WELCOME TO THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB - BILLY STRETCH

Good to see a 14 yr old playing against the 16 year olds, lets hope he does well.

Great to see the ol' 'Stretcher'. Great to see,,, and hear! Good News too...

Seriously we do get a bit carried away dont we? The kids 14 for goodness sakes. There are a lot of footballers who are 'champions' at 14 and dont progress through puberty. Other sides would be laughing at us if they knew were starting to speculate about a 14 year old. We should be focused on developing our current crop of young players and looking at potential draftees who are currently 17/18/19.

As one of the aged Demonlanders & a South Australian, I feel honour-bound to describe accurately Steven Stretch for the benefit of the youngsters and for Billy if he is reading.

Steven Stretch came to MFC in 1986 from West Torrens to form a centre line of Flower-Wilson-Stretch. To give younger Demonlanders an idea of Stretch’s ability, he was not the weak link in that trio containing a Brownlow Medallist & the VC of our Team-of-the-Century. Steven had the ability to sprint and, without breaking stride, to kick long & accurately. He was our B&F in his second year at the club; 1987 which was Robbie’s last & the year of that Preliminary Final. Steven was a star in the Northey era, which I count as our most successful & disciplined period since 1964. I was very disappointed when he transferred to Fitzroy at the end of his career.

I have a contact with the SA junior developers. Billy really is meant to be one of the best young footballers ever seen (& yes, he’s still just a kid). But, if Billy grows up to be anything like his father, all Demonlanders will be very happy!

On a personal note, I vividly recall the only MFC game when my father and I were accompanied by my mother & future wife. As usual, I was going “ape” yelling “Run, Stretch, run!” as Stretch made one of his characteristic scything runs through the outer wing. My mother touched me gently on the elbow and whispered “I think he is running, dear.” My mother never did understand football.

As one of the aged Demonlanders & a South Australian, I feel honour-bound to describe accurately Steven Stretch for the benefit of the youngsters and for Billy if he is reading.

Steven Stretch came to MFC in 1986 from West Torrens to form a centre line of Flower-Wilson-Stretch. To give younger Demonlanders an idea of Stretch’s ability, he was not the weak link in that trio containing a Brownlow Medallist & the VC of our Team-of-the-Century. Steven had the ability to sprint and, without breaking stride, to kick long & accurately. He was our B&F in his second year at the club; 1987 which was Robbie’s last & the year of that Preliminary Final. Steven was a star in the Northey era, which I count as our most successful & disciplined period since 1964. I was very disappointed when he transferred to Fitzroy at the end of his career.

I have a contact with the SA junior developers. Billy really is meant to be one of the best young footballers ever seen (& yes, he’s still just a kid). But, if Billy grows up to be anything like his father, all Demonlanders will be very happy!

On a personal note, I vividly recall the only MFC game when my father and I were accompanied by my mother & future wife. As usual, I was going “ape” yelling “Run, Stretch, run!” as Stretch made one of his characteristic scything runs through the outer wing. My mother touched me gently on the elbow and whispered “I think he is running, dear.” My mother never did understand football.

nice one nd

will keep an eye out for young Billy - sounds good so far. Steven was one of my favourites.

Seriously we do get a bit carried away dont we? The kids 14 for goodness sakes. There are a lot of footballers who are 'champions' at 14 and dont progress through puberty. Other sides would be laughing at us if they knew were starting to speculate about a 14 year old. We should be focused on developing our current crop of young players and looking at potential draftees who are currently 17/18/19.

You don't stop recruiting whilst your developing other youngsters, or we'll be called the Saints.

This is hilarious! Surely we can wait until he has at least one pubic hair or at least a bad teenage moustache before getting excited about the boy?

FUTURE CAPTAIN!!!!! OMFG!!!!11

Good on him. Regardless of whether somebody wants him to play for their club in 4 years time, taking on kids a couple of years older than him is a top effort for an early teen.

Stretch must be proud.

Haha, thanks for the impressions of Stretch - and the anecdote.

• 2 months later...

Gday guys

I was speaking to a client at work today whos son plays U18s for Glenelg which Is who Billy Stretch plays for. Billy Is playing U16s as a bottom age player and according to this guys son he's an absolute gun and Is a monty to play In the U16 state carnival for SA next year.

Just thought I'd pass on what I was told.

Also found this article Adelaide Oval holds great expectations for Billy Stretch

Gday guys

I was speaking to a client at work today whos son plays U18s for Glenelg which Is who Billy Stretch plays for. Billy Is playing U16s as a bottom age player and according to this guys son he's an absolute gun and Is a monty to play In the U16 state carnival for SA next year.

Just thought I'd pass on what I was told.

Also found this article Adelaide Oval holds great expectations for Billy Stretch

If Billy the Kid turns out to be as good as his old man (and I still reside on this planet), I will be a very happy, very old man.

I second your thoughts but more importantly, I hope I see another premiership..

I say the MFC needs to hire a geneticist and match maker for our 100+ game players, as part of our development plans. Moloney's looking for a partner to sire his little demon player. If we start now we'll be ahead of the Pies (I hope) and can start planning for the inevitable run of flags from 2032+ yeee haar :wacko:

"Billy the Kid" love it.

Moloney's looking for a partner to sire his little demon player.

Lauren Jackson?

I say the MFC needs to hire a geneticist and match maker for our 100+ game players, as part of our development plans. Moloney's looking for a partner to sire his little demon player

I say we try pair our players up with Bianca Franklin (Lance Franklin's sister) who plays for Adelaide Thunderbirds in the ANZ Netball Championship. She is about six foot tall and obviously has footy genetics in her blood.

Max Gawn and Lauren Jackson would be a good match up... could create a versatile 220cm ruckman for our tilt at 2035 premiership. Haha

As stupid as all this sounds... it isn't really science fiction. There is a book about Yao Ming (229cm Chinese NBA superstar) that says Chinese officials planned his parents (who were both basketball players of great height) marriage, and then forced Yao to play basketball in his youth despite a clear hatred for the sport. It also states that he was given growth hormones as a child to accelerate his growth, despite already being above average height. Anyway, the rest is history... he went pick #1 in the 2002 NBA draft, and is/was one of the greatest Centres of the modern era. Although rumour has it that he will announce his retirement today.

EDIT - Bianca Franklin is now married to Rugby player Matt Giteau. Ahh well, at least our rugby stocks are in good stead for the future. Haha

Lauren Jackson?

Hahaha. You beat me to it. I like your thinking!

Does he have the same mullet?

Pop Quiz.

How many crow eaters are at Melbourne already ?

Lauren Jackson?

No chance of getting a father/son, ruled herself out around the time of the Sydney Olympics.

Lauren Jackson?

Hiring of scaffolding and crane hire should do the trick.

It is sad though, i still have Hawthorn "mates" remind me of that one reasnoably often...What can you say???

Tell them to run backwards while you and 2 mates charge at them with the intent to hurt them.

Does he have the same mullet?

Pop Quiz.

How many crow eaters are at Melbourne already ?

I'm going to take an outright punt at this...will probably get it wrong...

Trengove

Tapscott

Jamar

and I reckon there's one more but dunno who...4?

Lauren Jackson?

Maybe ok- but Malgorzata Dydek would be better IMO.Beamer would need a step ladder...she is a basket ball player in the US and stands at 218 cms tall..

Rivers too/ My old man played against his old man in the Spencer Gulf League in SA yyyyyeeeeeeaaaaaarrrrrrrrrsssssss ago.

Says he was a no nonsense, tough bugger too.