POLL: Watts v Naitanui ... Did we get it right or wrong?

Watts v Naitanui ... Did we get it right? 265 members have voted

1. 1. Four seasons on, did we get it right or wrong picking Watts over Naitanui?

• We got it RIGHT
    • We got it WRONG
    • Still not sure

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Nah. Daisy is a funny bastard.

hey, I resemble that statement

for a drop kick you don't know much about football

ive had a real gut full of this crap , jw v nn , give it a break , for f#$k sake

gggrrrrrrrrrr

ive had a real gut full of this crap , jw v nn , give it a break , for f#$k sake

gggrrrrrrrrrr

Barn dee-is you been drinkin'?

What language was that Biffen

Too clever for this old guy

I have a 3 legged cat, he's a freak. Should we have recruited him?

So what if Jack plays a different role to what we initially thought he would. Not a problem to me.

I'm not saying its a problem! We probably have a better forward in Clark now anyway. Watts is becoming very important down back and in some ways is probably of more use than if he was a fwd!

And as for me calling natainui a 'freak' you know i did not mean it in that way! how about saying he has incredible athleticism and is a 'freakish talent'!

• Author

How good is this thread? It's a veritable pot pourri of Demonland delights.

Should be sticky'd at the top with the other big ticket items.

Please keep this thread going for all of the Land Lunatics to vent their spleen. And keep them the hell away from the real threads that discuss matters of interest to decent Demon supporters (as opposed to Demon demeaners). Continue to gather them around here, moths to the flame, and then, at the last moment, push them all off the cliff edge, like lemmings led by RR.

Please, mods, save us from this tripe! Kill them all!

One is getting possesions as a loose man in defence in a terrible team, the other is tearing Collingwood to pieces in the ruck.

To say we got it right at this point proves you do not watch other football teams.

Though it helped that collingwood had a 5th rate ruckman on the night, if jolly was playing he owuld not have been dominant in that manner....I guess it proves you do not watch other football teams!!

Nicknat is over rated and flashy, playing it a well drilled team where average players look good as the "team" is playing well. If you took him out of it and put nick with us, bulldogs, GC, GWS etc he would struggle week in week out, as he wouldn't have experienced players / good team structure to get him the ball. Whereas Jack will still find the ball and give it to a team mate.

hey, I resemble that statement

for a drop kick you don't know much about football

Will you guys quit sherrin jokes with each other?

Want me to heat it up a bit.

Over the last 6 weeks WCE is 16th in the AFL for clearances from throw ins and ball ups (source-Finey last night on SEN dodgy ).Thecomment was made that with Cox doing most work forward,NN in the ruck tapping down the throat is limited at best.

I immediately thought- sayyyyyyy I might add this to the thread.

Carry on.

Will you guys quit sherrin jokes with each other?

well it appears you 'got' it

just to clarifty, the second sentence was an obtuse joke. i.e. he mistook my identity so i deliberately mistook his

for the record BH is one of my favourite reads on footy matters

I'm not going to read 14 pages of this, but Watts v NicNat is the least of our drafting concerns from 2001-2010.

That may be true, but we should still be doing everything we can to ensure Jack becomes the best footballer he possibly can. For me (and many) he needs a significant lift in intensity to reach the heights he is capable of, else I fear he will float through his career and be a decent, but flakey and frustrating performer. He is capable of a lot more.

Nik nak gave nothing tonight. 3 kicks from the midfield? Go Jack!!!!

Come on, didn't you see his almost speccie? His almost goal? His almost amazing clearance? NikNat is almost the best player ever!

Even when Naitanui plays an ordinary game, the AFL still manages to spruik his magnificent awesomeness. May as well hand over the MVP and Brownlow right now.

4. The freakish pair

Lance Franklin and Nic Naitanui are two of the game's most brilliant players, each capable of doing things very few players can. To have them on the same field on Friday night was a delight for neutral observers. Franklin kicked four first-quarter goals (he didn't kick any more), but also set up a few others for his teammates, notably a clever tap to Jack Gunston in the second term. Naitanui's hands were also at the centre of the action, finishing with 24 hit-outs, and many to advantage. Naitanui only amassed 11 disposals, but had nine tackles and the Eagles looked most dangerous when he was around the ball.

If we band together we will somehow overcome this madness.

McAvany and Commetti were always going to be w**king each other off while screaming Nik Nats name whenever he went near the ball... happens every time they commentate a west coast game. What is with the little clips celebrating his 'brilliant career' before most games? It's like he is the only player playing for the eagles, just ridiculous.

I agree - I have thought for awhile that NN is very over rated. The commentators drive me crazy with their stupid talk. To compare his so called " brilliance" with Franklin even insults me and I hate Hawthorn. He may eventually become a great player but Im happy with Jack.

Even when Naitanui plays an ordinary game, the AFL still manages to spruik his magnificent awesomeness. May as well hand over the MVP and Brownlow right now.

If we band together we will somehow overcome this madness.

I liked the report when it said that 'wonder boy' AMASSED 11 disposals. WOW! RR would be so proud.

I agree - I have thought for awhile that NN is very over rated. The commentators drive me crazy with their stupid talk. To compare his so called " brilliance" with Franklin even insults me and I hate Hawthorn. He may eventually become a great player but Im happy with Jack.

I wonder how the other WCE players take it, with NN getting 99 percent of the attention and accolades?

What I can't understand is at the time the MFC were desperate to find a ruckman. I concede we were also after a key forward. But we have found little success with the young ruckman we have recruited so far.

without a doubt NN is the most overrated player in the comp by a country mile

everybody knew at draft time that the kid would be an attention-getter and it has gotten quite out of hand

the bloke averages 4.5 kicks over 75 games FCS

• Author

An off-ish night don't change the stats fellas.

ol' "Tiptoe" Watts is not fit to clean NicNat's jockstrap.

Wins 78% of possessions from a contest. No.1 in comp. GTFO of H.

improving.jpg