View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Colin Sylvia is yet to decide if he will remain at Melbourne

Depends.

Highly doubtful, but if we were to get a 1st round compo pick for him, at this stage it'd give us pick 3.

If it was an after-round-1 pick, we'd get pick 18-19 as it stands.

Would be interesting to see who wanted him. Personally I'm not sure who is out there with the cash to spend on a nearly 28 year old who's inconsistent and almost certainly not a quality regular midfielder.

All that said was that Jay Clark has no idea what Sylvia is doing. The rest was just the voices in Clark's head.

Regardless of who's coaching, if you don't want to give 100% to the jumper....sodd off now. That includes Watts, did he verbally agree to Carlton when we had no coach?

Edited by Al's Demons

All that said was that Jay Clark has no idea what Sylvia is doing. The rest was just the voices in Clark's head.

Still makes you wonder why he couldn't agree to a contract by the end of the season.

We CANNOT afford to lose experience anymore. we just can't.

In terms off money we should have heaps to throw around, if he stays he should be forced to take a hefty cut. If he leaves to play finals he will be playing for less anyway because clubs won't justify big dollars for him. We could match any offer, comes down to commitment. If Paul Roos is not good enough for him or he's trying to play hardball it might be time to say goodbye.

Edited by Al's Demons

Still makes you wonder why he couldn't agree to a contract by the end of the season.

We CANNOT afford to lose experience anymore. we just can't.

The players will be made to understand now that we won't be bent over with regards to contracts. The days of cashing in are over.

I have such a different perspective on both Watts and Sylvia now that Roos is in control.

Want both to stay. Partly out of wanting us to develop talent, partly just out of pure curiosity.

Regardless of who's coaching, if you don't want to give 100% to the jumper....sodd off now. That includes Watts, did he verbally agree to Carlton when we had no coach?

O'Keefe and Scarlett both considered leaving and were vital to premiership sides.

C'mon Col, the Dees need you.... be a stayer, use your loyalty, & become part of the solution. you can still become famous for doing a lot of good, & be a part of those who turn this ol' Gal around.

you know your not the mercinary type.

your much loved at Melbourne.

be a part of the re-making of this club, & you'll be fondly remembered as a Demon soldier to the core...

That may be your attitude, but it is not that of Paul Roos.

As pointed out directly above, O'Keefe asked to be traded to the Hawks or Carlton, but Roos wouldn't let him go.

That may be your attitude, but it is not that of Paul Roos.

As pointed out directly above, O'Keefe asked to be traded to the Hawks or Carlton, but Roos wouldn't let him go.

not quite correct

okeefe asked for a trade back to Victoria

Sydney wouldn't trade down and the deal was never done

it still took a contract and convincing to keep okeefe in nsw

not quite correct

okeefe asked for a trade back to Victoria

Sydney wouldn't trade down and the deal was never done

it still took a contract and convincing to keep okeefe in nsw

The difference here is that in O'Keefe case there was not URFA around.

Sylvia can just walk if he wants to and there is Zero the MFC can do about it.

I would like to keep him.

However I have thought all year he will go and I have seen nothing to change my view.

I think Col is out the door

I would love to know Roos assessment of the current MFC players list. Sadly though that will never happen for obvious reasons.

IMO if a player really wants out then let them go, the key is to try and make them want to stay and the appoint of Roos as Coach will greatly assist in that area. Next step will be to win a few more matches.

Baby steps at this stage.

I would like Sylvia to stay but its up to him and the MFC if that is to happen.

Still, it was Roos decision to NOT trade him, just because he wanted out.

That might apply to Watts but he has almost no control over Sylvia.

I really hope Sylvia recommits to the club.

So do I RB I just cannot see it.

I cannot remember a player who went done this " I will make a decision on return from Holidays/ end of season" that stayed.

I reckon if there is a good offer ( in Sylvia's mind ) from another club with good chances of playing finals football in the next two years then he is off.

The MFC will struggle to play finals before 2016. Why stay you never know he might bag a GF

For some unknown reason, I really like Col and want him to stay.

He is clearly one of those 'cream on top' kind of players where in a good team he would be receiving a lot more of the uncontested pill and jagging a couple more goals. This year he was forced to go in and get it and I thought he was ok at this.

He is not a full time midfielder, he is still best on a forward flank and occasionally having a run through the guts.

He is not a born leader and never will be. Let's not try make him one like we did to Brad Green.

He is not a 30+ possession winner and never will be.

He is however a player who opposition coaches look to shut down first each week as they know how dangerous he can be and is in the best 5 players of our club and we need to retain all the quality we can.

Must keep

Jon Ralph's article doesn't even bother to name a club which might potentially be interested. Has there been any scuttlebut which might suggest which clubs, if any, have been sniffing around Sylvia? Otherwise, it just looks like Ralph has looked at (1) Roos appointed, so need a Melbourne story (2) who's a free agent who could leave Melbourne?

So do I RB I just cannot see it.

I cannot remember a player who went done this " I will make a decision on return from Holidays/ end of season" that stayed.

I reckon if there is a good offer ( in Sylvia's mind ) from another club with good chances of playing finals football in the next two years then he is off.

The MFC will struggle to play finals before 2016. Why stay you never know he might bag a GF

Boak 'went on holidays' and then stayed i think. Turned out pretty well for all.

Jon Ralph's article doesn't even bother to name a club which might potentially be interested. Has there been any scuttlebut which might suggest which clubs, if any, have been sniffing around Sylvia? Otherwise, it just looks like Ralph has looked at (1) Roos appointed, so need a Melbourne story (2) who's a free agent who could leave Melbourne?

Collingwood supposedly interested.

Personally I really hope Col stays and think he will. But one could not begrudge him for chasing success in the twilight of his career. If he stays at Melbourne, it means he won't get to experience finals footy again most likely.