View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Post Match Discussion

Bail had a really good second half, but was beyond ordinary in the first half. My worry with him is that he really is the epitomy of a down-hill skier. If it's all going well, he runs forward, but just jogs around otherwise.

The other bloke I think is being heavily overrated, both on here and in the votes today is Grimes. His first half was bordering on poor. However, he came into the game in the second half and showed a little bit more composure. He was even hitting targets with his left foot. Viney and Cross were the guys giving Jones the cut out today.

Apologies for being the fun/realistic police.

Don't apologise, you're just wrong. Bail was one of our best in the first half, and continued. I'm no fan of his, but he was good ALL day. Grimes first couple of touches were unsteady, but from then on he was secure and prolific. Any chance your default opinion of them means you lack objectivity?

AM I the only one who wonders if playing Chip forward is being used as a chance to look at what our backline will look like without him? Maybe try a few players back there to see who can take his place?

I doubt it. Roos put him there last week because we literally didn't have a target down there. It worked reasonably well against GWS and proved to be a master stroke today (having Dawes there helped too obviously)...

AM I the only one who wonders if playing Chip forward is being used as a chance to look at what our backline will look like without him? Maybe try a few players back there to see who can take his place?

No I wouldn't think Roos would do that.

We needed a big bodied forward up there as a target and Frawley is just that.

The King Prawns in Black Bean sauce aren't too bad either.

You like Chinese food???

To think there was a season-long debate on here about Viney, and whether he was worth "bidding" pick 3 at the time. I wouldn't swap him for ANY of the other kids from his draft. An absolute ripper.

You like Chinese food???

Probably Mexican by the looks of it!!!!!!!!

I think this is a big part of it, we needed another tall target up forward, but normally you'd move Tom Mcdonald and leave your best defender down back, but i think helping Chip enjoy his footy is also part of the ploy to get him to stick around

I have a man-rection now!!! Finally 4 quarters of footy, still room for improvement but fark me its nice to hear our song at the end of the game and not only when we run out onto the ground!!

Go Dees!!!

War nock was reported for hitting Spencer.

After 8-10 jumper punches Robbie did land a couple of clips to the chin, fair enough.

It was a battle of two giants very evenly matched in all areas which became nitty-gritty.

Another random thought: Tom McDonald seems to be playing better now that the responsibility for the backline has been dropped squarely on his shoulders. No Frawley or Garland and he's really stepping up and dominating games for us. Really good to see from him.

I had a fantastic day at the G. Heaps of Melbourne supporters and I hardly have any voice tonight. Just finished watching the replay and totally stoked by our performance. Best day of the year for me so far. I'm loving that winning feeling.

I received many text messages from friends who support other clubs and were rapt we won. I didn't realise Carlton were so universally disliked.

Well done boys!

OMG Hell has truely frozen over.

We won one.

Can we still make the finals LOL

Thought Cross was BOG, never wasted it, has unbelievable hands in close and his awareness in tight is just something so many of our home grown players simply don't have (yet). What an absolute recruiting master stroke it was signing Crossy.

Spot on. There was one handball (I think or perhaps it was a kick) that missed the target, but fortunately we recovered the ball quickly. Every other time though, I thought he was pretty much 100% efficient. He just has that composure. It's great to see.

Edited by AdamFarr

I had a fantastic day at the G. Heaps of Melbourne supporters and I hardly have any voice tonight. Just finished watching the replay and totally stoked by our performance. Best day of the year for me so far. I'm loving that winning feeling.

I received many text messages from friends who support other clubs and were rapt we won. I didn't realise Carlton were so universally disliked.

Well done boys!

what a buzz!

Gibbs is gone from Carlton too.

Chip on the other hand. May just have planted a seed required for him to stay.

Don't apologise, you're just wrong. Bail was one of our best in the first half, and continued. I'm no fan of his, but he was good ALL day. Grimes first couple of touches were unsteady, but from then on he was secure and prolific. Any chance your default opinion of them means you lack objectivity?

I don't think so. I'll call it how I see it. I watched Bail jog after Blues backs in the first half. You might not get that sense on TV.

Gibbs is gone from Carlton too.

Chip on the other hand. May just have planted a seed required for him to stay.

Might have been the first goal we kicked i was very close at the ground and he had a massive smile from ear to ear, really seemed to be enjoying his footy

Well done to all of you who had enough faith to drop some cash on us.

Yessiree the Fence put a Rock lobster on it for a very nice sum.

Love the jangle of moola so did Mrs. Fence who negotiated for part of the stake!

84 tackles. That's the difference. It can be done.

You're right, P. We had something like 66 tackles to three quarter time. I said if we cracked 80, we'd win. It's very rare that you lose a game and lay 80+ tackles. That needs to be the benchmark now.

I have a man-rection now!!! Finally 4 quarters of footy, still room for improvement but fark me its nice to hear our song at the end of the game and not only when we run out onto the ground!!

Go Dees!!!

Strapping Young Lad with "a man-rection" - who'd have ever thought it?

Our kicking was great today, I was supriised at how many targets we hit especially going forward. We'll done boys.

It helps when you've got uncontested possessions. It's a lot easier to hit a target who is by themselves too. You don't have to think about it too much.

Edited by AdamFarr

I don't think so. I'll call it how I see it. I watched Bail jog after Blues backs in the first half. You might not get that sense on TV.

I recall that too but his overall effort can't be questioned surely. 10 tackles laid, as a forward. Just outside the votes for mine but he was very good today.

Grimes also was an absolute general off half back. Mopped up the mess and had his kicking boots on. I think you're being very harsh on both mate.

Yessiree the Fence put a Rock lobster on it for a very nice sum.

Love the jangle of moola so did Mrs. Fence who negotiated for part of the stake!

Fence...... stake....... great post..... nailed it......shut the gate!

how good does beer taste after a win? [censored] real good

Ha ha - when I came home I told my family I had the best tasting pie today at half time at the footy - and it was nothing to do with the pie. I realised that's the way they should always tase - not clouded by disappointment.