Winning Trade Period

Posted

End of day Melbourne now have J Lewis, M Hubbard and P KcKenna and only gave up picks 29 and 66. Sounds like a win win win to me. We also now have pick 47 instead of 48.

I would've liked us to get involved in the pick trade frenzy in the last day or so to try and get back into the top 30/20 picks. Ultimately I'm not unhappy but it's a write off year for drafting as far as we're concerned. We already have stacks of young talent so it's not a major concern but you wouldn't want to make a habit of it.

14 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I would've liked us to get involved in the pick trade frenzy in the last day or so to try and get back into the top 30/20 picks. Ultimately I'm not unhappy but it's a write off year for drafting as far as we're concerned. We already have stacks of young talent so it's not a major concern but you wouldn't want to make a habit of it.

Let's wait and see on this one, mate. Taylor may still get to show his worth in the fourth round.

It was certainly another really solid off season for us, starting to see a lot of what happened at the Doggies happening at the Dees.

A bit of a whacky way of thinking here but:

1st rounders: Oliver, Weideman (both low end age 2015)

2nd rounders: Melksham, Hibberd & Lewis

3rd round: McKenna

I'm so pleased with the team of Viney, Mahoney & Taylor - smart operators in this area now, wait the wildcard that's coming IMO.

We did well in the trade period. There were some other clubs that did a little better.

At least we aren't Geelong or Hawthorn who sold players for 50c on the dollar.

We picked up two senior players and a maybe.

Our history on importing senior players is not great (no need to name them) but these two look okay. We have youth and few senior players so it was an obvious but pleasing result. Ask me end of next year. Hopefully Lewis and Hibberd can have an injury free year and both feature in the top 12 of our B&F. If yes.... we had a win

I'm not sure we'll have a winning draft period Mr Steve but we've done well in the trade period imo. We go into next year with Lewis, Hibberd and Melksham in our best 22, that's a considerable strengthening of our list that will be enhanced by the natural development of our young talent. Anything less than finals next year will be a fail. We are finally back.

These last 10 years my mates have been mightily impressed with my knowledge of the new draftees coming through. I'd tell them all the things I'd learnt about their new young players trawling endlessly through phantom drafts. This year I know nothing about the upcoming draft class and it feels bloody good, long may it last.

We picked up two best 22 players and lost none. We held onto all of our young prospects. We paid a mid-second-rounder. A clear win.

Yep not a bad way of thinking about it over the 2 year period:

1st rounders: Oliver and Weed

2nd rounders: Melksham and Hibberd

3rd rounders: Mitch King, Hulett. Pick 47

4th+ rounders including rookies: Wagner, J Smith,  this years remaining picks

Players Out: Howe, Toumpas, Dunn
Players In: Kennedy, Bugg, Lewis, McKenna

We gave up consecutive 2nd round picks and also gave away our 2nd rounder from the Howe deal last year to get the 2 top 10 first round picks in and then drafted talls in the 3rd round. So the pressure is on to add some quality this year in the draft. We don't need superstars but we need at least 1 talented running player  and to add some more depth to the developing tall stocks.

As I posted in the other thread, we effectively got Hibberd and Lewis for 29 which is a stellar result.

Went in with 29, 48, 66, 84.

Came out with 47, 69, 84.

Dunn vs McKenna steak knives

4 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

As I posted in the other thread, we effectively got Hibberd and Lewis for 29 which is a stellar result.

Went in with 29, 48, 66, 84.

Came out with 47, 69, 84.

Dunn vs McKenna steak knives

especially when you think of 4 years ago when we gave up pick 20 for Dawes and the next year pick 12 for Clarke

dark, dark days

These days I tend to look at it all holistically, I.e as a rolling idea,with no particular event in isolation. As a constituent to our bettering list this trade period in conjunction with previous has done wonders to improve our potential.

Almost have no interest in the draft.

Rock on 2017....cant wait for Hades to descend upon the others.

go Dees

Sooooo what do we think guys...... our first pick at 47 we use .... and the other 2 at 69 and 84 we are using to elevate mitch white and wagner?

Wagner gets elevated.  47 should be used on a ruckman.

Remains to be seen how strong this year's draft is, compared to next year's.

We obviously believe that next year's is better, but some clubs have sold out of next year's draft, believing this year is the "super draft".

What do D'landers think? Like many others, I know nothing about the two drafts and their comparative merits.

1 hour ago, Abe said:

It was certainly another really solid off season for us, starting to see a lot of what happened at the Doggies happening at the Dees.

Agreed, although I think our build is slightly different from their's just out of necessity. We've needed to target a bit more experience and we've also had greater access to top end talent, which IMO will eventually see us surpass the Bulldogs. We just need to get our game style going.

3 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

wagner can remain a rookie; there's no need whatsoever to elevate.

Again, if our brains trust believes that next year's draft is better, we'll want to get our rookie upgrades done with our late picks this year, and use next year's late picks to try to trade for earlier picks.

Also, our last active pick in this draft will need to be better than the last player we delist to make way for them (Newton? Michie?), or better than the rookie we hope to upgrade (Wagner? Smith?)

5 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Reckon you can only decide the strength of a draft in retrospect 

True, but you have to make decisions about them in ... um ... anterospect. 

Use Picks 47 & 69. 

Upgrade Wagner

Smith gets 2nd year on Category B Rookie list.

White gets 3rd year on main rookie list.

Use three picks in the rookie draft

Hope Allsop isn't drafted so we can take him as a Category B Rookie with Smith & Maynard.

47 minutes ago, DubDee said:

especially when you think of 4 years ago when we gave up pick 20 for Dawes and the next year pick 12 for Clarke

dark, dark days

To be completely fair I liked both those trades at the time.