DRAFTIN' TIME!

Who is reminded of Jack Watts when watching highlights of Lucas Cook? I am

Yeah, as the guy above said, we get hyped up on all the youtubes and promos...

i recall seeing the Watts youtubes and thinking we had a stellar pack-marking, dead-eye kick from anywhere within 50, especially the set shot!

Then i was reminded he was playing 18yos...

then he had that gamewinning set shot against Freo at which point i mentioned "this could be The Breakout/ Naysayer Smasher Game!" - missed, Deez lost, Watts up with that!

Key positioners take at least 2-3 years (and then we pray they don't come from WA/ Collingwood when they strike form!)

nope! although paul daffey from afl.com said we'd pick howe at 53, so close enough.

yeah, give him that one. could be a robbo who keeps his feet? Here's hoping. Looked a bit like modra in clips

Well when you have picks 1,17,19,1,2,11&18, it's pretty hard to go wrong. With our selections made tonight, we will really get to see if BP is any good at his job.

You seem to be forgetting some of BP's late picks over the last couple of years DD. Bennell(#35), Bail (#64), Wonaeamirri and McKenzie (Rookies) were pretty solid selections, don't you agree?

I think people talking about Lucas Cook being taken too early are off the mark. Here is a player that's been through the elite player programs and identified as an immense key position talent for a very long time and has capped that off with an All-Australian under 18 championship selection this year. Obviously the club bypassed Smedts and Atley who were the obvious two that slid past, along with perhaps Jayden Pitt, but to me there weren't players taken that are demonstratively better players than Cook, who at 196cm has the ability to really work from the CHF position to make contests, pressure ball carriers, but also take contested marks and kick goals. Dont think he is like Watts at all, more a traditional key forward, with a workmanlike bent to his game. He also has the tools to play CHB as well. Long term - Watts, Jurrah, Cook look a multidimensional, harmonious potential key forward mix.

Haven't seen Howe play but I dont think he's a Robertson type going from the videotapes, just has the ability to jump and take a hanger, but looks to have a bit of X-factor, but also a bit of balance and poise about himself. Seems decent insurance for Jurrah.

Cook was described by BP as a tall lead up fwd. That means we have Watts, Fitzpatrick, Cook, Howe and possibly Jurrah as lead up fwds. Do we have anyone that is not a lead up forward? Someone that can stay at home (a la Ben Holland) and knock the ball to our crumbers if they cannot mark it?? Hale was supposed to fit that bill.

I think people talking about Lucas Cook being taken too early are off the mark. Here is a player that's been through the elite player programs and identified as an immense key position talent for a very long time and has capped that off with an All-Australian under 18 championship selection this year. Obviously the club bypassed Smedts and Atley who were the obvious two that slid past, along with perhaps Jayden Pitt, but to me there weren't players taken that are demonstratively better players than Cook, who at 196cm has the ability to really work from the CHF position to make contests, pressure ball carriers, but also take contested marks and kick goals. Dont think he is like Watts at all, more a traditional key forward, with a workmanlike bent to his game. He also has the tools to play CHB as well. Long term - Watts, Jurrah, Cook look a multidimensional, harmonious potential key forward mix.

Haven't seen Howe play but I dont think he's a Robertson type going from the videotapes, just has the ability to jump and take a hanger, but looks to have a bit of X-factor, but also a bit of balance and poise about himself. Seems decent insurance for Jurrah.

Well they went for Cook instead of Darling who slid to 26... I'd say that there were more than just a few concerns as to Darling's extra curricula activities. I like the sound of Cook (but then I've always liked the quiet, humble types who play for the team rather than themselves.)

Like the way this kid moves - Got a bit of a young Jonothon Brown look about him.

He might even be skipper one day, imagine that Captain Cook

Good work BP

agree with that - happy with this selection, looks like the big marking forward we need.

we now have some more tall timber...these boys should be rapt to join a club that is heading in the right direction...compared with previous years these drafties won't have the same media focus...boys just need to settle...head down bum up!

Who is reminded of Jack Watts when watching highlights of Lucas Cook? I am

I hope you are wrong "steveheals"!

I would like Cook to be really good.

So is his nick name "Captain"

Well they went for Cook instead of Darling who slid to 26... I'd say that there were more than just a few concerns as to Darling's extra curricula activities. I like the sound of Cook (but then I've always liked the quiet, humble types who play for the team rather than themselves.)

I had hopes for Darling. Thought he might be a bit of a Brereton.

Of course that depended on FD assessing his off-field stability. Seems they assessed it too risky. C'est la vie.

Maybe Howe will provide some X factor?

i'm thinking:

jurrah cook petterd

green watts bennell

not so sure on that six!

two of them worry me and where is Dunn?

I had hopes for Darling. Thought he might be a bit of a Brereton.

Of course that depended on FD assessing his off-field stability. Seems they assessed it too risky. C'est la vie.

Maybe Howe will provide some X factor?

Me too "daisycutter" we need some mongrel at the Dees.

So far the FD have done pretty well but time will tell.

i'm thinking:

jurrah cook petterd

green watts bennell

Not for a while, not unless we had midfielders casually running in hitting blokes on the [censored] without pressure. That forward line would be pulverised against a strong defence.

I would say that Howe is more likely to play senior footy before Cook at this stage, heard Bailey on SEN say as much.

Tom McDonald is a part time ruckman and from the looks of it a decent one. He's only 194cm though

So was Schwartz.

Cook was described by BP as a tall lead up fwd. That means we have Watts, Fitzpatrick, Cook, Howe and possibly Jurrah as lead up fwds. Do we have anyone that is not a lead up forward? Someone that can stay at home (a la Ben Holland) and knock the ball to our crumbers if they cannot mark it?? Hale was supposed to fit that bill.

Watts it seems. He played that role as an U-18. FF play out at 40Mtrs - to the square these days. Anyway, if they can both play either role, thats even bettter, rotating around confusing the Opp' defenders.

One thing to keep in mind with Howe is he is actually older than Watts. Cook is very skinny and probably won't even play next year but I'd be hopefull (howe hopefull?) pretty hopefull and I reckon the FD might be hopefull too for Howe to play real early and make an impact next year!

He might even be skipper one day, imagine that Captain Cook

Well we better get rid of our 4th pick before he ages, or he will be "Old McDonald."

No lesser authority than Chris From Camberwell who always rings into SEN - "Hello, I'd like to talk about the Melbourne Football Club, please" - was spruiking Cook this afternoon.

Well we better get rid of our 4th pick before he ages, or he will be "Old McDonald."

Ee I Ee I Oh.

No lesser authority than Chris From Camberwell who always rings into SEN - "Hello, I'd like to talk about the Melbourne Football Club, please" - was spruiking Cook this afternoon.

Chris from Camberwell is a total classic!!! he always asks about 13 questions before anybody else can speak!! HaHaHa-but he does know his stuff. B)

I think we need either Cook or Howe (probably Howe) to play in Round 1 for forward line structure, presuming they're ready

I'm fairly confident Ricky Petterd returning from injury and a bloke named Tapscott will be able to contribute to the forward line adequately come round 1. The first 2 picks really come across as development players, especially Cook.

• Author

I'm seeing Cook as this year's version of Bail. Not a similar player but a really good athlete, a little older and more or less ready to go physically. They'll have to do a bit of work on his game perhaps, but the rest is there.