View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Heeney Broken Jaw

Posted

An unprovoked incident in Hong Kong apparently.

Quality reporting here...http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/isaac-heeneys-jaw-broken-in-unprovoked-attack-in-hong-kong-20151018-gkc4w6.html

"The club has issued a statement announcing the "rising star" award winner was attacked while in Hong Kong with teammates on Saturday morning."

I assume they meant nominee. I was tempted to follow their lead and title the thread "Rising star" award winner broken jaw", but that'd be too cruel.

When I was a kid my mate's dad bought him a trophy after coming last in a swimming race, it was engraved with his name and said 'first place.' He told my mate that the judges stuffed up at the time and he actually won the race.

Maybe the Swans took the same approach.

Unprovoked attacks of this nature are the rarest of rarities in Asia unless committed by an Aussie beer swilling bogan.

Usually I'd subscribe to the Aussie bogan copping his right whack. But my old man has snow white hair - much like Heeney - and I am forever hearing how he used to be a target when he was younger (due to his hair). Heeney could of just been a target. He doesn't strike me as the type of kid who would look for trouble - plus a poster over at the SJW site (big footy) said that his nephew played for Sydney, witnessed the incident, and it was an unprovoked attack.

All of these unprovoked attacks on these guys... Uncanny.

It happens mate, I copped a king hit from behind down in Lygon st. a few years back. There are some total lunatics out there and sometimes you're in the wrong place at the wrong time through no fault of your own.

There is a park next to Lygon Street me and my mates walked through about 10 years ago and we got punched up in a completely unprovoked attack. They just came from everywhere for no reason whatsover. We didn't even know they were there until they were punching us.

The Lygon Street Park Ninja's

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

it may not have been provoked at the time of the hit, but there may have been something prior happen in the bar that was the reason. maybe even something innocuous that someone took offence to.

it's not hard sometimes to offend someone when you are in a completely different culture

An unprovoked incident in Hong Kong apparently.

Quality reporting here...http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/isaac-heeneys-jaw-broken-in-unprovoked-attack-in-hong-kong-20151018-gkc4w6.html

"The club has issued a statement announcing the "rising star" award winner was attacked while in Hong Kong with teammates on Saturday morning."

I assume they meant nominee. I was tempted to follow their lead and title the thread "Rising star" award winner broken jaw", but that'd be too cruel.

We all know the culture has gone down the gurgler since Buiddy went there.....:)

Hong Kong would have to be the safest city on earth (touch wood).

Have never looked over my shoulder, felt threatened or intimidated, seen or even heard about attacks of this nature here. Street violence in HK, like we know it in Australia and other Asian hotspots is very, very uncommon. The idea that he may have been targeted due to his appearance is something that doesn't really apply to HK either, as it a highly westernised place. There is nothing unusual about white, blonde people walking the streets. Very little chance of him being recognised (unless they told people) as most Victorians wouldn't know him from a bar of soap, let alone Sydney-siders living thousands of miles from home.

There are party hotspots here, but there is a live and let live attitude that makes it a warm and happy place to blow off steam. There are however many opportunities to over-eat, over-drink and over-indulge and make a scene in LKF or the streets of WanChai. It looked like just the young guys from Sydney (under 21s) made the trip, so of course they were cutting loose.

Perhaps Heeney was very, very, very, very unlucky in this instance, but I, along with every one I know, was bowled over by the news of an unprovoked attack in Hong Kong.

There is, of course, never any excuse for punching someone and breaking their jaw: provoked or unprovoked.

Have never looked over my shoulder, felt threatened or intimidated, seen or even heard about attacks of this nature here. Street violence in HK, like we know it in Australia and other Asian hotspots is very, very uncommon. The idea that he may have been targeted due to his appearance is something that doesn't really apply to HK either, as it a highly westernised place. There is nothing unusual about white, blonde people walking the streets. Very little chance of him being recognised (unless they told people) as most Victorians wouldn't know him from a bar of soap, let alone Sydney-siders living thousands of miles from home.

There are party hotspots here, but there is a live and let live attitude that makes it a warm and happy place to blow off steam. There are however many opportunities to over-eat, over-drink and over-indulge and make a scene in LKF or the streets of WanChai. It looked like just the young guys from Sydney (under 21s) made the trip, so of course they were cutting loose.

Perhaps Heeney was very, very, very, very unlucky in this instance, but I, along with every one I know, was bowled over by the news of an unprovoked attack in Hong Kong.

There is, of course, never any excuse for punching someone and breaking their jaw: provoked or unprovoked.

A question I have is, was it a local, or could it have been another tourist that attacked him?

probably a Hawthorn player that ended up at Gold coast

it may not have been provoked at the time of the hit, but there may have been something prior happen in the bar that was the reason. maybe even something innocuous that someone took offence to.

it's not hard sometimes to offend someone when you are in a completely different culture

"All we was doin' was sittin' in this bar an' singin' Khe San at the top of our voices over an' over. Who doesn't love Khe San, eh? Some [censored] come over and sez we should stop it but he don't appreciate good Aussie music, dun' he? Waitresses were awesome, mate -- fer Chinese that is. Had a grope of one, I reckon she'd have been up for it -- wait, whose shout is it? [censored] off Davo! Bloody is not!! Anyway some other bloke come over -- reckon he might of been a bouncer or summit -- reckons we gotta go but we weren't doing nuthin' ... told him to [censored] right off -- we'd have taken 'im anyway, it woulda been 8 on 1. Chinese bouncers are tiny, mate. Chook had a spew in the dunnies again. P*ss poor aim, Chook. Never could ralph on target. Couldn't get in there, mate, it was rancid ... so's we went in the chicks one. Talk about funny looks -- strange buggers, these Chinese."

Totally agree. Lived in HK (well Tin Shui Wai...not exactly HK Island) for two years and always felt safe. Very surprised to read about this.

Edited by 13thFlagIsComing