Posted

I'm not interested in his relationship dramas or mental health issues, so please don't go there.

Can someone please tell me why Garry inspires such disdain, animosity, hatred, etc from members of this forum.

I started seriously following the MFC in 1987 as an 8 year old, so only really saw Robbie Flower play his final year. I have seen the entire careers of Stynes, Viney, Neitz, Jones and other greats of the club, and rate Garry above all of those for his on-field contribution to the club. He is the best MFC player I have seen, and he was captain of the best MFC sides I have seen.

So, why the negativity?

Posted

He was one of my heroes growing up Poita, to see the disgraceful commentary on the other thread made me genuinely upset. We know nothing of what he is going through.

I wish him all the best and hope he can find some happiness.

Posted

I'll give it a shot. He was involved in two coaching appointments  - one that wrong and one that went horribly wrong. Rightly or wrongly he is closely associated with the perception of the old boys club that ruled at the MFC prior to the PJ administation. Lastly, he speaks his mind freely on what is/has been wrong with the club and that doesn't sit well with some.

Because of his media profile he has not always been backwards in giving us a slap ( as opposed to Eddie who is so biased in everything that comes out his mouth that he would never be critical of his own club). I have little doubt as to GL's love and commitment to our club.

Posted

I always thought he was a club champion. As such, he should deserve a certain level of our respect.

No hatred here. Although I was supporting another AFL team during his playing days.

Did however have the same question about why some of our fellow DL posters appear to hate Neitz.

Posted

Best not to hypothesise on this.  As with anyone who is going through an upheaval in their life, I wish G Lyon all the best.  As a player he was a champion of the MFC.  As a man.......... I don't know him personally

Posted

O, beware, my lord, of jealousy;
It is the green-ey'd monster, which doth mock
The meat it feeds on. That cuckold lives in bliss,
Who, certain of his fate, loves not his wronger:
But O, what damnèd minutes tells he o'er
Who dotes, yet doubts, suspects, yet strongly loves!

Posted
12 minutes ago, poita said:

I'm not interested in his relationship dramas or mental health issues, so please don't go there.

Can someone please tell me why Garry inspires such disdain, animosity, hatred, etc from members of this forum.

I started seriously following the MFC in 1987 as an 8 year old, so only really saw Robbie Flower play his final year. I have seen the entire careers of Stynes, Viney, Neitz, Jones and other greats of the club, and rate Garry above all of those for his on-field contribution to the club. He is the best MFC player I have seen, and he was captain of the best MFC sides I have seen.

So, why the negativity?

My opinion....

From a football sense a terrific player.

...but, he should never have been allowed to come in to "help" (consult or whatever the hell he was doing) the club when he didn't have the requisite experience to do the job. I know he was asked by Jimmy but it was a bad call by the big fella, not a great call by Garry and an even worse call by the board to go along with it. So not all his fault but he must carry some of the blame.

His perceived or real closeness to CS, don't know which one. Along with the poorly conceived plan to keep CS and unseat DB.

I think he is a poor football analyst and this is also a reason why he was the wrong man to select a coach or two

...and lastly I can only go on what the person is like when I meet them but the few time I have I just didn't like him and I thought he was a bit of an arrogant p...to tell the truth.

Posted
4 hours ago, nutbean said:

I'll give it a shot. He was involved in two coaching appointments  - one that wrong and one that went horribly wrong. Rightly or wrongly he is closely associated with the perception of the old boys club that ruled at the MFC prior to the PJ administation. Lastly, he speaks his mind freely on what is/has been wrong with the club and that doesn't sit well with some.

Because of his media profile he has not always been backwards in giving us a slap ( as opposed to Eddie who is so biased in everything that comes out his mouth that he would never be critical of his own club). I have little doubt as to GL's love and commitment to our club.

So in other words, he did his job as an unbiased media commentator? After 186 (when Demonland was skipping around saying how lovely the day was), we wanted Garry to comment 'yeh just a bit of bad luck, lets get around the boys and hopefully they'll improve next week'.

He speaks his mind freely of what is/has been wrong with the club? Lucky no one does that on here.....

Anyone who thinks we haven't deserved multiple slaps over the past 10 years is living on another planet. He loves the club just as much as we do and wants to see us where we should be.

I'm not saying you are guilty of any of this, and I agree they are the reasons he's bashed on this forum by some, i just find it completely hypocritical and ridiculous.

Posted

I also have never understood the animosity towards GL.  He was a great player & bled for the Club.

Sure he was involved in some appointments where they got it wrong but the only reason he was involved was because the Board was dysfunctional & disorganised & he put his hand up to help.

As a footy analyst I reckon he is pretty solid & a lot better than many of the clowns out there.

Posted
3 hours ago, Melb16 said:

So in other words, he did his job as an unbiased media commentator? After 186 (when Demonland was skipping around saying how lovely the day was), we wanted Garry to comment 'yeh just a bit of bad luck, lets get around the boys and hopefully they'll improve next week'.

He speaks his mind freely of what is/has been wrong with the club? Lucky no one does that on here.....

Anyone who thinks we haven't deserved multiple slaps over the past 10 years is living on another planet. He loves the club just as much as we do and wants to see us where we should be.

I'm not saying you are guilty of any of this, and I agree they are the reasons he's bashed on this forum by some, i just find it completely hypocritical and ridiculous.

Agreed with what you say and as much as it hurts - The likes of Lyon and the Ox giving us a slap have been warranted...

Posted
7 minutes ago, rjay said:

My opinion....

...but, he should never have been allowed to come in to "help" (consult or whatever the hell he was doing) the club when he didn't have the requisite experience to do the job. I know he was asked by Jimmy but it was a bad call by the big fella, not a great call by Garry and an even worse call by the board to go along with it. So not all his fault but he must carry some of the blame.

His perceived or real closeness to CS, don't know which one. Along with the poorly conceived plan to keep CS and unseat DB.

I think he is a poor football analyst and this is also a reason why he was the wrong man to select a coach or two

...and lastly I can only go on what the person is like when I meet them but the few time I have I just didn't like him and I thought he was a bit of an arrogant p...to tell the truth.

Again...

'I dislike him him because he shouldn't have come in to help when he didn't have the requisite experience to do the job.'

When speculation of him coaching the MFC and he didn't put his hand up because he didn't have the experience and raw passion to be a coach.... the Demonland response... 'Why doesn't he give something back to the club? He's just lazy and wants easy money in the media etc.'

Damned if ya do, damned if ya don't. Hypocrisy. 

Posted

We hero worship our sports stars placing them on pedestals that have shaky foundations. Sometimes those stars maintain their high standards or distinguish themselves after retirement. Most simply and sensibly keep their faces out of the public spotlight. However, those that maintain a high public profile particularly those who remain in the football industry and football media are going to be watched, attract criticism and be judged. In some cases, their behaviour draws inevitable comment both from the public and the scandal obsessed media. The price of fame can be high for those who step out of line or behave outside societal norms.  Garry Lyon and others pay that price. In Garry's case, I suspect that he will attract more derision and criticism because he himself has made public comments and pronounced judgement on many players and coaches.  Personally, I would not judge his behaviour although I feel for those who have been hurt by not only his actions but also the actions of the other consenting party.  I do know that depression and mental health is a major health problem in our society. This can drive self destructing behaviour or occur as a result of a stressful incident. Shame is a major cause of depression and suicide.  The public should accept this on face value and understand that it is possible and highly probable that Garry does have a serious mental health issue. We should give him the benefit of doubt.

Posted
2 minutes ago, hemingway said:

We hero worship our sports stars placing them on pedestals that have shaky foundations. Sometimes those stars maintain their high standards or distinguish themselves after retirement. Most simply and sensibly keep their faces out of the public spotlight. However, those that maintain a high public profile particularly those who remain in the football industry and football media are going to be watched, attract criticism and be judged. In some cases, their behaviour draws inevitable comment both from the public and the scandal obsessed media. The price of fame can be high for those who step out of line or behave outside societal norms.  Garry Lyon and others pay that price. In Garry's case, I suspect that he will attract more derision and criticism because he himself has made public comments and pronounced judgement on many players and coaches.  Personally, I would not judge his behaviour although I feel for those who have been hurt by not only his actions but also the actions of the other consenting party.  I do know that depression and mental health is a major health problem in our society. This can drive self destructing behaviour or occur as a result of a stressful incident. Shame is a major cause of depression and suicide.  The public should accept this on face value and understand that it is possible and highly probable that Garry does have a serious mental health issue. We should give him the benefit of doubt.

Amen to that Ernest.

Posted (edited)
32 minutes ago, rjay said:

My opinion....

19 minutes ago, Melb16 said:

Again...

'I dislike him him because he shouldn't have come in to help when he didn't have the requisite experience to do the job.'

When speculation of him coaching the MFC and he didn't put his hand up because he didn't have the experience and raw passion to be a coach.... the Demonland response... 'Why doesn't he give something back to the club? He's just lazy and wants easy money in the media etc.'

Damned if ya do, damned if ya don't. Hypocrisy. 

I'm not sure if you're directing this at me or not, but seeing as you quoted my post I think you need to have a good hard read before going off on a completely different track.

I've never pushed him up as a future coach of the club for the reasons I've posted again. I just don't rate his understanding of the game, could play but that doesn't make him a coach. I think he would have been a terrible coach.

I've also never asked him to give something back, I think it's good if past players still have an interest in the club they played for but more often than not are better off staying away from anything other than supporting.

Let me say again it was a very poor decision by those running the club to let someone with no experience in running a club, a football department or coaching at club level to come in and oversee the club and recommend the appointments made. Said it at the time and will repeat myself again. Of course history has show the folly of that time.

edit: I don't dislike him because of football decision made. I just think they were very poor decisions from him the President, CEO & board and we are still suffering because of them...

Edited by rjay

Posted

He is brutally honest about his club. So many don't like that from a club champion and would prefer them to always be positive and upbeat about the team.

Also you should give "back" to the club and if you do, get it right, cos if you don't your name is mud.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

He is brutally honest about his club. So many don't like that from a club champion and would prefer them to always be positive and upbeat about the team.

Also you should give "back" to the club and if you do, get it right, cos if you don't your name is mud.

The level most ex players should give back to a club should be watching some games, supporting and maybe running a chook raffle. Any thing else is too much in most instances...

Posted

Ron Barassi returned as "The Messiah" with a 5 year plan to turn the club around in '81. He failed and yet is still seen as a favourite son, yet Lyon is hounded and vilified for being on a committee to choose two of our coaches, is that really the reason he is not universally loved?

Posted
12 minutes ago, rjay said:

I'm not sure if you're directing this at me or not, but seeing as you quoted my post I think you need to have a good hard read before going off on a completely different track.

I've never pushed him up as a future coach of the club for the reasons I've posted again. I just don't rate his understanding of the game, could play but that doesn't make him a coach. I think he would have been a terrible coach.

I've also never asked him to give something back, I think it's good if past players still have an interest in the club they played for but more often than not are better off staying away from anything other than supporting.

Let me say again it was a very poor decision by those running the club to let someone with no experience in running a club, a football department or coaching at club level to come in and oversee the club and recommend the appointments made. Said it at the time and will repeat myself again. Of course history has show the folly of that time.

edit: I don't dislike him because of football decision made. I just think they were very poor decisions from him the President, CEO & board and we are still suffering because of them...

No sorry, not directed at you.

But he's been accused of both by many people. Point is, no matter what he does, he is going to cop it.

I didn't have an problem with him as football director as I do rate his football knowledge as see him as a leader. However I understand your point and it cant be argued you're wrong given the subsequent results.

The majority of reasons he is disliked by Melbourne people are flimsy as best and most often completely made up (again, not putting you in this category).

Posted
13 minutes ago, rjay said:

The level most ex players should give back to a club should be watching some games, supporting and maybe running a chook raffle. Any thing else is too much in most instances...

You are living in la la land. Go through every club and you'll find ex players being involved at the club in some capacity. Some of those clubs have had incredible success, some haven't. They get involved because they are passionate about the club. If you want your sporting club run by accountants, lawyers and teachers, good for you.

Posted
1 minute ago, mo64 said:

You are living in la la land. Go through every club and you'll find ex players being involved at the club in some capacity. Some of those clubs have had incredible success, some haven't. They get involved because they are passionate about the club. If you want your sporting club run by accountants, lawyers and teachers, good for you.

Read the word MOST....'mo64'.

I should have posted also that I don't believe it's a given that players should put in anymore than just supporting. Most keep supporting, some don't and a few get involved in coaching and in other levels at a club. Often at clubs they didn't play for, in other words they chose a career in football.

Looking at our FD currently there are only a couple who played for the club (at a glance) and those 2 only came recently. Cross & Byrnes.

I think it's healthy to look outside the club.

Posted
1 minute ago, rjay said:

I should have posted also that I don't believe it's a given that players should put in anymore than just supporting. Most keep supporting, some don't and a few get involved in coaching and in other levels at a club. Often at clubs they didn't play for, in other words they chose a career in football.

Looking at our FD currently there are only a couple who played for the club (at a glance) and those 2 only came recently. Cross & Byrnes.

Hawthorn did.

Clarkson, Cam Bruce , Adem Yze, David Neitz & Chris Fagan

Posted
3 minutes ago, ManDee said:

Hawthorn did.

Clarkson, Cam Bruce , Adem Yze, David Neitz & Chris Fagan

theres a theme there....just cant put my finger on it though :o

Posted
3 minutes ago, rjay said:

I really don't understand your post. You say that "most" shouldn't get involved, but how do you know who'll be a success or failure unless they do get involved? Jason Dunstall shouldn't have gone on the board at Hawthorn. Are you basing it on the "good bloke" criteria? Garry Lyon rubbed you up the wrong way, so he shouldn't have had any involvement, despite having enormous respect post career within the football community.

Posted

Media personalities having their egos on display for all to see is going to attract detractors.Segments on The Footy Show like The Big Bill House where course behavior is observed is only going to add fuel to the fire in Garry's case.

There are probably a lot of ex Melbourne players who have a worse character than Garry Lyon but we don't see them on television and hear them on the radio.