Melbourne v Western Bulldogs @ Eureka Stadium Ballarat - 14th March, 2015

Don't let the score fool you, Melbourne's ball use and decision making has been terrible.

This Bulldogs team is simply far worse.

For gods sake. Either you're having a good ol fashioned troll or you're never going to be happy mate, talk about glass half empty.

We're flogging a team for the first time in god knows how long and you immediately focus on a negative (a negative that doesn't even exist from my point of view, I think we've look very solid).

Cheer up pal, enjoy the game for once.

220 possessions to 109

25 inside 50's to 12

Salem, Jones and Garland our three best players...

Hoping that the boys will come out after half time, into the breeze, and just repeat the pressure approach they used in the first quarter.

Much easier to play loose and attacking in the second quarter with a bit of wind and some confidence.

Are Mackenzie and VDB playing. Stats are ridiculously low.

Vandenburg got his head split open early.

McKenzie not getting a touch is why we're winning well.

Saw both of them earlier, Jordie pressured a bloke over the line and VDB in a threeway (so to speak) collision with a couple of dogs that came off second best.

Edit maybe the dogs were better off...

Salem:14

Toumpas:12

Viney:11

Good signs

vandenBurg went off with a cut head in the first 5 minutes

Who are the Dogs missing besides Libba, Boyd and a decrepit Murphy?

Its not like we don't have anyone out - Howe, Vince and Petracca for starters

Decrepit? What nonsense. Still playing excellent footy.

Their outs are extensive - Macrae, Dalhaus, Wallis etc. They are severely understrength.

220 possessions to 109

25 inside 50's to 12

A carbon copy of what teams were doing against us in the Neeld area

Mckenzie playing a lock down defender role, doesn't seem to be anywhere near the ball. VDB got a cut early and came off, reckon we'll see him subbed at the half.

Watching in Canada. Will stay up for this.

Ball movement has been good and this will be a confidence boost for the boys.

Garland is showing a return to form.

The toump will press for a spot.

Salem a gem off half back.

And what about frost he is a great pick up.

I am loving the commentary it's so bad it's engaging a bit like demonland at times.

Mckenzie playing a lock down defender role, doesn't seem to be anywhere near the ball. VDB got a cut early and came off, reckon we'll see him subbed at the half.

That'll give Watts some time to shine....

Someone said to me during the week that MFC supporters are the biggest bunch of whiners in the AFL. Hard to dispute with some of the comments in this thread. Nate, Tyson, Grimes, Salem, Jetta, Toumpas are running and using the ball well. Our forward set up looks well balanced and dare I say it dangerous with JKH and Jeffy at the big fellas feet. You can only beat what's in front of you. Hoping we put our foot down on their throat in the second half.

Our kicking is at a much better standard than last year, I know it's a different game with this sort of pressure but it's still promising. We dominated the possession for much of last preseason so the fact that we're controlling the ball is no surprise. Shame Vandenberg only has one handball after his good performance last week

Someone said to me during the week that MFC supporters are the biggest bunch of whiners in the AFL. Hard to dispute with some of the comments in this thread. Nate, Tyson, Grimes, Salem, Jetta, Toumpas are running and using the ball well. Our forward set up looks well balanced and dare I say it dangerous with JKH and Jeffy at the big fellas feet. You can only beat what's in front of you. Hoping we put our foot down on their throat in the second half.

really? that's a load of crap

Who are the Dogs missing besides Libba, Boyd and a decrepit Murphy?

Its not like we don't have anyone out - Howe, Vince and Petracca for starters

I don't know the dogs well enough to spot the gaps, but they lost a bunch of experience over the trade period. A Doggie fan mate said that Jones has more games than the entire Doggies side minus Minson. Commentary said they were playing seven draftees.

VDB threw himself into t dog sandwitch and won the ball for us. I don't think he's been back. McKenzie I've seen a few times getting in the way and knocking the ball away from his opponent. I think he's playing as a full on tagger, but can't be sure.

Amen.

Stop your whinging people. Winning is winning.

Looks like watts on for Newton

I got some stats coming through before I could get the stream on the MFC website.

Was thinking there must be an error, with all the ridiculously high disposal efficiency numbers. Especially after all the talk about the wind.

Anyway, got to be pretty happy with that half, as much as the opposition wasn't particularly menacing.

Seems like just about every player delivered according to the 'realistic, positive pre-season result' script in the first half.

I'll be looking for a few special flashes in the second half to give the media something to use as a 'hook' for their articles, but other than that, carry on gentlemen.

even though it is just a scratch match it can still do wonders for some confidence that certain players definitely need