Time to release Trengove as Captain and let him realise his full potential as a B-Grade midfielder

Posted

Do any if you watch good teams play like Geelong or hawthorn? Trengove is useless compared with any player on those teams.

Posted

Do any if you watch good teams play like Geelong or hawthorn? Trengove is useless compared with any player on those teams.

Yes and no. He's a much better player than Josh Caddy. Could probably compare to a Shields from Hawthorn.

In fact if he was at Box Hill I think someone like Evans would be getting nicely moulded to come in and take over a wing for Hawthorn.

We have some talent, we just have very little of it developed properly.

Posted

Passed your bedtime yet? Don't want to be tired for school tomorrow.

That response is seriously embarrassing for you. I can't stand when people on forums who are struggling to come up with a decent rebuttle use the " back to school","school holidays","school tomorrow" line. It really does make you look stupid.

Trengove is not up to AFL standard, so you have to try and belittle posters to cover. You didn't draft him, why are you trying so hard to deflect from him being poor? I can't I understand why supporters think that because a player was drafted by Melbourne they have to suspend reality and defend them even when there is no rational argument.

Posted

Seriously.. average 10 tackles a game, top 5 in our disposals, captain of our club

coming off a very serious injury, the drug claims on his shoulders

only a 64 game player in a struggling side it's really unfair to even compare him to someone who goes into a side like that with protection of 5-6 200 plus game midfielders and a license to attack with no real expectations

Posted (edited)

Yes and no. He's a much better player than Josh Caddy. Could probably compare to a Shields from Hawthorn.

In fact if he was at Box Hill I think someone like Evans would be getting nicely moulded to come in and take over a wing for Hawthorn.

We have some talent, we just have very little of it developed properly.

Are Caddy or Shields listed as captains or even 'spiritual leaders'?

Edited by Giles
Posted

Love how we complain our players don't attack the contest or show heart.

Then some people complain about a player we have that is currently 5th in the league for tackles!!

Posted

Then some people complain about a player we have that is currently 5th in the league for tackles!!

which is amazing coming off basically no pre season and a stress fracture, i still think he needs another 2-3 weeks to get match fit and maybe longer for his foot to feel really good

Posted

Point being, where do you rate him in the competition as an onfield leader / performer / inspirer? Is it the long goals, the gut running, the run down chases, the pack marks, the smothers... or maybe the blistering bursts through the centre... What is it that you see that I don't that see that grants his captaincy... I have no doubt he's trying hard. His performances at press conferences are second to none.

I'll bite Giles. I reckon you've already answered your own question though mate. When you say 'I have no doubt he tries hard' you nailed it. When he was put in place the FD was trying to install a value system that was about effort and endeavour with the natural conclusion being that consistent effort would result in rewards. I don't think Jack has seen that as a player and I don't think the club has seen any reward from its focus on endeavour. It's frustrating but I at least understand the mentality.

Posted (edited)

I never said Jack T hasn't tried to attack it or tried hard over the last 4 years. I just think he should be released from the captaincy (and that burden). Let him be the second tier, b-grade midfielder that he is with pride... no shame in that.

Edited by Giles
Posted

I think the people that are annoyed he is captain are just the people that assume the captain should be the best player, if that were the case then yeah Trenners probably wouldn't be captain but according to people in the club (you know, the people that actually see his leadership) can't speak more highly of him. All we see is what's on the field and if people say he doesn't stand up I have seen it consistently from him way back when he got a hitout third man up through for a behind to win the game against port all the way up until he put us in front last week, didn't hear people complaining then when he again got 10 tackles, and 22 touches. As he gets a better fitness base, as he is 6 weeks behind, he will start to lift how many touches he gets. I would say Swallow is A-grade and last year in his captaincy he only averaged around 25 touches which is no where near the standard of Ablett or Swan (both averaging over 33) but because he averaged over 7 tackles a game as well. Obviously Jack has a way to go before he reaches that level but nothing tells me, with his attitude and hunger for success, that he can't achieve what any pick 2 should. Goes to show how reactionary footy fans can be when people were pretty pleased with his first few round back and then a commentator says something negative which plants a seed of doubt in an insecure melbourne fans head and they aren't confident enough to form their own opinions so they just copy Lethals

Posted (edited)

Strongly disagree. His disposal was generally pretty good today. He turned it over two, maybe three times, but won it plenty and continues to rack up the tackles.

Can't believe we're having a go at Trengove. There were probably 13 or 14 others today who were very, very ordinary. Trengove's B grade. Once he's up to full fitness and the overloading takes less toll on his lower body, he'll elevate himself to A grade. Least of our problems. He doesn't turn it over like his co-captain. My god.

Edited by AdamFarr
Posted

Max Gawn for Capitan!!!

Don't you love big Max. His agility is amazing for a guy who is 208 cms. At one stage on the wing he turned and twisted like a wingman. I love his enthusiasm and doing the basics like shepherding. Keep fit Max.

Posted

He is underdone and fighting through it.

I told you people not to expect much.

You just don't listen...

Posted

What bugs me about Trengove is he can't play a good, confident game. Sure, he's in our top 5 disposal getters (not very hard to do with how we're playing), he tackles well and is ok at stoppages but I never feel satisfied with his performance after a game (well, since 2010-11 anyway). He's really uninspiring to watch and basically any player in the league could run him down. When he kicks the ball it lacks penetration. Sure, others may make him look good, but he really should be doing a lot more.

Posted

He will not be stripped of the captaincy so you can forget about that one and perhaps there will be a time where he gets a run at Casey but from what I've read he was very far away from our worst player today. As rpfc said, don't expect much from him this year. Last year he had something hampering him (blind Freddy could see that) and he's had pre-season issues hold back his fitness and confidence. At best we will see him get into form second half of the year.

I would not against him going to a VC next year with Grimes as solo captain. He is so young and I do wonder whether the captaincy is hurting his game.

Posted

He is underdone and fighting through it.

I told you people not to expect much.

You just don't listen...

Was he underdone all of 2012 as well?

Posted

This captaincy issue should have changed a long time ago.

This two tier Sydney like BS captaincy doent work for our club. One club & one captain.

Grimes is not worthy. Makes many mistakes regularly.Yes he throws his body into situations....but always gets hurt weekly. We need smarter captains and guys who can handle the punishment.

Trenners doesnt have nearly enough captain like games.

Yes his pre-season is limited, but his games are not near enough the mark IMO.

Mitch Clark should be captain.This guy Oozes leadership and is the first to start dishing it out to the opposition.MARK NEELD I HOPE YOU ARE READING!!!

Followed by Chunk with VC simply because he has become an elite player in a club where we are bereft of elite players.

I hope we have a forward line of Dawes,Clark,Gawney this week....land of the giants!

Posted

Garbage thread.

We leak goals because our midfielders play like millionaires.

Only one of our midfielders knows how to defend. Trengove.

Posted

Your dancing around the major issues like a bad politician.

The fact remains he's struggling and he's an integral part of our side,

It says a lot about the state if our club, which is what i take outbid the OP's

slant. Martin, Rohan, Cunnington , Fyfe, are making hay in less than

Impressive football sides.

10 tackles is all well and good, quality possession along with that is better.

It isn't there and not is our midfield.

Please tell me you are talking about Gary Rohan. The same Gary Rohan that plays for the Sydney Swans (reigning premiers).

Posted

Going to agree with Leigh Matthews here when he said 'has lost 5 yards of pace since being drafted'

How do you lose pace at 22? Has to be injured, he got caught so many times yesterday, felt for him a bit.

Hopefully he comes good.

Posted

This captaincy issue should have changed a long time ago.

This two tier Sydney like BS captaincy doent work for our club. One club & one captain.

Grimes is not worthy. Makes many mistakes regularly.Yes he throws his body into situations....but always gets hurt weekly. We need smarter captains and guys who can handle the punishment.

Trenners doesnt have nearly enough captain like games.

Yes his pre-season is limited, but his games are not near enough the mark IMO.

Mitch Clark should be captain.This guy Oozes leadership and is the first to start dishing it out to the opposition.MARK NEELD I HOPE YOU ARE READING!!!

Followed by Chunk with VC simply because he has become an elite player in a club where we are bereft of elite players.

I hope we have a forward line of Dawes,Clark,Gawney this week....land of the giants!

I think Clark is a natural leader, but he's on the park less than Grimes.

Trengove should remain captain.

Posted

He should be commended for his tackling pressure, as was the case all of last year, but AFL is getting faster each year. A player as slow as Trenners is cause for some concern if it can't be rectified. We need a number 2 draft pick to be able to provide a significant impact when we have ball in hand. He was able to do that against GWS..but off hand I can't think of the time before that.

Saying he doesn't have the skills is rubbish, he's proven he does, but the lead boots are a worry.