WELCOME TO THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB - CHRISTIAN PETRACCA

Make that 3. 2012 draft wasn't too shabby either.

Hogan

Toumpas (Still think he is going to be a gun. You don't lose the skills you came in with. You just battle injuries, bad coaching, loss of confidence. Roosy will fix him)

Dawes

Pedersen (Who would have thought. I admit I was having fits over this choice)

Jack Viney

Dean Kent (Starting to look like he's going to be a really good player)

Matt Jones ( Has done his job until decent players arrived. Don't see him getting a great deal of game time anymore)

The rest including Terlich were junk picks so didn't cost anything to go in and to go out.

One thing I see in Jimmy Toumpas is his passion and drive.

Toumpas is hard on himself - and probably to a fault.

But I don't think Toumpas will let these next batch of kids overtake him.

I reckon these young kids in Petracca and Brayshaw will bring the best out of Toumpas.

Toumpas is competitive, I see it in him, that competitiveness just hasn't quite transferred over to the field - but I think it will.

To my eye, Toumpas looks like he has no core - absolutely none. I would be worried about this if he hadn't had crook hips - and had a fair run at things, but he hasn't had a fair run.

Given an injury free pre-season I agree with you, I think Toumpas will be a gun.

One thing I see in Jimmy Toumpas is his passion and drive.

Toumpas is hard on himself - and probably to a fault.

But I don't think Toumpas will let these next batch of kids overtake him.

I reckon these young kids in Petracca and Brayshaw will bring the best out of Toumpas.

Toumpas is competitive, I see it in him, that competitiveness just hasn't quite transferred over to the field - but I think it will.

To my eye, Toumpas looks like he has no core - absolutely none. I would be worried about this if he hadn't had crook hips - and had a fair run at things, but he hasn't had a fair run.

Given an injury free pre-season I agree with you, I think Toumpas will be a gun.

He just wasn't moving freely last season. You could see he was clearly labouring when he was running. IF that is rectified, and reports are suggesting that it might be, then we could be seeing a very different player from here onwards, but time will tell.

Petracca with his Italian background joins a few others with Italian flavour. Some were not too bad on the footy field like Ron Barassi, Guy Rigoni and Andrew Leoncelli. There were also lesser lights like Wayne Delmenico and Frank Giampaolo. Also, we now have two Christians playing for the DEMONS which may help our cause.

Yeah, that is possible... But, Brayshaw has a FAR superior inside game to both Scully and Trengove - and Brayshaw compares well with Martin/Wines, who have transitioned very well into the AFL. Brayshaw does all the 1% plays, he tackles, gathers, crashes, bashes, he is a go-getter - and a dual sided player. IMO Brayshaw is an even safer bet than Jack Viney was.

Petracca is more likely to bust than Brayshaw - but also has a higher ceiling. But even drawing comparisons between Petracca and Scully/Trengove, I'd say that Petracca is no doubt the better athlete - and one of the better athletes to comes through since Dangerfield - and also Petracca is physically stronger than Scully/Trengove, arguably better on the inside than both, and stronger in nearly all areas. Trengove was definately classier than Petracca, and hit more targets, looked more silkier - but Petracca is FAR more damaging on the scoreboard than either Scully or Trengove was. In watching a fair amount of Scully pre-draft, a little bit of Trengove and Petracca, I'd say that Petracca is more dominant than Scully/Trengove.

One thing that stood out in Petraccas highlights is his confidence and absolute dominance on the field.

Comparing Scully to Petracca as a 18 year olds, the only thing i'd give to Scully is cleaner hands in close, better handballer, and endurance.

Petracca is clearly the better athlete. Is Bigger, stronger, more aggressive. Is a much better mark, kick, and tackler. He is able to hurt teams offensively on the inside as well as the outside and kick goals much better then Scully was.

As a 18 year old due to his good hands in close and the smaller bodies he was playing against, Scully was probably as dominant on the inside as Petracca, but due to his small size it's not a dominant skill as transferable as Petracca's . Petracca's a likable kid and team mates seem to like him, unlike Scully

Winner Petracca

I'd Rate coming out Trengove and Brayshaw pretty similar, Both as a 18 year old are pretty similar athletically,good speed on first few steps, average top speed though Brayshaw would be quicker, though Trengove would have him on endurance.

Brayshaw is clearly better inside player, with better strength and size, Though Trengove would be the better outside player and is a better kick on his prefered foot, brayshaw would have him on his non prefered. Both showed the ability to kick a goal, Trengove would of been the better mark and better forward. Both showed aggression and willing to tackle, though due to size and strength, Brayshaw would have Trengove on that. Both really good leaders and natural Footballers. As a 18 year old i don't think there was much between the 2 and Can't split them.

TIE

Going on the prospects they were when drafted i'd have to give it to Brayshaw/Petracca over Scully/Trengove, 1 1/2 points to 1

Edited by mog

And Brayshaw is a big frame upon which to build muscle. Potential is an overused and debased word. What is the base? Whatever you want is yours if you want it enough. Well NO.

Where you start has to give you a substantial advantage.

Our drafting this year has given us young men that start with physical ability, the gift, and bring the determination. the critical element.

May they prosper.

What an absolute belter of an interview. These guys just rolled off each other looked genuine excited to be together and playing for the Melbourne Football Club. Lot of laughing and banter between em just love it. Thats what footys all about.

Compare it to the dull and snooze fest interviews Scully and Trengove gave together couple of years ago.

I could see them both getting the microphone right after the siren after being BOG in a win

The other reasons are obvious. They'll be developed appropriately. They'll be playing in a deeper and more competitive midfield. Under the tutelage of competent and driven leaders. The list goes on.

I'm in the "wait and see" camp on this - but the points you make are pivotal. Get them right and we will have very good footballers on our hands. I am excited because it appears to me we have the structures in place to make this happen.

I wanted so badly not to get my hopes up this pre-season, but that interview with Brayshaw and Petracca has put a smile on my face that isn't going to fade for days.

I can't believe how happy they both are, so positive.

I suppose it will also help to keep the young group together through free agency if they have attitudes like that.

Petracca could play the role Ablett plays for GC. If CP turns out to have half the skills Gazza has I'll be happy.

Is that the "win games off his own bat and just about snare a Brownlow when playing 2/3 of the season" role?

Yes, yes, I think he'd be perfectly suited to that role.

Is that the "win games off his own bat and just about snare a Brownlow when playing 2/3 of the season" role?

Yes, yes, I think he'd be perfectly suited to that role.

I too think he is perfectly suited to being the best player of the modern era.

You do realise it's pronounced Petrarka don't you?

Rhymes with sharka, which can become sharkattack, or shark for short.

So i'm going with SHARK for a nickname.

And when he heats up and starts tearing all and sundry a new one one i will yell SHARK ATTACK!!!