AFL National Draft 2014 Picks 2 & 3

I never knew that being a self assured and confident young man meant you are arrogant.

I have no idea where this arrogance [censored] comes from when talking about Petracca. He has one of the more professional attitudes I've seen of this draft.

Comparisons with Sylvia? Give me a [censored] break.

lol... I agree...

I'd actually prefer to pick a self assured, confident and somewhat arrogant player with a high pick, then a highly skilled introverted kid lacking in confidence, In fact I'd be slightly worried if he wasn't arrogant... Some of the games biggest champions are arrogant tools and it would almost be impossible to get that good and not be arrogant...

Edited by AODees

He had faith in danger. A mate of mind caught up with rendell about a year ago and he had some fascinating opinions.

Our club needs arrogance. It needs grunt. It needs confidence. It needs talent. It need above all else onfield leadership.

therefore we will take Petracca and Brayshaw if saints take McMartin and if they take Petracca we may take Brayshaw and either Lever or Laverde.

ive been told we really rate Lever.

for the reasons stated above the Wrights and Picketts wont be on our radar.

I agree with most what Rendell does. liked him as a player & as recruiter.

... disagree about the arrogance but would term it as absolute confidence.... we need to lose the controlling conservativeness which IMO stifles Us. we need more 'take it on', 'ave a go' aggression; in all areas, inc' board level, where we have sat on our hands too often missing opportunities to grow.

E'd has taken those opportunities where we've let them wither.

I sense this may be changing? proof will be tasting the pudding.

I'm glad to hear your thoughts on our potential draftees.

MY MAIL:

Heard this from a very good friend of mine whose client has been told several times by Mcartin's brother (who his client is friends with) that St. Kilda have assured Paddy that they will be taking him Pick 1. This client of his has been told on more than one occasion by Paddy's brother, that this is what St. Kilda has said.

Whether this is still the case after all the media hype etc. on Petracca, who knows.

No riddles, no definite truth. Just what i was told. Take it as you will.

Unfortunately as we know you can guarantee a kid (Sloane for example) that you will take him and then you don't but thanks for the mail, it is interesting.

lol... I agree...

I'd actually prefer to pick a self assured, confident and somewhat arrogant player with a high pick, then a highly skilled introverted kid lacking in confidence, In fact I'd be slightly worried if he wasn't arrogant... Some of the games biggest champions are arrogant tools and it would almost be impossible to get that good and not be arrogant...

no more choir boys?

MY MAIL:

Heard this from a very good friend of mine whose client has been told several times by Mcartin's brother (who his client is friends with) that St. Kilda have assured Paddy that they will be taking him Pick 1. This client of his has been told on more than one occasion by Paddy's brother, that this is what St. Kilda has said.

Whether this is still the case after all the media hype etc. on Petracca, who knows.

WHHOOO, does that mean we might be getting Petracca? cool, now i can actually be stuffed watching his interview on afl.com.au

MY MAIL:

That would be a great if true.

If the Saints take McCartin, then taking Petracca & Wright would be the way to go for me - Wright is going to become such as valuable and dangerous player in the years to come and way too good to pass up.

Who has the body to dive straight in? I don't want to wait for some skinny kid to maybe put enough bulk on to play against hard bodied men and it cannot compromise his skills either.

I swear it will be the end of me AFL watching days if we screw this up AGAIN.

For anyone who is concerned with Petracca not being able to match it against men as heavy and as thick as him at AFL level, remind yourselves of what Ollie Wines has been able to achieve in his first two years at Port.

They're almost identical in body shape. And they both play hard, contested footy.

Petracca and Brayshaw are the players we need.

Lever if Petracca isn't available.

The saints need a forward to replace Roo, ideally they'd have a 2 year transition period playing together.

Next years draft is reportedly full of good mids, so this may just work nicely for us.

If Petracca is pick 1

I hope we get:

Pick 2 Brayshaw

Pick 3 Laverde

Pick 40 Lukas Webb

Pick 53 Caleb Daniel

Petrecca then lever or Bradshaw at 3 would make my day

I agree with this.

Like Drafting Cook is that left field enough

Petrecca then lever or Bradshaw at 3 would make my day

Personally i would prefer petracca over petrecca at 2 and brayshaw over Bradshaw and lever at 3.

I would prefer a rejuvenated Bradshaw FF, over all of them

My apologies I was on my iPhone.

Midfielders please, preferably someone better than Matt Jones, Sam Blease, or Jordie McKenzie.

Brayshaw a lock and not sure who else. Petracca I'm not sold on for some reason, reckon he will be found out at AFL level playing with men.

Brayshaw and Lever I would guess

No.2. Brayshaw.

No.3. Wright or Petracca

Personally I would prefer Petracca over petracca over petrecca at 2 and Brayshaw over brayshaw over Bradshaw and lever at 3.

But what about Lever?

C'mon lads, if the Saints do take Mcartin at 1 then you will be able to hear there is zero chance of us not grabbing Petracca & Brayshaw. Roos has stated that he is not keen on KPP in the draft and that we need midfielders.IMO we will only get one of these 2 but would love them both !!

If if #1. McCartin

Follow the hype:#2 Petracca #3 Brayshaw

Little left field:#2Brayshaw #3Lever

Way left field:#2Nakia Cockatoo #3Caleb Daniel

I think any combination of the above could pay off however Caleb Daniel will prob still be available at one of our later picks.

Going to be really spewing that we bit.ched out with pick#23 if Cockatoo slides

If if #1. McCartin

Follow the hype:#2 Petracca #3 Brayshaw

Little left field:#2Brayshaw #3Lever

Way left field:#2Nakia Cockatoo #3Caleb Daniel

I think any combination of the above could pay off however Caleb Daniel will prob still be available at one of our later picks.

Going to be really spewing that we bit.ched out with pick#23 if Cockatoo slides

Given the evenness of rest the draft pool, I’m thinking more and more that Cockatoo goes before 23.

He makes too much sense for a number of clubs in the 12-20 range, and there’s been some chatter that clubs inside the 10 (lower half) are seriously considering him.

C'mon lads, if the Saints do take Mcartin at 1 then you will be able to hear there is zero chance of us not grabbing Petracca & Brayshaw. Roos has stated that he is not keen on KPP in the draft and that we need midfielders.IMO we will only get one of these 2 but would love them both !!

I agree with most of this although I think roos comments were he wasn't keen on key forwards and explained why. I don't think his comments were about key backs, as in his view they actually have the hardest task. They have to perform 1v1 with the delivery going to their direct opponent without a zone to impact delivery.

Roos will want the List Mangers to work to the idea of minimising the 'lotto" effect of the draft.

So it will read:

( X ( being draft opportunities ) x Y ( being team needs ) x Z ( qualifying and quantifying values ) ) / W ( who's available ) = Players selected

probably end up with Zig and Zag .. which will put us Streets ahead !! :)