Posted

I think that halfway through last year AFL management saw that without help to get back on its feet MFC would collapse. Essentially, they took us over - put in PJ, helped him recruit Roos, gave us Pick 3 for Frawley. Now we're on our own - financially sound, a good and developing list, a growing membership. I'm brimming with off-season optimism.

Posted (edited)

Putting aside the profit for this year, the fact that we're in the black at all is a minor miracle (all things considered)

We're well set up for the future if we can start having winning seasons. We'd have ongoing debts like every other club but those debts are generally accounted for with our revenue streams and cash flow ... our 2 pokies venues being 2 of our main contributors with regards to that revenue.

The 1.4 million grant that we received from the AFL during the 2013 season probably wasn't needed in all reality ... the fact that GWS & GCS are receiving hundreds of millions of dollars on an ongoing basis makes our 1.4 million grant look like chicken feed.

Those who believe that we're on a drip feed from the AFL are delusional... we're standing on our own 2 feet and have done for our entire existence. The perception doesn't match the reality of the situation.

People here may like to read our annual report when it's released. It's an easier document to read than one might think (if you know what parts of it are the most important)

Posted

Well done PJ....a man who knows how to be a top CEO unlike the previous one who merely thought he did.

I'm starting to get the impression that you weren't a CS fan ;-)

Posted

Well done PJ....a man who knows how to be a top CEO unlike the previous one who merely thought he did.

is

wasn't

...agree with you 'wyl'

Posted

I would not jump up for joy over the financial report for the MFC.

As there appears to be some very concerning issues in the Statement of Financial Position.

I will need to read the report before I can comment further, but from a quick look I am very concerned.

Posted

I would not jump up for joy over the financial report for the MFC.

As there appears to be some very concerning issues in the Statement of Financial Position.

I will need to read the report before I can comment further, but from a quick look I am very concerned.

I'd be more concerned about having to wear a face mask for the rest of your life to be able to breathe, I suppose it did change your voice from a whinny little white boy into a cool Afro American.

Posted

Well from my (layman's) perspective, I reckon it's a bloody outstanding effort from all concerned ..... and there are two things that fill me with confidence for the future:

1. I'm sure that those in charge will not be resting on their laurels, not for a moment; and
  2. I believe we are about to turn a significant corner as a football team, and that structures are being put in place to ensure that improvements in this area will be sustained (ie. no more bottoming-out). On-field success will increase exposure, and with it will come increased revenue through memberships, home-ground crowds and sponsorships etc.

We may never become one of the so-called 'power clubs', but I reckon we will soon be moving out of the football 'slums' and towards the upper-middle class. Given where we have come from, I'll be satisfied with that, for a while at least. I'm loving what I'm seeing from my footy club right now.

Posted

Putting aside the profit for this year, the fact that we're in the black at all is a minor miracle (all things considered)

We're well set up for the future if we can start having winning seasons. We'd have ongoing debts like every other club but those debts are easily accounted for with our revenue streams and cash flow ... our 2 pokies venues being main contributors.

The 1.4 million grant that we received from the AFL during the 2013 season probably wasn't needed in all reality ... the fact that GWS & GCS are receiving hundreds of millions of dollars on an ongoing basis makes our 1.4 million grant look like chicken feed.

Those who believe that we're on a drip feed from the AFL are delusion ... we're standing on our own 2 feet and have done for our entire existence. The perception doesn't match the reality of the situation.

People here should read our annual report when it's released.

Please feel free to summarise it when it comes out. Would be great.

What I'm concerned about is:

- Inability to match footy department spending, which I believe was a huge factor behind what has happened to our team since 2007

- Selling home games

- Ability for future growth

To make a profit whilst investing as much in our footy department as we did this year, especially the big investment in Roos, is a great sign. The footy department tax is also a way to ensure that the competition doesn't completely leave us behind as I feel it did in the mid/late 2000's.

Selling home games is probably a necessary evil right now. They allow us to invest the money back in to the footy department. I am slightly concerned about how long we should do this for.

How big and passionate the fan base is and what that means for us financially in the future as well as the power big crowds and membership seems to bring clubs is very hard to tell. And besides from winning games it's hard to know what strategies are the best to grow the club. I'm just hoping we start winning soon and then at least we can see if the support grows as I hope it does.

Posted

A great result and with our pokies venues soon to be realising actual profits the future looks bright....and now to win some games of football!

Posted

Given the shite we have produced onfield that is a fantastic result.

Hiram Abiff??? You are really delving back into history for that one BBO, only 3000 years! No-one to look up to in the present?

Posted

Please feel free to summarise it when it comes out. Would be great. .

I won't be doing anything like that - are you joking?

I might post up the link to the annual report so people like yourself can read it for yourself.

Will that do?

Posted

I won't be doing anything like that - are you joking?

I might post up the link to the annual report so people like yourself can read it for yourself.

Will that do?

Thanks but would prefer to watch grass grow!

Posted

Remarkable achievement by PJ and his team.

Vlad has his (deserved) critics but he deserves credit for persuading Peter Jackson to step in.

What a relief it is to not hear any news or rumours about off-field dramas or crises either during the season proper or during the off-season.

Can we dare to dream that we will in future be respected as a Club?

Congratulations to Glenn Bartlett, Peter Jackson and the Club administration.

Posted

Thanks but would prefer to watch grass grow!

ha ha

ya know, reading the annual report is a lot easier than one might think DE

Let's face it ... people here spend hundreds of hours reading thousands of posts - and many of those posts weren't worth reading were they? Including a number of mine - this one as well ...

Posted

... and besides that Demoneyes ... don't you watch grass grow all the time?

you play a lot of golf - yeah?