he didn't get much of a thanks at the B&F from some players, namely Trengove.

Didn't Oliver mention McCartney?

1 hour ago, Dr.D said:

people still thinking he's going to stay? LOL. 

We'll accept anything to get him out the door. The club doesn't want him, get it through your minds!

Your hate for Watts grows Doc. Accepting anything in a trade suggest you know FA about football and footballers.

The club has repeatedly stated - if Jack Watts stays, he knows exactly what expectations he will have to meet.

I'd be interested to know what exactly the club does expect of him (in the unlikely event that he stays). Does anyone actually know?

No generic 'be more professional, train harder, be harder at the ball' stuff please.

3 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

The club has repeatedly stated - if Jack Watts stays, he knows exactly what expectations he will have to meet.

I'd be interested to know what exactly the club does expect of him (in the unlikely event that he stays). Does anyone actually know?

No generic 'be more professional, train harder, be harder at the ball' stuff please.

At least one tackle every third game and a 2am curfew in Chapel St.

if i were a guessing type of guy I think what's happening ( npi )  is a bit like the. room with a suspended die. We're seeing different aspects but not the whole entity

There are some relative truths in the matter:

Jack is out of favour with elements of the FD

Stories have been spread about Jacks attitude....to preparedness , to rehab  to  his choice of beers probably ( such is his luck )

The FD want a different makeup to exisitng

Jack was unawares  of his imminent demise

Jack had an outstanding  2016. A very good 2017 until injury ( not alone there )

Jack at one stage had a very good relationship with his coach. :goody: Supposedly not much has changed. :rolleyes:..except the club want him out the door. :huh:

MFC wants to bring some newbs into the fray. Tradeweek needs currency :mahoney:

Any number of Jacks team mates  aren't exactly over the moon...but that's footy.

Some sponsors are thinking WTF ??  (..well I just made that up...but if I was a sponsor and had Jack plastered all over my  media id be saying...WTF !! Please explain after I just forked over another check and printed off another 100,000 brochures !!

Jack is far from the root cause of any failure of this club

Jack is playing away...permanently in 2018 onwards

memo from Ken to Simon.....thanks mate

10 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Ron...whats the first language of footy ?

1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said:

I doubt he's offloaded for cash but I'm convinced it's a factor. Got to have extra room to keep bringing guys in and money tied up in Hogan, T McDonald, Weids and Watts is a lot for 4 forwards when you might only play 2.

The first we heard of Watts getting traded was after Frost unexpectedly re-signed. To me it was an indication that Tom McDonald was going to be a forward and they had to ship one out.

On the topic of 2 man kpf forward lines. This was an Interesting article on the rise of importance on forward pressure and speed with this years trade period. Mentions JW and a few others in relation to the 'third tall' becoming an increasingly less relevant position

http://www.theroar.com.au/2017/10/11/afls-small-ball-revolution-afl-trade-period-2017/.

Edited by Deeprived Childhood

44 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

At least one tackle every third game and a 2am curfew in Chapel St.

I am wondering whether curtailing his 'lifestyle', whatever that actually looks like, is one of the club's expectations.

• Author
42 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

I think that’s exactly part of the issue with Jack.

He appears to be doing as he’s been told to do, hence his surprise at his being out of favour... He’s working to rule, so to speak instead of stepping up and taking additional initiatives to become better. 

According to the Wookie he’s super popular with the young players, yet not in the leadership group. So is he not interested in working on his leadership skills? I guess not. 

There was a rumour he was working on his contested marking last year, and I remember thinking that’s the first time I’ve heard Jack’s name connected with some additional extra-curricular...

now before anyone gets huffy, I’m speculating here and don’t actually  know. :)