Posted (edited)
Just show us some respect on your way out mate. We have welcomed you like a brother and will do so again if you take an "impossible to refuse " offer but work for our best interests on your way out.

Agree. Would love him to stay but if he decides to take "an offer to good to refuse", he must force GWS to give us something as a show of goodwill.

Like Judd, Carlton could've picked him up PSD for nothing or lowballed Eagles but Judd forced Carlton to play ball and as a show of goodwill gave Eagles pick 3, kennedy and pick 21. He didn't want to ruin the Eagles and leave his teammates with nothing.

If Scully goes, he must do the same and force GWS to trade one of their 17 y.o. for nothing.

So something like that Jaeger O'Meara + Viney for Tom Scully and let's say Lynden Dunn.

Jaeger O'Meara is a 17y.o they have to trade any way so as a show of goodwill give him to us.

Viney is a MFC player in 2 years but this way, we get him a year early and don't have to use a first round F/S draft pick for him.

So Dees get O'Meara, Viney and compensation picks from AFL.

GWS gets Scully + player but lose 2 17y.o trade baits.

Edited by jacey

• Replies 2.1k

Posted (edited)

Like Judd, Carlton could've picked him up PSD for nothing or lowballed Eagles but Judd forced Carlton to play ball and as a show of goodwill gave Eagles pick 3, kennedy and pick 21. He didn't want to ruin the Eagles and leave his teammates with nothing.

that is not correct.. http://en.wikipedia..../2007_AFL_Draft

blues had pick 2 in the PSD.

tigers had pick 1 in the psd

melb had pick 3 in psd

So the tigers could have got him for nothing...

Edited by disco_demon

Posted

Scully is a list manager he doesn't decide who gets what compensation. The AFL does in the case of GWS. I'm sure Ablett wouldn't have wanted Geelong to get screwed like they did but that's the rules, he couldn't change anything. If Scully goes we get what the AFL decides, not what GWS decides, not what Scully decides. Completely pointless comparing it to the Judd trade.

Posted

Biggest actual indicator I feel says he is going was watching the team song in the rooms on Sunday. A lot of passion around the group, and the song was ending when it got around to Tom and he looked very Dead Pan and uncomfortable, couldn't wait to break the circle and get away. Looked to me like a bloke who wanted to share the excitement of the group, but didn't want to let him self enjoy it or get hyped because he knows he is not sticking around to enjoy so much more of this in the coming years. Great to see the likes of Martin, McKenzie, Watts, Trengove, How, Nicholson etc. so excited with the win together. We just need to remember the talent we are building in our midfield, and the potential for our greatest side of the last 50 years.

If Tom decides to move on we shouldn't hold that against him. On the field the players all know they have to play their role in the team, and when it comes to negotiating their share of the salary cap that should be no different. If Tom wants to chase the big bucks up North best of Luck to him, but we need to restrain any offer to him to a level that will not put the greater team at risk. No one player is bigger than the awesome team we are building.

I really hope Tom sticks around and forms a core of a powerful Melbourne midfield going forward. If not though, I hope he is the professional we all know he works tirelessly to be and provides Melbourne with enough notice to negotiate the best mfc outcome from the move, plan it's list and recruiting going forwards. Just show us some respect on your way out mate. We have welcomed you like a brother and will do so again if you take an "impossible to refuse " offer but work for our best interests on your way out.

Doesn't strike me as someone who allows his emotions to runneth over. Did you see the high 5's with several of the boys after the game? After last year's GF win, Collingwood's Trav Cloke just reached for a water bottle after the final siren, as did Luke Ball. Emotions are different in many people. I reckon you're jumping at shadows there......

Posted

Doesn't strike me as someone who allows his emotions to runneth over. Did you see the high 5's with several of the boys after the game? After last year's GF win, Collingwood's Trav Cloke just reached for a water bottle after the final siren, as did Luke Ball. Emotions are different in many people. I reckon you're jumping at shadows there......

Have a look at those Demon boys, some of them hardly reacting...

Posted

I heard from a reliable source that Tom is half brother of Steven Wright and Elliot Goblet.

When we have to start relying on how he sings ther club song as an indicator to whether he is staying or going we are really scratching.

A perfect example is Gary Ablett singing the club song - look how excited he is and look how that turned out ( Gary is obviously the bald one !)

Posted

Biggest actual indicator I feel says he is going was watching the team song in the rooms on Sunday.

Was drinking ORANGE Powerade in the rooms - it's an INDICATOR!

Posted

The crowd is behaving as though Tom just re-signed

Posted

What i've heard is that Tom dosen't want to go to GWS, but will if the dees don't trade him to Richmond. Tom hasen't been approached by GWS, but will nominate for the national draft, if a trade deal isn't made.

Also heard that Bailey has been told that this is his last season as head coach.

Posted

Tatu, you have a history of saying provocative things and then within the hour change your mind.

This is true... :lol:

Scully will say, by the way :blink:

Posted

I was thinking about this last night, and wondered if there was a way every party gets their way in a trade situation.

Collingwood trade Thomas (did he sign yet?) to GWS for pick 1. Then on trade that pick to Dees for Scully.

GWS get Thomas and lose Patton.

Pies lose thomas and get Scully.

We lose scully get Patton.

Obviously this is all a bit simple and there are holes all over this. But in this way, Thomas gets his monster pay packet, Scully gets his big club, and Patton gets to be the FF of the greatest team ever.

How bout GWS get scully, thomas and patton without losing anything! That is what we face - they can access one uncontracted player from each club without losing anything!

Posted
at a dump like Melbourne.

Melbourne supporters' ability to put their own club down knows no bounds.

Maurie,

Hats off to you for being able to take 5 words out of a 21 word sentence to completely change the nature said sentence. You should be a journalist.

I do not think Melbourne is a dump.

Quite clearly I was putting hypothetical words in Tom's mouth:

There is another possible: Tom wants to get to one of Melbourne's big clubs, Collingwood, Carlton, etc. In other words he reckons footy at, say, The Pies would be sweet compared with footy at a dump like Melbourne.

But it is flattering to be taken out of context.

Unless you were taking the [censored]...

Posted

I'll be sifting back through it in October.

Schadenfreude or maschocism...

We will see.

Posted

essendon signed 6 today, including their best young kid heppell.. its not that hard tom, either you want to be here or you dont.. simple

Posted

What's all this about other Vic clubs having better facilities and being more professional etc?

Don't tell me Tom hates the drive to Casey every once in a blue moon as well, isn't he from that neck of the woods?

Are we still at the Junction Oval? Last I heard we had new state of the art facilities that more than compete with everyone else, and just a Tappy drop-kick away from the 'G.

Granted we don't have first class tickets to Arizona or a cardboard factory, but it'd take more than those things to make me believe a bigger Vic club is what he wants.

Better coaching staff maybe? Tell me where Bailey has gone wrong in terms of where he's played and developed Tom.

The only thing I'd believe is an itch, an itch to play for Richmond. Can't see how that deal would get done.

It's an itch - Rich

It's money - GW$

Or it's us

I'd put money on us.

Posted

essendon signed 6 today, including their best young kid heppell.. its not that hard tom, either you want to be here or you dont.. simple

Heppell signed for one year...

Posted

It could well be the case that Tom is wanting to see how well the MFC finish off this year before signing.

Some may call that arrogant, but the circumstances are very different this year...If the MFC do make september this year it would be harder to leave compared to the barron years ahead at GWS.

Just a thought.....

Posted

It could well be the case that Tom is wanting to see how well the MFC finish off this year before signing.

Some may call that arrogant, but the circumstances are very different this year...If the MFC do make september this year it would be harder to leave compared to the barron years ahead at GWS.

Just a thought.....

I did point this out in the previous thread - the unstated factor is what if we do play finals? Even if it is a one-and-done September, it still says a lot about where the club is going and how far ahead we are relative to where GWS would be.

As for the Richmond stuff, we could simply bend them over a barrel and demand that they give us Martin in that case.

Posted

I did point this out in the previous thread - the unstated factor is what if we do play finals? Even if it is a one-and-done September, it still says a lot about where the club is going and how far ahead we are relative to where GWS would be.

As for the Richmond stuff, we could simply bend them over a barrel and demand that they give us Martin in that case.

Absolutely....If Tom decides to leave, he is walking from a trio of Jamar, Martin & Gawn in the middle....They could be the next elite Big Men.

Gawn is only 19....his game last sunday was fantastic considering his experience.

Those 3 guys could help Scully get first use of a lot of football for many years.....

Jack Watts up forward is now showing what he is capable of at the elite level, he doesn't look like a schoolboy anymore.

I honestly do not think Tom has walked away yet, and who knows what deal the MFC are going to offer him, that includes off field as well.

Posted

As powerful as any other , if it was regular we might claw him back but what if it was the Giant size?!?

Posted

I read a lot into this too. The fact that he was drinking the stuff meant that there were no first gamers to pour it on, Tom looked clearly disgusted at the lack of development at this club.

GWS will have first gamers almost every week, sure, they won't get to pour any Powerade on anyone for the first couple of seasons, but their development is already outstanding.

The fact he deliberately picked orange before flipping the bird at the MFC flag on the wall makes me wonder how anyone still has any hope of him staying.

Posted

well from all accounts it sounds as if, its down to mfc to prove it has the ambition to match Scully's to me and this is nothing other the my view, its sounds like GWS is out of the equation. Going to be a very interesting October looking forward to it. sort of.