ThreeOneSix 954 Posted May 13, 2016 Posted May 13, 2016 Big props to Knightmare off big footy for idenifying this one early. Peaked my interest WAY before we taken him. So props to Knightmare. Oliver has a stubborn, one way mindset, I knew he would punish the selectors for dropping him. Most players would drop their head, this kid does the opposite - same as when he was overlooked for nationals in under 18s, responded by dominating TAC cup. Has that Jack Viney approach to life. We will smash GWS with kids like Oliver, Viney and Hogan. 1 Quote
Jesse Christ 2,884 Posted May 13, 2016 Posted May 13, 2016 4 minutes ago, AdamFarr said: At the end of this year. After we win the flag and Hogan signs on for the next 12 years, gotchya Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted May 13, 2016 Posted May 13, 2016 2 minutes ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said: especially intriguing when in his interviews he presents as being unsure how about how good he is that's called modesty 2 Quote
beelzebub 23,392 Posted May 13, 2016 Posted May 13, 2016 Theyll have to still manage the development o his tank, thats a reality. This year is a bit of a teaser. that's fine. but please mfc dont rest him in the big games. He lives for the BIG games 1 Quote
Jesse Christ 2,884 Posted May 13, 2016 Posted May 13, 2016 No it's good, let Oliver keep thinking he's no good and we can convince him no one else will give him a game and we can keep him for cheap! Quote
1 red eye 1 blue eye 771 Posted May 13, 2016 Posted May 13, 2016 (edited) 2 minutes ago, daisycutter said: that's called modesty I like that Edited May 13, 2016 by 1 red eye 1 blue eye Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted May 13, 2016 Posted May 13, 2016 4 minutes ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said: I like that yeah, an old fashioned concept these days - lol Quote
beelzebub 23,392 Posted May 13, 2016 Posted May 13, 2016 hes a meat and 3 veg player . He just oozes (sic) Footy !! Quote
Gator 18,055 Posted May 13, 2016 Posted May 13, 2016 9 hours ago, AdamFarr said: I just like typing this out. How's this for a midfield: Viney, Oliver, Petracca with support from Tyson, Brayshaw and even Salem. Not to mention older guys in Vince and Jones. And the addition of Prestia next year. That's a deep and talented midfield. Add Trengove. I know we disagree about his pace, but I reckon he'll become a pivotal cog in our midfield too. 6 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,374 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 58 minutes ago, ProDee said: Add Trengove. I know we disagree about his pace, but I reckon he'll become a pivotal cog in our midfield too. Hope so mate. Always thought his first year was one of the most impressive first year debut i have seen in a very long time. Probably second behind Jeager bomb from Gold Coast. Quote
mauriesy 7,444 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 11 hours ago, beelzebub said: hes a meat and 3 veg player . He just oozes (sic) Footy !! Meat and three vegs? He's a 10-course gourmet tasting menu! 3 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 7 minutes ago, mauriesy said: Meat and three vegs? He's a 10-course gourmet tasting menu! more like a smorgasbord Quote
Adam The God 30,753 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 4 hours ago, ProDee said: Add Trengove. I know we disagree about his pace, but I reckon he'll become a pivotal cog in our midfield too. Yep, fair enough. Well, Jack only makes our midfield deeper. So that's 10 that can play in the midfield if we land Prestia (I think we will). Guys like Kennedy, Kent and Harmes will also move through there. That's a lot of blokes who can play there, currently in our best 22. It reminds me very much of Roos' 2005 Sydney team. They had a lot of guys that could move through there and they've built the list to Roos' philosophy - players must be multi-positional in modern footy. Roos' term hasn't been flawless. I do wonder, like BB, whether we he could have flicked the offensive switch a bit earlier, but the list building appears to be first class. 2 Quote
John Crow Batty 8,893 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 Funny watching him, body, arms and legs flailing about at all angles and then the ball suddenly pops out straight to a team mate. 5 Quote
SaberFang 7,151 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 32 minutes ago, AdamFarr said: Yep, fair enough. Well, Jack only makes our midfield deeper. So that's 10 that can play in the midfield if we land Prestia (I think we will). Guys like Kennedy, Kent and Harmes will also move through there. That's a lot of blokes who can play there, currently in our best 22. It reminds me very much of Roos' 2005 Sydney team. They had a lot of guys that could move through there and they've built the list to Roos' philosophy - players must be multi-positional in modern footy. Roos' term hasn't been flawless. I do wonder, like BB, whether we he could have flicked the offensive switch a bit earlier, but the list building appears to be first class. If we finish much higher on the ladder last year, we don't get Oliver and Weideman. If we finished higher the year before, we don't get Petracca and Brayshaw. Pretty happy he ensured our defensive foundations were in place, even if it took 2 years. We can't balance the attack and defence just yet, but once it all clicks together we'll see the benefit of Roos' first two years. These 4 top draft picks being a key side benefit, too. 10 Quote
Adam The God 30,753 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 10 minutes ago, SaberFang said: If we finish much higher on the ladder last year, we don't get Oliver and Weideman. If we finished higher the year before, we don't get Petracca and Brayshaw. Pretty happy he ensured our defensive foundations were in place, even if it took 2 years. We can't balance the attack and defence just yet, but once it all clicks together we'll see the benefit of Roos' first two years. These 4 top draft picks being a key side benefit, too. Yeah, spot on, mate. This is the other side to the playing the PR game with building the foundations. It allowed us to stockpile some draft picks and build this midfield. 1 Quote
SaberFang 7,151 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 1 minute ago, AdamFarr said: Yeah, spot on, mate. This is the other side to the playing the PR game with building the foundations. It allowed us to stockpile some draft picks and build this midfield. I get the feeling it was probably all part of the long-term plan right from the start. Roos and Jackson are no muggs. It seems more and more clear to me that this was a stealth rebuild all along; they just couldn't admit it publicly without getting supporters off-side. 1 Quote
Skuit 10,031 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 Gil McLachlan, Mark Evans, Sheehan. Bartlett, Luke Darcy, Frawley, Jakovich, Ling, Matthew Richardson, and Tredrea. Is still the make-up of the Rising Star panel? Clayton is a footballer. If the panelists take their role seriously and review the footage come season's end (where the 1%ers and the like become more evident) then this kid is a very strong chance to take home the trophy. Quote
Breggsy 123 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 Love watching him play. Not only is he a tackling clearance machine but he's also quite agile and is great above his head I remember being impressed with Tyson in his first year how he would get the ball and then get separation using his hips but this guy just knows where he's going to dish it before he even gains possession Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 3 hours ago, SaberFang said: If we finish much higher on the ladder last year, we don't get Oliver and Weideman. If we finished higher the year before, we don't get Petracca and Brayshaw. Pretty happy he ensured our defensive foundations were in place, even if it took 2 years. We can't balance the attack and defence just yet, but once it all clicks together we'll see the benefit of Roos' first two years. These 4 top draft picks being a key side benefit, too. SaberFang - I hope you aren't an alias for Chris (The Joker) Connolly! Could have us pinged for some yet to be defined offence. Quote
TheoX 1,222 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 2 hours ago, Breggsy said: Love watching him play. Not only is he a tackling clearance machine but he's also quite agile and is great above his head I remember being impressed with Tyson in his first year how he would get the ball and then get separation using his hips but this guy just knows where he's going to dish it before he even gains possession Better than just quite agile. Was top 3 at the combine 2 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 What a pick this bloke is proving to be! 2 Quote
hells bells 2,023 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 24 minutes ago, TheoX said: Better than just quite agile. Was top 3 at the combine And I think he scored a perfect score on the goal kicking comp. 3 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted May 14, 2016 Posted May 14, 2016 don't call him clayton allover for nothing Quote