Posted

Do you really care? The senior players will be gone on Sunday night whilst a small group must focus and train for the VFL finals.

After the year the club has had it would do them all good to get away from the place and forget footy. I hear the "playing in the finals is a good thing" but given our year I reckon "go on holiday and have some fun for the first time since March" sounds better.

For all the comments here Casey have done little to endear themselves and I'll not lose one dot of sleep if we are out in straight sets.

Dont agree BB

I was interested that despite your dismissal of Casey you still say "we are out in straight sets"

The season has been long and a disaster but I would have the boys all at the Casey games to support and get the excitement of finals participation as an incentive to perform after the well earned break that you are correct in identifying.

Definitely instruct them to have some fun maybe return to their roots where they were/ are still a recognised success maybe do something that will give them their confidence back. They could come up here at [censored] me at squash if they wanted I am sure I could give them some morale boosting ideas.

Posted

Dont agree BB

Fair enough.

I've been involved in sporting teams and know that unless you're on the field of play the success enjoyed by a group is pretty hollow for non contributors. Accordingly I doubt Trengove, Grimes, Frawley et al are going to gain much out of a Casey success and while it might be good for a few they are, mainly, not the ones that will return MFC to success.

Listening to Neil Craig's post presser today I'm really impressed with the balance he has between recognizing what the players are going through and demanding high standards and performance. If the FD, led by him, think it's beneficial I'd back him but at the moment it's hard to see the line "it all started when Troy Davis, Jimmy Magner and Dom Barry carried the cup off the ground for Casey in 2013".

The players are shot. Their confidence is non existent, their self esteem low and their enjoyment od life poor. That will be rubbing off on those around them and my gut feel is the sooner it's over the better. I struggle with the concept that being round the club while a few play for Casey is beneficial.

Fortunately I'm not charged with making the decision!

Posted

Fair enough.

I've been involved in sporting teams and know that unless you're on the field of play the success enjoyed by a group is pretty hollow for non contributors. Accordingly I doubt Trengove, Grimes, Frawley et al are going to gain much out of a Casey success and while it might be good for a few they are, mainly, not the ones that will return MFC to success.

Listening to Neil Craig's post presser today I'm really impressed with the balance he has between recognizing what the players are going through and demanding high standards and performance. If the FD, led by him, think it's beneficial I'd back him but at the moment it's hard to see the line "it all started when Troy Davis, Jimmy Magner and Dom Barry carried the cup off the ground for Casey in 2013".

The players are shot. Their confidence is non existent, their self esteem low and their enjoyment od life poor. That will be rubbing off on those around them and my gut feel is the sooner it's over the better. I struggle with the concept that being round the club while a few play for Casey is beneficial.

Fortunately I'm not charged with making the decision!

OK should have said dont agree entirely

But thanks for your reasoned response and this time I do agree

It certainly is "different strokes for different folks" as a mate of mine used to always say

I still reckon there are some players who might benefit from the involvement and some who may be better off well away

as you say Neil Craig may be just the best bloke to make that decision

Posted

So when the players were playing at Casey and MFC was getting flogged, would of it been right for the Casey players to not turn. FFS, it's a team game I am sure the Casey players on the MFC list would love to see the senior players turn up and encourage them and maybe give them a few tips durning the game.

After all isn't it a team game and they are all team mates. Admittedly they were playing the end of season trip durning the VFL finals but that did not come off.

If the MFC players unable to play for Casey cannot show up and support their team mates and management does nothing about well the club is $&@()&.

Posted

If the MFC players unable to play for Casey cannot show up and support their team mates and management does nothing about well the club is $&@()&.

You only just realised that now about the Club!

I think the senior list need to get away from football for a while once the WB game is over. The new coach will have a bugger of a job trying to rebuild the confidence, spirit, belief and self esteem to any modest level over the pre season. The sooner the players can be this year behind them the better.

Posted

The fixture for the first week of the finals is out:-

VFL First Qualifying Final

Geelong v Casey Scorpions at Simonds Stadium

Friday, 30 August, 2013 at 7:00pm

AFL Victoria Development League First Elimination Final

Casey Scorpions v Northern Blues

at North Port Oval

Sunday, 1 September at 11:00am

Posted

I haven't seen much but I would point out the obvious in that today there were more Casey players than probably the rest of the season. Very unfortunate for Casey though that Hogan, Byrnes, Strauss, Fitzpatrick and Blease all got injured last week. To lose by 2 points when just any one of those 5 (or the 3 who got promoted to AFL in their place in Rodan, Toumpas, Frawley and Pedersen) would've been enough to get the job done. Nothing beats bad luck.

Add Bail to the list who sat on his arse in Adelaide and did squat.

Posted

I think the senior list need to get away from football for a while once the WB game is over. The new coach will have a bugger of a job trying to rebuild the confidence, spirit, belief and self esteem to any modest level over the pre season. The sooner the players can be this year behind them the better.

I agree that the more senior members of the group are "shot" and feel they need to switch off and recharge the bodies and their minds for the club's next phase but the idea doesn't entirely sit well with me.

I would be staggered if the younger members eligible for the VFL finals weren't keen on taking their places in a final for Casey or that the senior members of the team would begrudge them the experience of playing on in a finals team. . In fact, I think the attitude that the team should withdraw from further participation in the VFL because they've had it tough is emblematic of the poor culture developed over the years and the way our players are pampered like princesses.

Jim Stynes wrote in his book about a training session under Dean Bailey that was cancelled at the behest of the players. That's weak as is the thought of players not taking part in VFL finals because they've had a tough season. Hard, tough work never hurt anyone with the determination to succeed in the future.

Posted

I agree that the more senior members of the group are "shot" and feel they need to switch off and recharge the bodies and their minds for the club's next phase but the idea doesn't entirely sit well with me.

I would be staggered if the younger members eligible for the VFL finals weren't keen on taking their places in a final for Casey or that the senior members of the team would begrudge them the experience of playing on in a finals team. . In fact, I think the attitude that the team should withdraw from further participation in the VFL because they've had it tough is emblematic of the poor culture developed over the years and the way our players are pampered like princesses.

Jim Stynes wrote in his book about a training session under Dean Bailey that was cancelled at the behest of the players. That's weak as is the thought of players not taking part in VFL finals because they've had a tough season. Hard, tough work never hurt anyone with the determination to succeed in the future.

What he said.............

Posted

Try adding 2 more out of vfl finals

Rodan as injured and

Bail who went to Adelaide as emergency (in a pointless exercise as he is now 1 game short of vfl finals qualification). Why not take Davis??

MFC DO NOT SUPPORT CASEY OR THEIR PLAYERS DEVELOPMONT. STUPID!!!

Posted

The firsts come, unsurprisingly, first.

If, within that, the club can accommodate Casey so that they also get the best result, fantastic.

If not, so be it.

It's unfortunate, but these injuries were not planned.

And if Casey want to be out first, frankly, I'm happy to see them rot.

But I don't think that's the case.

It's instead a handful of supporters with unrealistic expectations.

They'll learn to deal.

Posted

Try adding 2 more out of vfl finals

Rodan as injured and

Bail who went to Adelaide as emergency (in a pointless exercise as he is now 1 game short of vfl finals qualification). Why not take Davis??

MFC DO NOT SUPPORT CASEY OR THEIR PLAYERS DEVELOPMONT. STUPID!!!

Rodan needs development?

And if Bail still needs to play in the VFL for his development, after being drafted in 2008, then we're in worse trouble than I thought.