View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

James Magner

And my point is that I don't see any upside in him whereas clearly guys like blease,Morton,gysberts,Mckenzie,couch etc all have potential and need game time. There has to be a reason why he was overlooked in 6 drafts

Unless he is playing midfield for 100% of his game time then he is a liability. If he's not playing there then he shouldn't be playing.

And my point is that I don't see any upside in him whereas clearly guys like blease,Morton,gysberts,Mckenzie,couch etc all have potential and need game time. There has to be a reason why he was overlooked in 6 drafts

A tapering off of form is one thing but calling him our 'biggest liability' Gotzy, after the effort he's put in? Bit harsh mate.

For me the biggest liabilities are easily the showponies on 400+k a season who keep serving up donuts each weekend.

I would have thought the biggest liabilities are those that turnover the ball ala Morton (without creating another Mortoneske thread).

Magner's doing his job whether its in the middle getting the hard ball or playing a defensive forward role; like the one on Maxwell, bonus was winning the one on one contest and jagging the goal in the 3rd Q. I reckon there's alot more upside to him rather than liabilties.

Once we get a bit more pace running through the mid-field he's worth will only go up.

Edited by stinga81

Every quality unit needs its dependable foot soldiers. He aint arriving on an AFL list at 24 as Patrick Dangerfield. He's a 15-22 selected player who will do a job to the best of his ability. Hanging him for not being classy is picking low hanging fruit.

A tapering off of form is one thing but calling him our 'biggest liability' Gotzy, after the effort he's put in? Bit harsh mate.

For me the biggest liabilities are easily the showponies on 400+k a season who keep serving up donuts each weekend.

Point taken RR. Perhaps it's a bit harsh and I concede that many of our players can learn quite a bit from

him but geez we're not getting much out of him

One AFL pre-season under his belt, has played every game, many of them quite well and never a sub.

The poor bloke is knackered and needs a spell. Hopefully the bye will be enough but I feel pretty confident that after a year and two pre-seasons he will be very handy.

Biggest liability!!! To quote a Monty Python sketch (Grim Reaper) ....."what a strange man"........

His inside work is as good or better than most of the names you mentioned, he just inst being played inside anymore. I would rather him inside than Sylvia, Trengove and Mckenzie atm.

I was going to reply and state that he has had a number of defensive/negating roles that have hindered his attacking output but enough have said the same thing already so I'll say nothing

Oh, I already said it

damn!

Magner is churning along more than ok for a first year player, nevermind his VFL experience. He raised expectations with a great start, will be interesting to see how he goes after the bye.

I don't see any question marks on his current or longer term usefulness to the club. Frankly to say he is our 'big liability' is as stupid as it is insulting to Magner.

I very, very rarely address anyone personally in forums, I'm not into stirring or pointless confrontation, but on this occasion 'Gotzy15', would you mind just pulling your head in, please? Thank you.

Hardly a liability, hes got more heart than most on our list

Do you know of a better 1st year player on our list???? He may be mature that just means he can handle the bigger bodies of the AFL but he is still a first year player who is tired and learning different aspect to his game. Lets see how he goes after a break and even more so with another full pre season.

I will take the attitude of James Magner every day...players like him and Jordie Mckenzie are going to set the standard for EFFORT.

Brent Moloney copuld learn a lot from Jmes Magner.

Has a red hot go every week. Getting paid a fraction of what Moloney, Silvia and Davey are. Rookie listed and best 1st year player by a mile. Showing heaps of heart.

Liability? Only in terms of thoroughly embarrassing many of our more experienced senior players.

Need a big bodies like his. No point packing the midfield with inexperienced talent that knows VFL footy. He can get his hands on the ball. Just needs to learn to break the tag. Can have a Guy Rigoni-like role.

Wow what a thread.

Here goes. Neeld is trying to teach contested footy. Why do you think he has played Rivers and Garland up forward? ASk yourself that question before potting Magner. Why do you think Jack Watts is being played in defence?

This is a learning year, sadly. But learning needs to be done. Magner has been 'roles' like a lot of our players. And he has been largely doing them pretty well.

What I said in the OP is being completely taken out of context. Everyone who has replied to the thread saying that his effort and attitude is outstanding well I don't disagree with you and I never did. We all know that. However no-one has been able to defend his kicking,lack of pace,lack of class and explain why he can't get his hands on the ball. I'm not excusing moloney for a second here but I just don't see upside in mags and at the moment he is liability to our side with his inability to get on the outside which is what were struggling with as a side!

Gotzy, with a good work ethic who is to say that Magner cant improve on his kicking and get a bit classier with the more experience he has at AFL level?