View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Match Day Experience - time to lift our game

They get all these failed ideas from watching the Yanks.

We are not as stupid or easily pleased with the tizzy hype that yanks love.

Stick your ads,tell Russell to go home ,let us talk about how disgusting the umpiring is and drink our $7.60 pot in a plastic cup.

The music/ads ,fake hype is so alienating I want to leave,not stay.

Bring back public executions at half time I say.

Start off by culling the marketing/advertising execs.

Surely we can find something better for Robbo to do than spruik for our sponsors in each break. Howie's Hangers is okay, but the other rubbish is just embarrassing. Were there actually any Melbourne supporters sitting in the bay that won the Demon Shop vouchers?

Just a noisy, intrusive ad for an end-of-season clearance sale. Megalo, Megalo, Megalo!

Stick your ads,tell Russell to go home ,let us talk about how disgusting the umpiring is and drink our $7.60 pot in a plastic cup.

absolutely Biff, could not agree more.

Does anyone go to the game to just watch the footy and not flashing lights and kitsch music?

If fireworks and flashy crap is what gets you to the footy, you need to find a new sport.

It is often asked if anyone at the club or at the AFL ever read these threads.

I bloody well hope they do and learn that many, possibly a majority of supporters just cannot stand this crap.

It does NOT enhance the "match day experience"!

AFL - enhanced match day experience would involve fast moving, uncongested competitive footy between teams that have at least an outside chance of winning and advancing up the ladder sometime. I realize that you have allowed to game to become a boring rugby maul / scrum with little prospect of some clubs becoming genuinely competitive in the foreseeable future.....address this and shut the hell up on the PA system unless there is a fire or need for urgent evacuation!!

I am sure that is what the fans want as "enhanced match day experience"!

Give me a good game to watch, and an opportunity to talk with people - that is my idea of an enhanced match day experience. (OMG why do we have to put up with that corporate jargon?)

I went up to level 4 of the southern stand yesterday for the first time in years just to get a different perspective.Seeing the electronic advertising from up there was a distracting hypnotic mindf**k.I only lasted one quarter and will never go up there again.

I also found the flashing banners distracting yesterday during gameplay. It's far worse then the rolling canvas (I think?) they used to have.

Although I have to say I did like the occasional "hot updates" they put up. There weren't too many of them, and since the background is black on the updated and text is white, it's not too distracting.

Also though pre-game is was ok, with the eyes of some players and coaches next to our logos and stuff.

For a better match-day experience I'd love for them to remove all gambling advertising of ANY KIND at the ground, including any odds. People who want to gamble can check odds on their phones.

Also remove Fev. WTF.

Were there actually any Melbourne supporters sitting in the bay that won the Demon Shop vouchers?

The winning bay was one of the Premium Members' bays on level 2.

Agree, although I reckon AC/DCs Hell Aint a Bad Place to Be would go down very well too!

good point, forgot about that! a number of ACDC songs would fit the bill

Enter Sandman is the greatest riff of all time, there are no GOOD songs that reference "demons" so this is the best alternative Have you read the lyrics? Sums up what a demon should do, strike fear into others (hence its relevence to the club). Its a [censored] great tune and shits all over the suggestions others have made here

Best riff ever????

It's a very very average so g by a band on the verge of committing suicide which they did one album later.

Best riff ever????

It's a very very average so g by a band on the verge of committing suicide which they did one album later.

I was angry when I wrote this so I take back "best riff ever" (still the best of the 90s with 'Alive' and 'Teen Spirit').

And I wouldnt call a song that made them one of the biggest bands ever "average", it deserves all the fuss it gets.

Their first four albums are cracking then James tried to sing, Lars cared more about buying paintings than trying to drum and they went for commercial dollars. That song does not even rate with masters, ride, for whom, phantom lord, dyers eve, blackened etc etc etc

Metallica died after four albums.

Edited by Gorgoroth

Their first four albums are cracking then James tried to sing, Lars cared more about buying paintings than trying to drum and they went for commercial dollars. That song does not even rate with masters, ride, for whom, phantom lord, dyers eve, blackened etc etc etc

Still 4 more than most other bands. Plus, I'm not saying I rate the black album in comparison to the first 4 but its undeniable that Sandman has all the elements of a riff that people (apart from hipsters/music snobs) love, hence why it is a great riff.

Spot on Biffen. I'll add another - parking at the ground. Took my daughter to the game and decided to drive in. I'm not sure whether it was a work for the dole scheme but you couldn't invent the attendants who greeted us. Out of the eight I spied, three appeared to be texting and the other five were obsessed with pointing the one driver in different directions. When the bloke next to me parked in the wrong spot he was screamed at for half a minute by what I can only imagine was the chief attendant. He was a very important man. Of course, we were left to our own devices after the game. Only took 40 minutes to get to the Punt Road exit. Thoroughly enjoyable.

On that theme: I'd love to see Essendrug run out one day to 'Leper Messiah'.

Still 4 more than most other bands. Plus, I'm not saying I rate the black album in comparison to the first 4 but its undeniable that Sandman has all the elements of a riff that people (apart from hipsters/music snobs) love, hence why it is a great riff.

high-fidelity-beta-band-3.jpg

Maybe we should just go with The Beta Band...

Edited by 13thFlagIsComing

Surely we can find something better for Robbo to do than spruik for our sponsors in each break. Howie's Hangers is okay, but the other rubbish is just embarrassing. Were there actually any Melbourne supporters sitting in the bay that won the Demon Shop vouchers?

Yes, I got a couple of them. Had to use them at the Demon Shop on the same day.

I'd rather hear Slayer than Metallica.

How about pole dancers and circus animals like elephants and monkeys parading around the boundary?

YES , that Arden Street jumbo taking off in a panic made sensational viewing .

As voted for by Demonland. Jason Taylor would be kept busy.

Spot on Biffen. I'll add another - parking at the ground. Took my daughter to the game and decided to drive in. I'm not sure whether it was a work for the dole scheme but you couldn't invent the attendants who greeted us. Out of the eight I spied, three appeared to be texting and the other five were obsessed with pointing the one driver in different directions. When the bloke next to me parked in the wrong spot he was screamed at for half a minute by what I can only imagine was the chief attendant. He was a very important man. Of course, we were left to our own devices after the game. Only took 40 minutes to get to the Punt Road exit. Thoroughly enjoyable.

40 minutes?!?!

Surely not. I get out of the car park quicker after 90k+ prelims

40 minutes?!?!

If I'm in a spot where I can sneak out of Gate 4 (exit only) It's pretty smooth run through East Melbourne. Anything dealing with Wellington Pde or Punt Rd is a disaster. I've noticed they only have cops directing traffic on Wellington Pde the last couple of years, they used to be at all exits making the exit much swifter. (I'd drive / catch PT 5-50)

I'd rather hear Slayer than Metallica.

We should run out to Raining blood \m/

R.I.P Jeff Hanemann

40 minutes?!?!

I kid you not MC, ok 35 mins, but it was shite.

If I'm in a spot where I can sneak out of Gate 4 (exit only) It's pretty smooth run through East Melbourne. Anything dealing with Wellington Pde or Punt Rd is a disaster. I've noticed they only have cops directing traffic on Wellington Pde the last couple of years, they used to be at all exits making the exit much swifter. (I'd drive / catch PT 5-50)

Was right in that Wellington Rd mix RD. Lesson learnt.

Edited by Return to Glory

The most interesting thing about the AFL wishing to improve the matchday experience at the ground is the implied admission that not only has the AFL forgotten about the fans but that the television networks have not delivered benefits to the AFL beyond the admittedly valuable cash provided. It's not beyond a reasonable expectation from the AFL that TV rights holders should be doing their bit to improve the TV viewing experience in order to encourage more people to experience the game live. Channel 7 has clearly failed in that regard.