The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Reward effort with support

Tatu

Posted

After such a valiant effort against the pies, it's time for MFC supporters to reward the players and club with a dominating home crowd vs the crows.

MFC need to pull higher crowd numbers vs interstate team.

Now is the time! ;)

Posted

I reckon on that performance we should pull 22k to the game as the crows will get a bit of support.

I really hope we're up and about again next week. Crows supporters apparently booed Neil Craig off the ground yesterday. He's a proud man and they'll come out hard. But if we replicate Saturday's commitment we'll win. It'd be great to see a big Demons crowd out there to make their life as miserable as possible!

Posted

one point loss, could have a draining effect on the players. Who lead in every stat, except the scoreboard. It's possible that they could drop there heads, next week. Which is why a big showing of red & blue is so important.

Posted

Haven't missed a game at the G for about 3 years, but the Collingwood to Melbourne supporter ratio on saturday was abysmal, i think it was about 7 -1.

Same with the Hawks game round 1, brown and gold everywhere.

Posted

one point loss, could have a draining effect on the players. Who lead in every stat, except the scoreboard. It's possible that they could drop there heads, next week. Which is why a big showing of red & blue is so important.

Not a chance, way to many positives to come out of that game. I guarantee, the players will be itching to get back onto the G to play ANY side. They would have the belief that they can not only play competitive football for 4 quarters... they can WIN a game irrespective of who the opponent is.

They boys, especially Sylvia (who i bet was creaming to get onto the ground Saturday) will come out with the same intensity. Because they know they can win.

Posted

Haven't missed a game at the G for about 3 years, but the Collingwood to Melbourne supporter ratio on saturday was abysmal, i think it was about 7 -1.

Not even close.

It was about 5-2.

Posted

one point loss, could have a draining effect on the players. Who lead in every stat, except the scoreboard. It's possible that they could drop there heads, next week.

If that happens i'll jump off a bridge... probably wont go through with it, but i'll contemplate it for a good half an hour..

Luckily for me that wont happen... What Sturman said times it by 2.

Also the players will feel that playing that well and going down by a mesely 1 point, there may have been passages of play where a little lift in intensity here, a little more poise and foresight there, and the result very easily could have been different.

I feel the 1 point loss will actually spur them on for that extra 10% next weekend. Add to that the inclusion of Sylvia and it's actually looking quite damn incouraging..... talked myself into a punt on the dees. Nice.

Posted

They won't drop there heads, but they might get tried in the last quarter. go Dees. Gee a winning streak would be good. but lets take it one win at a time

Posted

There was a good ratio in round 1, but we had nothing to cheer for. Hawthorn is one of the teams I'm never worried about in regards to supporter numbers. They don't have THAT many fans. Don't be fooled by their 50,000 members: many are 1 game memberships, and they have 10,000+ that are in Tassie. I'd say they have a 25,000-35,000 strong membership of committed members in Melbourne that go to every game. Had we actually been given something to cheer for, you'd have noticed that the crowd wasn't as one sided as it looked.

But, based on the TV showing, Melb v Collingwood sounded like 10-1.

But we always seem to come out for interstate games, even when we get only 16k to the ground. As long as we create a cauldron (which we normally do. Those two games against Freo and Brisbane in 2008 are two of my most memorable as a supporter), we can make a lot of noise.

See of red and blue people! Wear your team colours!

Posted

I commented at the game that I have not seen a more 1 sided crowd in 4 years. Out of 50000, there is no way there were more than 10000 Dee`s fans! I Caught a packed train into the G and I was the only Demon fan to be seen. Woeful turnout.

I`m taking my 10 week old boy to his first game this w/end! I reckon I`ve missed 2 games in Vic in 4 years.

Posted

I'll be going with my dad. Hopefully we can get our first win!!

GO DEES

Posted

I reckon there would have been a lot of casual fans turned off by the poor performance in round one, and maybe even by some bad experiences with Collingwood supporters in the past. But hopefully Saturday's performance will have them returning for more.

Posted

I think it's imperative we draw a decent crowd next week. Over 30,000 at least,

its up to every MFC supporter to grab 4 of their mates/family and drag them to the footy next

week no excuses I have already lined my mates up some don't even barrack for either side.

Week in week out we ask for the non negotiables from our team how about some fair dinkum support rather than

fare weather bandwagoning.

Get to the game no excuse. Your working take a day off, the missus wants you to stay home divorce is not

out of the realms of acceptability to get to the game, you'll be out of town crap come back and go to the game.

It's an absolute must we need to draw decently to remain relevant this is the mandate we should be

expecting we have a responsibility as supporters of the custodian club of the greatest game.

Posted

its up to every MFC supporter to grab 4 of their mates/family and drag them to the footy next

week no excuses I have already lined my mates up some don't even barrack for either side.

Week in week out we ask for the non negotiables from our team how about some fair dinkum support rather than

Get to the game no excuse. Your working take a day off, the missus wants you to stay home divorce is not

out of the realms of acceptability to get to the game, you'll be out of town crap come back and go to the game.

It's an absolute must we need to draw decently to remain relevant this is the mandate we should be

expecting we have a responsibility as supporters of the custodian club of the greatest game.

Thats the spirit!

Posted

After such a valiant effort against the pies, it's time for MFC supporters to reward the players and club with a dominating home crowd vs the crows.

Now is the time! ;)

I couldn't agree more. The pies supporters came to life half way through the last quarter - couldn't help but notice. They had been silent until then - and brought them home. Our supporters who were spread very thinly were not able to give our boys the same support.

Come on everyone - we need you there.

Posted

Now is the time! ;)

I've got a hunch, sorry Derryn, B) that there may be a surprise selection this week. Just a guess, don't know why, but somehow feel for our 2nd home game, somthing may happen?

Posted

Get to the game no excuse. Your working take a day off, the missus wants you to stay home divorce is not out of the realms of acceptability to get to the game, you'll be out of town crap come back and go to the game.

... church ... :)

Posted

:wub: