Optimists only - let's dream

The best of this year so far has been:

1) Nate Jones making us proud each week by not dropping his head and giving 100%. A Hawthorn supporting mate of mine put it best, 'Hard to dislike Nate Jones. Always has a dip.' And we weren't even playing the Hawks.

2) Mitch Clark up until the GWS game. See Jonesy.

3) Jack Watts finally getting a position. Now don't move him Neeldy! The boy is showing some potential. Ignore the haters and journos who speculate each week as to what his best position is. Their agenda is to sell papers and keeping that banal talking point alive does that for them. Keep him at CHB, picking up a man.

4) Jack Grimes playing a full season. Mostly. Better than most of his returns. I reckon make him the sole captain next year. Has been sensational for nearly 10 weeks now.

5) Jeremy Howe. I like that he is now getting a bit of a run on the ball. When he gets the tank to play consistently in the midfield, keep him there.

6) Jared Rivers. Some might jump on me about this but I have liked the way he has carried himself this year. Hasn't dogged it and just has gone on quietly with his business. While others have whinged and done things that have hurt the club, he has shown actual leadership.

The best of this year so far has been:

1) Nate Jones making us proud each week by not dropping his head and giving 100%. A Hawthorn supporting mate of mine put it best, 'Hard to dislike Nate Jones. Always has a dip.' And we weren't even playing the Hawks.

2) Mitch Clark up until the GWS game. See Jonesy.

3) Jack Watts finally getting a position. Now don't move him Neeldy! The boy is showing some potential. Ignore the haters and journos who speculate each week as to what his best position is. Their agenda is to sell papers and keeping that banal talking point alive does that for them. Keep him at CHB, picking up a man.

4) Jack Grimes playing a full season. Mostly. Better than most of his returns. I reckon make him the sole captain next year. Has been sensational for nearly 10 weeks now.

5) Jeremy Howe. I like that he is now getting a bit of a run on the ball. When he gets the tank to play consistently in the midfield, keep him there.

6) Jared Rivers. Some might jump on me about this but I have liked the way he has carried himself this year. Hasn't dogged it and just has gone on quietly with his business. While others have whinged and done things that have hurt the club, he has shown actual leadership.

Cant argue with any of those points mate

Now back to dreaming - In 2013 we need our draft of 2008 to take the next step. Watts, Blease, Strauss and Jetta & Bennell if they stay on. These guys must continue to improve and must learn to impact games regularly. Watts and Blease especially.

2013 I see a year of development for Watts, Blease, Trenners and I think Tappscott will have a breakout game.

We reselect Brad Miller (thus saving us millions on Cloke) . Clarke is moved out to CHF and Miller kicks 100 - including 7 in the GF. I won't spoil the surprise by telling you who wins.

The output of our 2009 number 1 draft [censored]. I really hope the trend continues in 2013.

I'm with WJ, let's win these last two. Picks schmicks, 5 and 6 are arguably just as good as 3 and 4. Besides, it's a good platform for 2013.

No thanks. Beating Fremantle means Carlton plays finals. I don't think a win is worth seeing that...

Surely you jest?

you speak as though its an attainable !! lol,,its rubbish imperonating rubbish.

• Author

I'm with WJ, let's win these last two. Picks schmicks, 5 and 6 are arguably just as good as 3 and 4. Besides, it's a good platform for 2013.

Winning is important for the psyche and mental well being.

Less visits to the doctor later in life.

Ignore the Viney hype and just select him at 5. He's worth it.

Elite compliance.

Oh oh. Maybe a little too positive for some, sorry.

I feel so much better.

The monkeys off the back Billy.

You know I make sense.

you speak as though its an attainable !! lol,,its rubbish imperonating rubbish.

Come on B59 this is about optimism. You never know what can happen. Sometimes good things happen to deserving people. And boy, aren't we deserving?

• Author

C'mon folks. Surely we haven't run out of optimism already. Let's keep this thread going. If this is the best we can do we'll fall into the clutches of the negative naysayers. Let's talk it up.

Talk what up?

Can't you read? It says "Optimists Only"

Delusional is closer. 2012 was over before round 1 finished. Its hard to get pumped right now.
  • Author

Delusional is closer. 2012 was over before round 1 finished. Its hard to get pumped right now.

The point is that there is any number of other threads where you can wallow in misery. Leave this one for those of us who want to think there is light at the end of the tunnel and that it's not another train coming to demolish us.

Happy for you to see things from your point of view but ask you to respect others' right to be optimistic.

Every year the media targets a club and kicks them, Tigers in 2010, Saints last year and us this year it has been relentless but what doesn't kill you makes you stronger.

Nate Jones,

Mitch Clark

Tom Mac

Jack Watts

Jack Grimes

Jeremy Howe

Sam Blease

No nonsense coach at last,

Decent footy department at last

Changing of the guard with new on field leaders - not just leadership group (benefits of this will be seen next year)

3 first round picks in what is supposedly a superdraft

• Author

Every year the media targets a club and kicks them, Tigers in 2010, Saints last year and us this year it has been relentless but what doesn't kill you makes you stronger.

Nate Jones,

Mitch Clark

Tom Mac

Jack Watts

Jack Grimes

Jeremy Howe

Sam Blease

No nonsense coach at last,

Decent footy department at last

Changing of the guard with new on field leaders - not just leadership group (benefits of this will be seen next year)

3 first round picks in what is supposedly a superdraft

Thanks PSD. I knew there were more of us out there. Bring on 2013.

From all accounts the word aggressive in the Free Agency & Trade period is being used by too many high ranking Melbourne football department officials not to be a positive . The Demons being aggressive in a trade period (FA) is long over due.

Positives

Contested ball is better.

Howe shows potential.

Jones has been excellent.

Tom McD should make it if he improves disposal.

Grimes has played all season.

Blease has shown a bit.

Watts may have found his best position.

Casey are performing well under B Lovett.

Clark is an elite kick but too courageous for his own good.

Club seems to have sorted the sooks from the men.

Oh if we are aggressive in trade month i will be pumped. Neeld must build his own list.

Until then i wait. Jeremy Howe must practise kicking.

1996 - MFC votes to merge.

2008 - MFC is $5m in debt.

Today - debt free, immediate future secured, we talk about the quality of our footy. That's how it's meant to be and that's why I'm optimistic.

MODERATORS - we have a "like" button; can we please have a "dislike"?

i would like an uninterrupted pre season with very few players injured.

i would like a season where the off field side of things runs smoothly - the opposite of this year

i would like jurrah back and fit

• Author

Another reason to be cheerful - Blease has re-signed for 2 years. See it's all good. Things are coming together.

I've really liked the form of tappscot and trengove in recent weeks, another preseason and watch out!

Another reason to be cheerful - Blease has re-signed for 2 years. See it's all good. Things are coming together.

Im with you all the way. Awesome thread.