James Strauss

Posted

Hope he plays against the Pies #7 left the door wide open for a spot if he wants it and all reports suggests running well and looking strong.

Could be a comeback story that all would admire after what 6ish months since the break

He's available for a game against P&P's this weekend. Let's hope the confidence comes back with a coupla touches 4 the young fella.

Astounding. I was at the game and thought it could of been career ending as his lower leg looked totally rooted. Really Great news

don't know a lot about him apart from the BREAK. We all wish him the best. Absolute shocker after promising start to his career.

I just noticed on the HS website (so take it with a pinch of salt) that he was listed as having a leg injury and is out for 2 weeks. Did something happen to him in his first game back? Or is this just the Sun not updating his injury progress.

This kid coming back this quick, and missing that little footy is fair dinkum unbelievable. I think of Barlow and Nathan Brown and the fact that Barlow is still iffy after a couple of years, and Brown was never the same. I have to admit, I was one who had him written off completely.

• Author

I just noticed on the HS website (so take it with a pinch of salt) that he was listed as having a leg injury and is out for 2 weeks. Did something happen to him in his first game back? Or is this just the Sun not updating his injury progress.

He's playing on Saturday night with Casey so think it's just an issue of not being updated

• 3 weeks later...

Any updates on Strauss' injury absence? It has been reported that he copped a knock to the head two weeks ago, yet the official injury lists in the papers have him listed as "leg". Does this mean he is suffering soreness in the leg he broke as Brown and Barlow both did upon their comebacks?

someone on here was saying he stil pulls up a little sore after some of the casey games this year but he didn't play last week did he?

Any updates on Strauss' injury absence? It has been reported that he copped a knock to the head two weeks ago, yet the official injury lists in the papers have him listed as "leg". Does this mean he is suffering soreness in the leg he broke as Brown and Barlow both did upon their comebacks?

My understanding is YES DD

I also saw a comment from him that said that.

• 1 month later...

Good to hear in Misson's injury update video that the reason he has been out most recently was surgery to remove the pins in his leg.

Obviously the doctors must be happy with how the leg has healed and he'll be ready to play again soon.

I've had a slightly similar injury to my ankle, and the later surgery to remove pins was a much quicker recovery, and I was back to new shortly after.

Fingers crossed it's the same with Straussy.

• Author

He's either play Casey this week or next and after the pins removed earlier complications and soreness with the legs are largely subsided.

Hopefully will play a big part for us for the next few weeks!

Did James play on the weekend? Keen to see him back and making his way back into the team.

I expect that he wil be "eased back" through Casey over several weeks. An amazing comeback to this time though. Well done James, and his care team.

When he broke his leg last year I thought well there goes 2012.

He seems to have recovered well but I doubt we will see him in the seniors at all this year.

And why risk him.

He seems to have recovered well but I doubt we will see him in the seniors at all this year.

And why risk him.

When we look back on those with broken legs such as James' leg, it is amazing how quick they can come back to footy. But I believe it really takes another year before they are back to the level of expectation.

I think back to Nathan Brown. He had hot spot complications 12 months later. And struggled first year back. Voss took a little while to get going again.

Thing with Strauss is he still has development to go and quite young. When he did it, he was just coming to terms with AFL level and taking some steps forward.

I'd love him to get back to that stage in the remaining rounds we have left.

When we look back on those with broken legs such as James' leg, it is amazing how quick they can come back to footy. But I believe it really takes another year before they are back to the level of expectation.

I think back to Nathan Brown. He had hot spot complications 12 months later. And struggled first year back. Voss took a little while to get going again.

Thing with Strauss is he still has development to go and quite young. When he did it, he was just coming to terms with AFL level and taking some steps forward.

I'd love him to get back to that stage in the remaining rounds we have left.

I think everyone is gun shy from Nathan Brown's experience.

And by the way he is contracted for next year - not sure which genius orchestrated that.

My mistake this should have been in the Cale Morton thread.

Edited by jnrmac

Barlow came back super fast and was playing great football too.

Michael Barlow broke his leg in Round 14 2010 and didn't appear again at senior level until Rd 13 2011 and was still nowhere near his best until this year.

Strauss will be back but we need to be patient before judging how well he comes back.

And why risk him.

I guess why not? IF he regains his form and general fitness, he is probably no more at risk playing AFL than VFL -- maybe even less so (unless he comes up against Fletcher who has special permission from AFL to stick his leg out at will).

I think everyone is gun shy from Nathan Brown's experience.

Nathan Brown had a massively botched operation on his broken leg, and problems with scar tissue. Rods were left in too long and he never regained proper muscle function.

He is to compound leg fractures what Egan is to foot stress fractures. The worst case scenario and one that is unlikely to be repeated again.

And by the way he is contracted for next year - not sure which genius orchestrated that.

Besides your overt negativity, do you bring anything to the table..?