View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Daisy Pearce

Posted

I just watched Daisy Pearce's acceptance speech at the B&F awards. She was so articulate and knowledgeable and put together a fantastic, well-researched piece which demonstrated how important the MFC's support of women's football is. She was very aware of the historical significance of the women's games and it is easy to see why she is captain. As much as I loved seeing Bernie, Jack and TMac's speeches, and their 'knockabout' style, Daisy's was by contrast, outstanding.

I'm surprised I haven't read much about this on here. Outstanding, uplifting speech.

Yep, watched this earlier.

What a great spokesperson for women in footy.

Daisy should consider a media career,she looks like a natural and has the advantage of actually playing the game so she knows what she's talking about.

It's hardly surprising that Daisy would be knowledgeable about MFC history. And it would be kind of strange if, as a woman captaining the first women's team, she was somehow unaware of the historical significance of the women's games. No one could know better than her the sheer persistance and hard work it takes for a woman to continue playing long enough to reach this level. So many girls in generations past have grown up with little ability to see a future for themselves in this game, even at the most amateur, social level. For too many their opportunities came to an abrupt halt at 12, 14 years of age or even earlier.

Daisy's knowledge and awareness of history aren't impressive to me because they are the experience of many women who are passionate about Aussie Rules and have not had the opportunity to express that passion on the playing field. What is impressive, as Daisy points out, is the MFC's contribution to allowing this to happen, and of course Daisy's superb leadership in driving that. And of course it's great speech because she rightly puts the MFC's pioneering in the women's games on an equal footing with our many other innovations :)

She just captained the Darebin Falcons to yet another premiership in the women's league.

Its a thread about Daisy.

Nothing to do with the MFC men's team.

And your contribution about Daisy is?

Yeah well, a noteworthy effort no doubt.. BUT

Does this gain us anything tangible in our quest to improve our performance in the AFL??

No?

Yeah, I know.. line up everyone have a go at the fence, but as most would be aware I ain't one for "Political Correctness" Hey Dazzle man you can be first to have a go!

and yet

Meanwhile..... the men's team continues to wallow.. 54 years I the wilderness!

Just sayin!

I will

Pi ss off mate this is a thread dedicated to Daisy for her achievment and incredible work for the clubs womans team. I have the utmost respect for her.

Got nothing better to say? Simply don't comment at all.

Your a sad old individual mate.

Does this gain us anything tangible in our quest to improve our performance in the AFL??

No?

Yeah, I know.. line up everyone have a go at the fence, but as most would be aware I ain't one for "Political Correctness" Hey Dazzle man you can be first to have a go!

and yet

Just sayin!

We don't need to do that, you're making a fool of yourself all on your own.

The speech from Daisy was a ripper though. The link between our club pioneering so many things was terrific and she really is a tremendous spokeswoman for women's footy. If she continues to play a part then it can only be a good thing for the code going forward.

• Author

No?

and yet

Just sayin!

This is a weird response to the OP???????

No?

and yet

Just sayin!

54? Might want to check your maths.

Picket's not very optimistic in case you hadn't noticed Chris. I reckon he chalked up the next few years of us not winning already.

Sorry Daisy. Great speech. Well done today also.

Edited by KingSlayer33

As I said "Noteworthy effort" Christ what else is there to say!

As I said "Political Correctness" reigns supreme!

Well done Daisy, in fact if truth be known I reckon you would get a game with the MFC!

Sheeit , how noteworthy would that be! Eh?

Happy all

[censored] of Dazzle you sanctimonious snail!

54a78a9754dec_-_cryinggifs_01_1.gif

You got what you deserve you sad individual

Loved it. Awesome footy player and awesome person to have involved with our club.

Edited by Jesus Hoganshaw

Well done Daisy, in fact if truth be known I reckon you would get a game with the MFC!

Happy all

Had a few beers tonight Wilson?

Well done Daisy, fine ambassador for the Women in footy!!

As I have said before very "Noteworthy"

• Author

Happy all

This is very strange. What the hell has my original post got to do with "political correctness"? It would seem that some people in our society are so threatened by women achieving things that they jump up and down when women do something really good and are rightly lauded for it. It's just plain weird, and I don't get it. The thread has been railroaded by a twisted agenda that I can't respect.

If you go back to the OP I was just really impressed by Daisy Pearce and you have managed to turn it in to some weird hangup about women. I'll say it again, it's WEIRD!!

Well done Daisy, fine ambassador for the Women in footy!!

As I have said before very "Noteworthy"

resized_backpedal-meme-generator-you-sho

Happy all

Why on earth is it suddenly political correctness when the best & fairest winner who happens to play for the MFC women's team is afforded a thread to celebrate her achievement? Bizarre.

Ok! Agree, great speech!

Why are we involved in this at all!?

Do Hawks?? Freo?? Adelaide Have an interest and have womens teams?? Nup!

So lets put ALL our energies into the MFC eh!

That's my point!

Sheeit I have lauded her for her achievements what more do you all want!

Daisy is the captain of the MFC.

Can't get much more MFC than that...

Ok! Agree, great speech!

Q !Why are we involved in this at all!?

Do Hawks?? Freo?? Adelaide Have an interest and have womens teams?? Nup!

Why not??

So lets put ALL our energies into the MFC eh!

That's my point!

Sheeit I have lauded her for her achievements what more do you all want!

Why not be involved, as Daisy points out we are responsible for various innovations in the game, why not this one.

Not sure what you mean by concentrating on the MFC, she is the captain of the MFC for crying out loud.

The AFL are also taking steps to build a women's league over the next few years, why not be involved and help drive this, or do the women not deserve it?

Cheezus......... 51 years since our last Grand Final Win!

I think we all deserve something just a tad more!

But,...!!?

Stop posting on Demonland.

Leave the poor silly bugger alone. You know as soon as he raised "political correctness" nothing sensible or even rational was coming. For those who love the game, a national women's competition is a great idea and the year of MFC's next premiership is an entirely different matter.