Posted

Mark Neeld is warming up the realty bus and should be at your place soon to pick you up.

Is the bus to go looking at property to buy?

Posted (edited)

8 wins? Pssh.

We're about to go on the greatest run in AFL history. 17 wins consecutive to win the flag. Watch this space. :)

Edited by Striker475
Posted

It is extremely hard to work this out. What we saw on Saturday was the first 4 qtr effort this year. Besides Sydney most games we actually competed well for 2-3 quarters, we just lasped for periods of the game and in those periods were scored heavily against. To me we play 4 quarter footy and we win more than we lose, confidence grows our forward line clicks we can win 6-8. The flip side is we dont play 4 qtr footy, we are not good enough to win games only playing 2-3 quarters of footy against any AFL team. So we could win 8 and we also finish with 1.

What I don't want to do is worry about where we finish due to our draft picks and Jack Viney, win as many as we can we will still get 3 first round worthy players.

Posted

Sorry, but we're not going to get another 8+ wins for the season. I'm confident of our future but if we get another 5 or 6 then we'll have done very well.

Like your enthusiasm though :lol:

I agree with you Jarka, but a lot of people would have been saying similar things in '87 if this forum had existed back then.

Posted (edited)

hmmmmm '87. A fine vintage, all upside and the monumental game at the Western Oval to top off the home and away. Crowd cheering every Hawks goal... And the iconic tragic irony a month later when the Hawks...

Glory days

Beat the Dons in Round 10 that year too.

Edited by PaulRB
Posted

I am with the OP all the way - as I said here: - 10 wins is what I still reckon... and I had hoped for that without any wins in the first 11 rounds!

It is obvious your valium prescription is in need of a top up L.D. enjoy the trip...!

Posted

I don't see why the statement is so outlandish, 7 more out of 12 is not a big call, when youve just knocked off 2nd on the ladder, have some players to come back, and a very soft draw?

Posted

North own us, and they know it too.

Big words that mean nothing. Its about as meaningful as Shinboner spirit.

My 12yo said we have won the last 2 against the Bombers so we own them!

Ah yeah!

I don't see why the statement is so outlandish, 7 more out of 12 is not a big call, when youve just knocked off 2nd on the ladder, have some players to come back, and a very soft draw?

Yee gads!

If the Dons had made just 2 of those easy shots goals they would have won. They played like they were on holiday. They didnt turn up.

We are a chance against GC and GWS, the rest we will battle to be competitive.

Posted

I am with Rhino on this 1. Hopefully 1 more surprise win for the year and at least 2 out 3 wins against GWS and GC is a realistic expectation. 4 - 5 wins would be a good result after 0-9...

Posted

Im thinking we will beat collingwood and it is a 50/50 game

We will have 4 or 5 wins at the seasons end.

I think the club might hold Mark back just a little with the super draft coming just IMO

Big Jim even on the comedy thread that is not funny.

For a number of reasons the MFC needs as many wins as we can scrap together in 2013.

Tanking gets you nothing but a bad reputation.

Posted

Im thinking we will beat collingwood and it is a 50/50 game

We will have 4 or 5 wins at the seasons end.

I think the club might hold Mark back just a little with the super draft coming just IMO

The Betting Public are thinking it's a 87/13 game. Even thinking 75/25 might be charitable.

Posted

If we can solidify and make a habit of the four quarter effort, replicate it for the rest of the year and improve then maybe 8+. However, it is a huge IF at this stage.

As they say "One Swallow does not make a Spring".

"One swallow does not make a [censored]."
Posted

Very early call - I'd rather wait till after the bye, but here goes for the results after the bye!

Worst case: one win v GC at MCG Aug 5

Best case: four wins - GWS Jun 24 MCG, Frem Jul 14 ES (but who knows with Frem's form?), PA Jul 21 TIO (just, but again PA's form?), GC Aug 5 MCG.

Sorry fellow posters, but it doesn't look good - I will be very happy if I am wrong!

Posted

Mark Neeld is warming up the realty bus and should be at your place soon to pick you up.

Cracked me up.

I know about 'would of, could of' etc, but what would we be all saying if we put in a spirited 4 quarter effort last week, but the Bombers kicked 16.6 on us, instead of 6.16?

Posted

Cracked me up.

I know about 'would of, could of' etc, but what would we be all saying if we put in a spirited 4 quarter effort last week, but the Bombers kicked 16.6 on us, instead of 6.16?

If their first behind had been a goal it'd be back to the middle and we'd be in a completely alternate universe. We might've won by more for all we know. It's why the "if this, if that" arguments are pointless, because we have no idea how alternate results early in the game would have affected the rest of the match.

Posted

This is a comedy thread isn't it??

Congratulations on 14,000 posts WYL... mate I even post when I'm in the crapper & I still can't get to 200

Happy Anniversary

MFC WON'T win more thN 6 .. D you guys forget our bogey sides are Bullfrogs and North

Posted

some of you lot are born losers, plain and simple 'what if they kicked straight' i seem to remember us putting quite a few the wrong side of the post including absolute gimmies by magner and garland in the last, not to mention a clear goal to nicholson that wasnt paid. besides, kicking goals is actually part of the game you know. We smashed them in the clearances, handled the wet better and played tougher and we beat them fair and square. The low self-esteem of some of you truly makes me sick, even my bomber mates didnt bother with the 'we didnt kick straight' routine cos its a garbage account of the match

Posted

Amazing that we have gone from people actually thinking we would go through the year 0 and 22 to now people hoping/demanding we go 6 and 16 at least and hoping for 10 and 12...

Crazy lot we are, hmm?

3-4 wins tops

Posted

I prefer these threads talking about how many games we are going to win as opposed to what draft pick selections are we going to get.

No idea how many we will win but anything above 6 would be fantastic given our start.