Posted

We should pick Fitzy to counter Brown & Petrie, but we won't, because we never pick sides to counter opposition threats.

So we'll go in undersized in defence & either Brown or Petrie will do a Daniher and kick whatever-straight to be the match winner.

Gawn will beat Goldie until the 20-minute mark in the 3rd quarter when he'll run out of puff. And when those two need a rest, Brown will smash Dawes and we'll get killed in the clearances.

And another game we could have won thrown away at the selection table.

We've been here before, many times.

Posted

Surely Fitzy comes in to counter Norf's tall forwards? He'd be good on Brown. Maybe Michie out. If Salem is ready he'd probably come in for Grimes. Having said that, I liked most of Grimes' game yesterday (apart from his usual clangers).

Cannot wait to see Frost next year. We need his speed and size coming out of the backline.

Posted

I reckon we have two options.

1. Jamar comes in with he and Gawn to alternate between ruck/forward and we back Garland in to do a job on Waite.

2. Fitzpatrick comes in to play on Brown and follows him everywhere including when he goes into the ruck to relieve Goldstein.

Option 1 I'd say Harmes probably makes way.

Option 2 I'd say Grimes.

Posted

T Mac on Petrie, Dunn on Brown

No need for Fitzy

You comfortable with Gawn rucking a full game v Goldstein? Gawn's been great, but even that's a challenge to far for mine and Dawes isn't strong enough back.

Posted

T Mac on Petrie, Dunn on Brown

No need for Fitzy

Who plays on Waite?

I'm not convinced bringing Fitzpatrick (or Jamar) in is a good thing for the balance of the side, but when I consider having to play Garland or Howe on Waite, I'm not sure I like that either.

Posted

You could play a potato on Waite and he'll still kick nothing. Genuine spud.

I'd be more concerned about Higgins, actually. He's shown some great form lately and is a genuine goal sneak if he's let loose out of the midfield. Not sure Crossy is a good fit for him, he's not that quick. Perhaps Viney?

I don't rate Swallow or Boomer, but I imagine Bernie will go to one of them. Maybe Vince can spend the week practicing his pinching techniques?

Posted

I'm in the "Grimes isn't very good" camp. Players who constantly fall over, lose their opponents, turn the ball over are just not up to it. Jack is obviously a ripper bloke, but he's been given plenty of chances (too many) so I can't see that there is any improvement left.

Posted

You could play a potato on Waite and he'll still kick nothing. Genuine spud.

I'd be more concerned about Higgins, actually. He's shown some great form lately and is a genuine goal sneak if he's let loose out of the midfield. Not sure Crossy is a good fit for him, he's not that quick. Perhaps Viney?

I don't rate Swallow or Boomer, but I imagine Bernie will go to one of them. Maybe Vince can spend the week practicing his pinching techniques?

I think Viney and Vince will take two out of Swallow, Dal Santo and Higgins - not sure which.

Posted (edited)

I like Grimes, and have no problems with him staying in the team, but it's clear there's deficiencies the coaches have given him to work on. He just needs to double his daily banana intake to get the equivalent of one eye fillet steak.

I think Viney and Vince will take two out of Swallow, Dal Santo and Higgins - not sure which.

Forgot about Dal Santo, wasn't impressed with him last week when he returned from injury. Didn't watch their match last night but was he any good?

Edited by Lamashtu

Posted

Fitzpatrick has to play on Brown. Perfect match up for height and pace. Can also back up ruck against him so Dawes doesn't get murdered when Gawn tires. Just give him the job and tell him he's playing for his career.

Might have to go super tall back there as Garland should play on Thomas and then Ziebell when he rests forward.

Dunn to Petrie. McDonald to Waite.

Posted

Just heard that Salem was named in the better players at Casey, so if he is deemed back to full match fitness must be considered.

If Fitz is ever to play again for a specific purpose (Brown) surely this is the week. Forget the tunnelball and remember his great job v Footscray.

Posted

Surely Fitzy comes in to counter Norf's tall forwards? He'd be good on Brown. Maybe Michie out. If Salem is ready he'd probably come in for Grimes. Having said that, I liked most of Grimes' game yesterday (apart from his usual clangers).

Cannot wait to see Frost next year. We need his speed and size coming out of the backline.

I wouldn't mind seeing a forwardline of Tommy Mac, Frost, Fitzy and Garland one day. That'd be a very tall and very mobile backline.

Posted

I wouldn't mind seeing a forwardline of Tommy Mac, Frost, Fitzy and Garland one day. That'd be a very tall and very mobile backline.

Backline? Tall yes. Mobile yes. But Garland better take about 50 intercept marks because the thought of the other 3 kicking it around the backline is scary.

I'm not sure Tommy Mc and Frost will be able to coexist due to lack of footskills, yet alone adding Fitzy in there.

Fitzy should be considered this week. But I think Garland will be a decent match up for Brown who gets a lot of his ball on hard leads. If we can push him outside 50 and use Gawn and Howe as aerial support deep then Garlo should do the job.

McDonald to Waite and Dunn to Petrie might be the other 2 match ups although as usual the more important thing is McDonald gets to roam at CHB whilst Dunn plays closer to goal.

Posted

I like grimes. I want him to make it as much as i want Trengove to make it back.

But his hesitation kills me. And kills our momentum.

So many times yesterday he had the ball and doesn't take the first option. He looked up, took a step and started to kick to an option but then pulled up, paused and took a couple more steps back before waiting and looking some more and eventually kicking long to a contest.

He needs to take the first option. Take the short easy option. No worries.

I'd rather us kick it 15 m forward out of the D50 so the long bomb passes centre than kick long from inside D50 which means there is a risk it'll come straight back in one kick.

He defends ok. He closes and punches very well. His disposal isn't horrible. But he needs to improve the decision making if he wants to continue at AFL.

Posted

North have a very tall forward line. We'll struggle to cover them all. Add to that their strength in the ruck and I think we need Fitz to come in. He's been very solid at Casey for quite a while.

I'm not really sure who would come out for him.

Posted

So many times yesterday he had the ball and doesn't take the first option. He looked up, took a step and started to kick to an option but then pulled up, paused and took a couple more steps back before waiting and looking some more and eventually kicking long to a contest.

He needs to take the first option. Take the short easy option. No worries.

He takes so long to release the footy that options leave as he prepares to move it.

I don't see it happening for him, his defence is good and he does chase and sheppard and hit the boundary with spoils - but he, unlike Lumumba, contributes to our inertia back there. I think those two are playing similar roles.

Posted

Just a heads up to the few calling for Grimes to be dropped, this is the thread for round 19, 2015 vs the Roos.

Grimes has been amongst our best players the last two weeks, let go of the bias.

Some of the same supporters were calling for Roos' head following last week's loss to the Saints.

A lot of opinions just blowin' in the breeze here.

Posted

Fitzpatrick has to play on Brown. Perfect match up for height and pace. Can also back up ruck against him so Dawes doesn't get murdered when Gawn tires. Just give him the job and tell him he's playing for his career.

It's not Roos' style to tell players they're playing for their career. 1) he's said as much, 2) it puts unnecessary pressure on the player, 3) uncontracted players would already be well aware that any game they play impacts their career prospects and 4) a good performance wouldn't guarantee another contract anyway.

Posted (edited)

He takes so long to release the footy that options leave as he prepares to move it.

I don't see it happening for him, his defence is good and he does chase and sheppard and hit the boundary with spoils - but he, unlike Lumumba, contributes to our inertia back there. I think those two are playing similar roles.

It should be so easy to fix though. A simple change "every time you get it, take the first option immediately, even if it is a short kick."

It is painful because you can see him identify the option, but then he hesitates.

Edited by deanox
Posted

Was anb good enough to stay? Im not convinced he has much