View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

MATCH PREVIEW AND TEAM SELECTION - ROUND 20

Feel ok about this one. It's like the port game, where you'd expect the boys will throw everything they have into it.

Unfortunatley Its the games against the Saints and the Pies which are already making me nervous

Expect a BOG performance from Viney. King made a good point that he gave everything to come back early and would have been sore for the north game. 

Crush them Jack

Were the players gutted as much as we were after the North loss? 

Were they filthy with themselves as much as we were made to feel?

It was a horrible loss, as horrible as I can remember. 

They have almost let the season slip away, a season where they have worked their backsides off to give themselves and their long suffering fans every conceivable chance of some September action. 

All I want this week is a RESPONSE!!!

13 hours ago, Pates said:

Looking for a BIG game from Watts. He was poor his first game back and from all reports practically unsighted against the Roos. No more excuses of "returning from injury", he's a senior player and very important one. Time for him to get back to form. 

If he has another poor game then drop him. His 2 return games have been disgusting and the 'returning from injury' excuse card expires on Saturday.

1 hour ago, Demon77 said:

Were the players gutted as much as we were after the North loss? 

Were they filthy with themselves as much as we were made to feel?

They have almost let the season slip away, a season where they have worked their backsides off to give themselves and their long suffering fans every conceivable chance of some September action. 

All I want this week is a RESPONSE!!!

So much hyperbole - you must have a very short memory if that's the worst loss.

It was entirely predictable (and yes I tipped and bet against us).  North have a great record in Hobart, were at full strength, played an older more experienced team, we were missing Jones and Vince, and then Hogan going off hurt us more than Waite going off.  The last quarter was disappointing when we were in a winning position, but we did well to put ourselves in that position.

I think we're a very good chance to win this week against GWS.

Jeez, Hibberd's last kick goes through for a goal and you'd be salivating over the win.

1 hour ago, Fifty-5 said:

So much hyperbole - you must have a very short memory if that's the worst loss.

It was entirely predictable (and yes I tipped and bet against us).  North have a great record in Hobart, were at full strength, played an older more experienced team, we were missing Jones and Vince, and then Hogan going off hurt us more than Waite going off.  The last quarter was disappointing when we were in a winning position, but we did well to put ourselves in that position.

I think we're a very good chance to win this week against GWS.

How did you feel after the loss? Did i state worst loss? Read properly mate! The feeling after the game by most of us wasn't an enjoyable one to say the least, I certainly felt horrible after it. In the context of the season it was a massive loss.

51 minutes ago, mauriesy said:

Jeez, Hibberd's last kick goes through for a goal and you'd be salivating over the win.

Correct, such is the fine margin for me between joy or disappointment.

55 minutes ago, Demon77 said:

How did you feel after the loss? Did i state worst loss? Read properly mate! The feeling after the game by most of us wasn't an enjoyable one to say the least, I certainly felt horrible after it. In the context of the season it was a massive loss.

"It was a horrible loss, as horrible as I can remember."  Not hard to see why your words were construed the way they were. 

Given the playing conditions, the fact the Roos had a pretty much full strength team on board, their familiarity with the ground and the fact that they were coming off a strong performance the week before, the loss was probably not as surprising as many seem to think.

Jones and Vince back. Maynard to debut. One of Weid or Pedo to replace Hogan. (Simon Goodwin on MFC twitter)

I don't let the outcome of football matches negatively affect my mood.

Just now, Fifty-5 said:

I wish i could say the same

2 minutes ago, binman said:

I wish i could say the same

It hasn't always been that way, it takes some practice and discipline, but it's worth it.  Last time I was [censored] off was EF loss to Essendon in 2005.

Edited by Fifty-5

30 minutes ago, hardtack said:

"It was a horrible loss, as horrible as I can remember."  Not hard to see why your words were construed the way they were. 

Given the playing conditions, the fact the Roos had a pretty much full strength team on board, their familiarity with the ground and the fact that they were coming off a strong performance the week before, the loss was probably not as surprising as many seem to think.

Fair point Hardtack on the above.

If we miss the finals by percentage I will feel a lot better knowing all of a sudden a lot of people predicted the result against North and felt the need to gloat about their financial success on the game by betting on North.

All I was trying to say in my initial post, is that hopefully they are burning from their performance last week and come out this week and make some kind of statement.

To be honest, excuses are wearing thin with me. 

3 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

It hasn't always been that way, it takes some practice and discipline, but it's worth it.  Last time I was [censored] off was EF loss to Essendon in 2005.

2004!

Geelong was 2005.

Edited by Demon77

55 minutes ago, Demon77 said:

Fair point Hardtack on the above.

If we miss the finals by percentage I will feel a lot better knowing all of a sudden a lot of people predicted the result against North and felt the need to gloat about their financial success on the game by betting on North.

All I was trying to say in my initial post, is that hopefully they are burning from their performance last week and come out this week and make some kind of statement.

To be honest, excuses are wearing thin with me. 

I spoke to a few this morning at training, yes they were pizzed, forgot you need to have the ball to utilise the wind, disappointed in themselves, the reviews are honest and brutal    that being said   Hibberd goal and we win

either you are a psychopath or an android 

8 minutes ago, Danelska said:

either you are a psychopath or an android 

200_s.gif

2 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

200_s.gif

mmm, I read Enid Blyton novels - I'm not getting this modern pop kulcha reference?

I just want to make finals at this stage, I would be far more relaxed about it if we won last week.

I am very confident the boys get up this week. Huge INs and some disappointing performances in the team last week. Players will be chewing at the bit... 

Weather conditions sound very similiar to Tassie last week. GWS dont like a wet/windy track. I am sure we have learnes drom last week.

Dees get there mojo back. 30 points. 

2 hours ago, leehow said:

Jones and Vince back. Maynard to debut. One of Weid or Pedo to replace Hogan. (Simon Goodwin on MFC twitter)

So the outs?  Hogan, JKH?, Trenners?, and???

Once again I am perplexed as to why Goodwin tells the next opponent in advance who will definitely be in the team.  I have no idea what attributes Maynard has that might make an opposition coach think about him for more than a microsecond, but I bet they do.  It also gives them an idea of who we might omit, again helping their planning. 

Why give them that advantage even if it is minor?  What advantage does it give us?  Or do footy clubs leak so badly that everyone who matters will know anyway?