dees189227 12,509 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 He was fantastic tonight and we missed him when he was out for those few weeks. He isnt afraid to go back for the ball or hit a contest. He is also great as the third man up. I reckon he is turning inot an elite backman. Great work Jarred and keep it up.
Striker475 696 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 He's turned it on again. Best I've seen him play since he won the Rising Star.
Juicebox 633 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 He's turned it on again. Best I've seen him play since he won the Rising Star. Agreed. Really turned back the clock tonight. At times he reads the ball as good, or if not better than anyone.
Cheesy D. Pun 1,765 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 He's turned it on again. Best I've seen him play since he won the Rising Star. Totally, I thought he was amazing tonight. That's the best game I've seen him play.
Gorgoroth 13,215 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 how good was the spoil that went at right angles about 30 meters out of bounds.
Suzanna 72 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 What ever happened to the Rivers Fan Club? You know - that bunch of guys who would show up to every match wearing T Shirts spelling out his name? I haven't seen them for a couple of years, and I did enjoy looking for them at each game - one of those bizarro things that adds to the experience really.
Eth 4 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 Will be All-Australian. Probably not this year, but he's an insanely good defender.
Guest Guy Rigoni Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 What ever happened to the Rivers Fan Club? You know - that bunch of guys who would show up to every match wearing T Shirts spelling out his name? I haven't seen them for a couple of years, and I did enjoy looking for them at each game - one of those bizarro things that adds to the experience really. Pretty sure that was during his Rising Star season, his mates back from South Australia would drive over each week he was playing in Melbourne, if i remember correctly. Also loved the bogan Essendon supporter near me tonight telling Jared in the first 5 minutes that he's a spud who hasn't done sheit since his Rising Star.
Footynut 302 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 Bring on the Jared Rivers second coming....he is finally back to his best...If only now Frawley could do the same! Good on you J RIv
Striker475 696 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 Bring on the Jared Rivers second coming....he is finally back to his best...If only now Frawley could do the same! Good on you J RIv Chip's been pretty good considering he didn't have a preseason,
sylvinator 96 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 Garland, Rivers and Chip... yeoowwww. Other team would beg for that
trudders 0 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 how good was the spoil that went at right angles about 30 meters out of bounds. smartest spoil i have ever seen. He figured that just a normal spoil would have been well crumbed by whoever that bomber guy was, forgotten now. So he belts it out of his range, quite the trick i believe.
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 He has really struggled over the last few years, but he has had a very good season to date and an absolutely sensational night tonight. Vintage Rivers. I think for him it's all about having the right match up. He isn't very fast so he can't play on someone who will cut him up on the lead. I actually think he suits FB more so than CHB because when the ball is coming in high, he excels due to his ability to read the play.
angrydee 842 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 At last. Been waiting a long time for him to really find his confidence. He was good last week, and his goal lifted him to greater heights which he brought tonight. He's back.
Trisul 674 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 He's turned it on again. Best I've seen him play since he won the Rising Star.
Dappa Dan 2,188 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 You know what he had tonight that I've not seen since he won the rising star? just the sliiiiightest hint of pace/closing speed. He's not Daniel Merrett yet in that regard, but how many times did you see him put on a chase and get there? That's not something we've seen a lot of from him for a while.
DirtyDees DDC 190 Posted June 3, 2011 Posted June 3, 2011 I watched him against the swans and he was so terrible. Great to see him return to form. He even set up a goal with great disposal. Well done Jarryd.
Demon Premonition 135 Posted June 4, 2011 Posted June 4, 2011 Undoubtably Rivers best season since Rising Star award, it is however not surprising considering the "forward press" fad that we are currently witnessing. With the press being set-up by the dees it causes longer kicks into the back half which suits Rivers footy IQ in terms of playing angles and general reading of play. Rivers never lost the ability to play he simply was exposed for closing speed during the tempo footy we saw up until 2010. I am excited what Riv will bring for the remaining games as the better we are pressing the better output we will see, could be special.
Rogue 585 Posted June 4, 2011 Posted June 4, 2011 Rivers was fantastic. I've never disliked Riv, but I have had concerns about where he fits, because he's not a gorilla keeper and - as Jaded and others have mentioned - he can be exposed for pace. He's certainly always had some major strengths to his game, though, and - based on what I saw of the game - was in our best last night.
dazzledavey36 56,278 Posted June 4, 2011 Posted June 4, 2011 was amazing last night! stoked for him to have a good game
3183 Dee 2,917 Posted June 4, 2011 Posted June 4, 2011 Rivers was immense last night. I thought the disposals and kicks out of defence were hugely improved last night - very assured and composed even when the Bombers had the pressure on. Not sure why this week should be so different - more able targets (Scully, Watts, Trengove) or just greater confidence?
dee-luded 2,959 Posted June 4, 2011 Posted June 4, 2011 What a fantastic game from him. 2 Years back I didn't think he had it in him, to come back. Well done Jared. Your going well. Gotten better consistently over the last 2 Years.
Dee Fan 3,247 Posted June 4, 2011 Posted June 4, 2011 If the ball is there to be marked you would back him over most forwards, any game, any time, speed of foot isn't everything. You can see he hates getting beaten.