Posted

I have no idea why I wasted 7 hours from my valuable time on the weekend to watch that rabble.

I doubt it will be happening again. I'm sick of wasting my time and money. Unfortunately this club is dying a slow death and I can't bear to watch it.

Go on watch the replay.

Posted

I just want something fresh from Paul.......some simple honesty...no more sugary Roos-speak.

Just get angry Roos...we are. But while you're at it please explain why your lot can't kick can't tackle can't run can't spread can't think but seem quite capable of casing a cheque just like you.

The little I saw was laughably pathetic with only about 6 of our lot capable of effective AFL grade footy.

An ensemble cast of coaches and were SHlT !! Fair dinkum ...,why ?

Posted

Jones was expected to go to another level this year. He went through the motions even in big losses in past years. This year he has gone unsighted three weeks in a row. Well below his best and being found out as a decent footballer in a bad side.

People need to realize this.

We need more than Jones. He's just a soldier. He's the opposite extreme of Watts, but we have nothing in the middle. No balance.

Last year I said he was tradeable alongside a top pick for a powerful midfielder. Everyone laughed at me. He doesn't actually make us better.

I know it's harsh and I love Jones, but we need winners. He's a loser.

What a ridiculous post. Yeah he may not be an elite mid but he's certainly a starting mid in any teams 22. You want to trade out our only competent midfielder in a list of 40 players?

You need at least 14 players who can run through the middle and he's the only one we've got. He can't do it on his own, he was blanketed today by a hard tag - where was the chop out from his team mates? Every time the ball came to him at a stoppage he was tackles before he even had the ball - what can he do in that situation he's only one player. We lost by 105 points in case you didn't notice, I don't think that's on Jones.

Posted

That win against Richmond feels like a long time ago now.

Posted

I think it's pretty clear we need GWS/GCS style draft concessions which we'll never get, oh well , feel really bad for my son who I essentially forced into being a demon fan.

Posted

Jesse Hogan, I hope to God that you stick around for us but after today mate, I couldn't blame you if Fremantle called tonight and you discussed going home because there ain't much to look forward to where you are.

Posted

There are no words.

nice avatar

Am trying to find positives .... Lol

Posted

Anyone who says we didn't lack depth before the game should be rethinking it after that game.

I'm not even that [censored] off. We have a C grade midfield, with older blokes that make error after error and Hawthorn will punish you like no other. Our older blokes won't run hard enough to give their team mates an option and our younger blokes (who are showing the way with their cleaner, more effective disposal and attack on the ball) don't currently have the fitness base to run out games. Tyson (clearly carrying an injury) got a lot more of it in the last and we looked a bit better. I noticed someone said in the game day thread that we need Jones and Tyson firing and it sounds obvious, but when they're not on song, we just have too many of those aforementioned holes.

Posted

Disgusting. Embarrassing. Pathetic. Gut wrenching. Unacceptable. Insert any other word depicting disgust/shame and/or sadness

Incompetent

bungling

heartless

soulless

gutless

incapable

unskilled

weak

insipid

spiritless

feeble

characterless

vapid

submissive

fainthearted

chicken hearted

lily-livered

pusillanimous

cowardly

useless

Posted

I think it's pretty clear we need GWS/GCS style draft concessions which we'll never get, oh well , feel really bad for my son who I essentially forced into being a demon fan.

We essentially had that but used them on players like Morton, Watts, Maric, Cook, Gysberts, Toumpas, Blease, Strauss, Tapscott and Trengove.

Posted (edited)

It's very, very bad BUT instead of wallowing in complete anger, sadness and hyperbole, let's not forget three very important points:

1 - Inc. Salem we had NINE players out of the side today. That is going to hurt any side badly. This point cannot be pushed aside.

2 - We have actually performed well in 3 of our 7 games this year. Don't let that be stricken from the record.

3 - Over the last 3 weeks, we have averaged 78 games experience per player vs our opponents averaging 121. That's 946 total games of extra experience our opponents have. It is no coincidence that these are the top 3 sides (or just about). If you did this analysis for the whole comp you would find a very close reflection of the ladder vs weekly-22-average-games. This is how it works.

The miserable part about it is that we cannot as a club get the point where we are fielding sides with 120 games experience per player, because we keep delisting dead wood after a few years of non-performance and replacing them with kids. Grimes and Watts are the latest. Then those new kids end up being the dead wood themselves. Of course we are all hoping that this regime will produce a group of players that will actually get the 120 mark and be consistent contributors but at present there is little evidence of it.

Edited by Curry & Beer

Posted (edited)

Are Tyson and NJones carrying injuries?

If Tyson isnt then he has competely fallen apart. Slow and cant kick. A shadow of last year.

Edited by DSP
Posted (edited)

Hawks have monstered us physically and mentally for a decade now. I expected a bad loss account injuries and a complete lack of depth, but 60 points not 105.

Bellwether team for us. When we are (if ever) competitive against them, we will have turned the corner.

Seems ironic after the failed merger.

Please delist: M Jones, Bail, and Spencer.

With a few exceptions: T Mac, Garlett and Pedersen. Could the senior players show some heart or........

Edited by Deevout

Posted

how are we this bad? where is our young but promising or even emerging midfield? oh to be a bulldogs or saints supporter right now.

My post of the other day "Flankers paradise" sums up why we have no emerging midfield. We barely drafted or developed a single midfielders besides Jack Viney, since Nathan Jones came to the club in 2006

Posted

Spencer was decent today. He needs to inprove his hit outs, but a ruckman is measured by a lot more than that these days.

Posted

10 plus blokes with under 30 games experience vs last years premiers

It's not a huge surprise really

Posted

Can we all agree that there should be a moratorium on letting AFL players and coaches get away with saying 'it's a very even competition'.

This game proves it's not, and it hasn't been for 5-6 years.

We won't be able to attract free agents. It's simple. Who would choose to come to us? Byrnes, Cross, Vince and H prove that only players without other options will. Meanwhile a player in our top 3 walks to a club like Hawthorn.

The answer is simple. Draft concessions.

It's about access to talent.

Sorry mate, but disagree. Our issues have nothing whatsoever to do with talent. Our skills look shocking because our players are lazy, do everything at less than 100% intensity and in a generally insipid fashion and hence are always under pressure. Opposition sides look great against us because they benefit from that laziness and lack of intensity when they get the ball.

We even manage to get out tackled every week even though we are chasing tail most of the time.

Give us the first 10 picks in each of the next 3 drafts and we will still never be competitive because MFC people think it will just happen and there is no need for sacrifices along the way.

No wonder a former MFC player recently told me that when he changed clubs late in his career (this was before we hit our complete rock bottom) that his new team-mates ridiculed him that they don't count games or goals in matches played for or against the MFC in career totals because the MFC play with no heart and don't make you earn it.

Posted (edited)

The concern is the number of players that have gone backwards.

Dunne

Vince

Tyson

Jones

Howe

Jamar

Watts

Edited by dee-tox
Posted

It's very, very bad BUT instead of wallowing in complete anger, sadness and hyperbole, let's not forget three very important points:

1 - Inc. Salem we had NINE players out of the side today. That is going to hurt any side badly. This point cannot be pushed aside.

2 - We have actually performed well in 3 of our 7 games this year. Don't let that be stricken from the record.

2 - Over the last 3 weeks, we have averaged 78 games experience per player vs our opponents averaging 121. That's 946 total games of extra experience our opponents have. It is no coincidence that these are the top 3 sides (or just about). If you did this analysis for the whole comp you would find a very close reflection of the ladder vs weekly-22-average-games. This is how it works.

The miserable part about it is that we cannot as a club get the point where we are fielding sides with 120 games experience per player, because we keep delisting dead wood after a few years of non-performance and replacing them with kids. Grimes and Watts are the latest. Then those new kids end up being the dead wood themselves. Of course we are all hoping that this regime will produce a group of players that will actually get the 120 mark and be consistent contributors but at present there is little evidence of it.

Let's also remember this Hawthorn team did not have Hodge, Lewis, Lake and couple of others...

Posted

10 plus blokes with under 30 games experience vs last years premiers

It's not a huge surprise really

Plus a couple of blokes who are simply not best 22/AFL standard.