View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Where will we finish in 2016?

Where will we finish in 2016? 308 members have voted

1. 1. Where will we finish on the Ladder in 2016

• 1-4
    • 5-8
    • 9-12
    • 13-16
    • 17-18

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

4 hours ago, beelzebub said:

A few of us discussed  this the other night. My  thinking is we'll  win 10-13 games....all depending  on a couple of likely  lads stepping up and an even year of injury.

This being so...we could go 8th...and I'd  love to do so but reluctantly i think 9th.

Richmond will have none of that!!

6 hours ago, CBDees said:

I reckon that we will also finish above the Suns and GWS as well as the four you nominated. I also think that our Queen's Birthday match against Collingwood will be an absolute ripper next year culminating in us winning by one point when Petracca kicks a goal from outside fifty after the siren.

Giants have a very good side. 

Like us they can't afford too many injuries.

26 minutes ago, hardtack said:

Ok....8th it is ! 

All going to depend how with come out of the blocks. Need some early confidence  building. 

Edited by beelzebub

We need to WIN AT LEAST 7 before the bye.

If we can win consecutive and even get on a roll early on... the confidence will build quick in a young team.

First nine games should hold few fears with

1. GWS GIANTS (11th)
  2. Essendon (15th)
  3. North Melbourne (8th)
  4. Collingwood (12th)
  5. Richmond (5th)
  6. St Kilda (14th)
  7. Gold Coast (16th)
  8. Western Bulldogs (6th)
  9. Brisbane Lions (17th)

All winnable.

Stars aligned dream run: top 4

I think 7-10 is quite realistic however

On 5 December 2015 4:08:47 pm, yoSMOKIE said:

I think we are a genuine chance to make the 8. Overall, I thought we played our best footy this year against the better teams. Soon as we can figure out how to win all of the games we should, we wont be far off September at all.

Can't remember the last time I was this excited for the upcoming season!

I am going for 10 to 12 in 2016 but look out other teams in 2017!

2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

The TAB doesn't think we're going to do much next year.

6-7 wins with a projected finish of 16th.

That would mean no improvement. I'm confident in saying that they'll be wrong. We may not make finals, but we'll improve on 2015.

For us to play finals we need 2 things to go right:

1. No injuries to any key player (unlikely)
2. Other clubs around the same mark having a poor season (e.g.- Saints, GWS, GC)

I think if we finish 9th-11th it is a good result and still gives us something to work towards the following year.
Individual player development as well as improved game day tactics is what I really want to see next year. 

I will be pleased with 9-11 wins next year. Will show that we're on the right track and hopefully would've beaten a mix of rubbish sides, middle of the road sides, taken a scalp or 2 of the top 6 sides and perhaps won a game or 2 interstate.

Anything more is Disneyland stuff.

My expectation for 2015 was 8-12 wins so Ill say the same again , hopefully we beat the teams below us on the ladder , and 3-4 above us . Would leave us somewhere 9th to 12th and with a lot of luck the f word comes into it at some stage . Start well and be in the 8 for six weeks or so . Confidence builder , would do the world of good . 

54 minutes ago, Jaded said:

2. Other clubs around the same mark having a poor season (e.g.- Saints, GWS, GC)

I think if we finish 9th-11th it is a good result and still gives us something to work towards the following year.
Individual player development as well as improved game day tactics is what I really want to see next year. 

I think you forgot 

3. Players turning up to play on a weekly basis.

On 7 December 2015 at 0:47 PM, Jaded said:

If reports (from one of the moderators) of Frost being injured indefinitely are correct, it's not a good start to our 2016 campaign!

1 hour ago, CBDees said:

If reports (from one of the moderators) of Frost being injured indefinitely are correct, it's not a good start to our 2016 campaign!

I think that was a joke, wasn't it?

2 hours ago, Good Times Grimes said:

I think that was a joke, wasn't it?

not being familiar with aussie TV ATM, I was sucked in an cursing...

I voted 5-8 but only because I felt optimistic and it was the better part of the range I think we will finish in which is 7-11.

Edited by Chris

I think the poll shows what I have thought for this year in that we will be just in or just out of the finals. That would be a good result from where we were at 3 years ago when we weren't even really AFL standard and that fact was partly hidden by the new teams. 

I think after the recruits we've bought into the club, we're definitely a top 18 team.

48 minutes ago, Peter Griffen said:

I think after the recruits we've bought into the club, we're definitely a top 18 team.

giphy.gif

Edited by Curry & Beer

The Dees have more fire power up front and two mids come whatever else in Petracca and Oliver will make a difference. The problem is defence not enough class and injuries could be the deciding factor. 7th spot is achievable. Weideman will need time in the two's. Slaughter match will us being on the recieving end will be much less than 2015.

On 06/12/2015 at 9:51 PM, hardtack said:

correction: Richmond will have nine of that!!

On 5 December 2015 at 7:08 PM, yoSMOKIE said:

I think we are a genuine chance to make the 8. Overall, I thought we played our best footy this year against the better teams. Soon as we can figure out how to win all of the games we should, we wont be far off September at all.

Can't remember the last time I was this excited for the upcoming season!

Hawks, Swans, Eagles, Dockers???????

I'm pretty optimistic about next year... Most supporters of every club are this time of year but I just have a feeling we've turned the corner. Yeah we put in some poor performances last year but we also put in some great ones and I think that inconsistency is behind us. I'd say we'll finish 9th-12th but with some luck finals isn't out of the question 

15 hours ago, ENYAW said:

The Dees have more fire power up front and two mids come whatever else in Petracca and Oliver will make a difference. The problem is defence not enough class and injuries could be the deciding factor. 7th spot is achievable. Weideman will need time in the two's. Slaughter match will us being on the recieving end will be much less than 2015.

I agree with ENYAW and also think that too many Demonlanders are unnecessarily negative about our trading of next year's first round pick. Hopefully it will be pick 11-13 in any event, mostly due to us picking up Oliver with pick 3 this year!

Edited by CBDees