Rory Sloane

If we had a priority pick I would give it up for Sloane. He's a tough uncompromising midfield competitor.

Yeah I would probably be up for that too. Maybe not if it was after our first pick, but more likely if it was end of first round or something like that.

I can't believe that we choose bennell over sloane

What a joke

No wonder we have had 7 crapola yrs

My good mate played footy with Rory and went to school with him.

There are whispers that he wants to come home but remember that MFC told him and his family categorically that we would draft him then pulled out at the last minute. I believe a family members comment at the time was that they'd never deal with MFC again...

Fair enough that they would be upset at that, but it seems fairly unprofessional that we would tell someone we are going to draft them, i thought most teams liked to keep options open, then again MFC has been abit unprofessional for a while.

If we are talking about offering up a top pick for Sloane, why not offer up one for Griffen?

Time heals all wounds NSC.

If we are talking about offering up a top pick for Sloane, why not offer up one for Griffen?

Anyone would love Griffen, but not a chance of getting him.

Wouldn't hurt to have a crack though.

My concern is the only player in the draft that will interest the Bulldogs enough to offer him up is Boyd, and even that is a stretch

• 4 weeks later...

Sloane is on the market.

I was told this tonight and I rate the source, then got on facebook and was hearing it again.

Adelaide want Boyd and we want a young mid who wants to come home.

If Boyd slips to second pick it will happen. If not it may not.

Love all these rumours.

Keeps me interested in the season.

Sorry Norm but trades are done before the draft so Adelaide would be taking a big gamble that Boyd would not be gone at Pick 1 and I wouldn't take that gamble giving up a player of Sloane's ability

As PSD said, they will not be able to make certain of Boyd with ND2.

I would still do a trade like this with something coming back our way.

Thompson for ND60 or something like that.

Would GWS pick Boyd with the potential of getting Franklin?

That could potentially give them a forward line of Cameron, Franklin, Patton and Boyd??

I reckon that GWS will be on the hunt for a ruckman and a defender. Jamar and Gillies!

Rory is 100% staying in Adelaide according to a close source 3 weeks ago.

It would've been great to land Sloane though, so I like the thread all the same.

What, we would effectively trade Boyd for Sloane? Balls.

People at his old local team seem to think he would come home and Adelaide need a forward. I'm not saying it will happen but mfc will propose it potentially.

The Inside Footy article suggested we were interested in using pick 2 for Sloane.

Let me put on record that I love his heart and passion, but in reality he's a good get at pick 40 something. He doesn't have anywhere near the class that warrants the mention of pick 2. As I said, I rate him, but don't get seduced by a B+ footballer that we all love due to his intent.

The Inside Footy article suggested we were interested in using pick 2 for Sloane.

Let me put on record that I love his heart and passion, but in reality he's a good get at pick 40 something. He doesn't have anywhere near the class that warrants the mention of pick 2. As I said, I rate him, but don't get seduced by a B+ footballer that we all love due to his intent.

Can categorically state that Rory Sloane will not play for Melbourne.

We've all heard how he felt let down by Melbourne, but we didn't just tell him we'd consider taking him ... he told our recruiters that he wanted to play for Melbourne. We told him and his family that if he was available at our pick we would take him.

A rumour I heard was that he even told a club before us, I can't remember who, that he wasn't interested in them because he was confident he was coming to us!

As the night turned out we betrayed him completely, and I just looked for it but there's an article that came out from him and his father post-draft that stated in no uncertain terms how much he was disappointed at falling due to one club.

Nothing has changed.