Liam Jurrah's attempt at a comeback

Andrew Demetriou wants him back playing AFL. Won't be a miracle to see him given a chance.

If Vlad wants it then there's a good chance he'll get it. He already owns one AFL Club (us) and with a number of others on the breadline because of the way the competition runs, he'll soon own half a dozen. Then he can simply direct who takes what players.

The only way he could get on our (or any other for that matter) list next season would be were Vlad to miraculously to create some sort of "special category" of rookie, and make it something in the way of supernumerary...as well as some salary assistance / relief.

IF we were offered that AND IF Roos felt it would not upset team harmony / balance then.....maybe.

• Author

Liam's slim hopes of being rookie drafted were dealt a blow last Sunday when the AFLNT bowed to the potential dangers associated with Tropical Cyclone Alessia by cancelling matches in all grades in Darwin and on the Tiwi Islands.

It looks like he will have to wait till next year for another chance and by then he'll be 26 years of age.

Liam's slim hopes of being rookie drafted were dealt a blow last Sunday when the AFLNT bowed to the potential dangers associated with Tropical Cyclone Alessia by cancelling matches in all grades in Darwin and on the Tiwi Islands.

It looks like he will have to wait till next year for another chance and by then he'll be 26 years of age.

My slim chances of winning Tattslotto were dealt a blow when I walked past the shop selling tickets without going inside.

Not ancient if he was to get his act sorted WJ.

A 12 month reformed LJ might have a chance

We (and everyone else) are well aware of his footy capabilities so one more good game, or a bad game, or no game, so I doubt that this would make a difference.

Turns out he was going to miss this week's game against Southern Districts anyway due to family reasons.

But that would be a big problem for recruiters. If there aren't already big problems.

Turns out he was going to miss this week's game against Southern Districts anyway due to family reasons.

And people still want this bloke on our list

Fair dinkum..

If Mandela could still speak he'd probally say "familly reasons are every thing".
  • Author

If Mandela could still speak he'd probally say "familly reasons are every thing".

At various times over the past months 95 year-old Mandela has been in a critical condition in hospital and at one stage, it was said he was in a vegetative state. But he was released from hospital a couple of months ago and while he's no doubt still crook, I think he might be able to talk and if he could, I reckon he would be encouraging Liam to persevere with his efforts to recover from what he's gone through and what he's put others through. In many ways, he would be speaking from experience.

• 3 weeks later...

Driving without license and failing to stop. Nothing that amazing really.

His careers been cooked for ages and whilst I don't fully blame him for that he needs to take a look at himself for this stuff!

Driving without license and failing to stop. Nothing that amazing really.

His careers been cooked for ages and whilst I don't fully blame him for that he needs to take a look at himself for this stuff!

I hope that you are not belittling speeding whilst evading police whilst unlicensed?

I see quite a bit of road trauma and much, possibly the majority, is caused by folk with the outlook that recklessness is really just a bit of harmless fun!!

Whilst the death toll is reported regularly, unfortunately not the far greater numbers whose lives, and their families lives, are changed, ruined, irrevocably.

Having followed Liams facebook page for quite awhile now i am not suprised.

He is in a bad place. His moods swing like a pendulum.

It is sad to read. But he is a danger to others out there.

When some clueless people wanted him drafted this year i got howled down because i said how much of an alcholic and complete danger he is to society. Obviously 6 months jail wasn't enough to pull his head in. Give him 10 years behind bars seriously. He will kill someone one day.

Matt Rendell was brave enough to confront a contentious issue honestly and it cost him his job. In the last few years, I think his view has actually come to fruition. Like WYL, I've seen his Facebook, the last post I saw him and WB young recruit Zeph Skinner were discussing both being drunk. So many have had great success, McLeod, Wanganeen, our own Aaron Davey and currently Rioli, Motlop and I'm sure in the future Jack Martin.

It's a sad situation which leaves so many questions and seemingly so few answers.

Biggest waste of talent I have ever seen, he could have been one of the best players ever if he had someone like Nathan jones work ethic

None of the cases Jurrah has been involved in concern domestic violence.

Bing, none of the points in my comments were about Liam Jurrah himself.

A side conversation had begun about concepts of loyalty and drawing the line, an example was given of whether or not to support someone who had 'belted his wife'.

It's possible that some previous posts were edited or deleted which obscured that conversation in the thread.

It's a strange fact of Australia - while the transplanted culture from Europe has evolved to become one of the least family-driven in human history, the ancient indigenous culture is one of the most family oriented in the world today.

No wonder it is so hard to bridge the gap. Going either way.

It's a strange fact of Australia - while the transplanted culture from Europe has evolved to become one of the least family-driven in human history, the ancient indigenous culture is one of the most family oriented in the world today.

No wonder it is so hard to bridge the gap. Going either way.

It is enormously complicated, and frankly anyone who says they know the answer is delusional.

It certainly isn't a matter of money or restrictions or land rights, and will take, I believe, generations to rectify if ever.

Sadly a fair deal of the "family orientation" isn't healthy for anyone, either.

Hopefully this will finally silence all those who were willing to give him another chance.

He will never play AFL again.

Total loser.