Scully and Trengove on footy show

We have potential champions of the game in Watts, Scully, Trengove and Grimes. If one makes it that far it'd be great, if 2 made it it'd be amazing, if all 4 made it we'd be counting the premierships for years to come. The Fire has most definately started and I'm hoping it's going to burn down 46 odd years of shite football.

I was happy how Lyon spent more time with the Melbourne boys than the other 3, and how he seemed to light up introducing them. He genuinally seemed excited.

There are 2 players on our list who are lifelong Melbourne supporters. Are we assuming they are all waiting for their chance to run off to the team they cheered for as a kid. It's just not even a little bit realistic.

The 'go home factor' is one of the greatest myths of the AFL.

Utter nonsense. Even our own recruiting guys have mentioned it. There was an interview around draft time where it was brought up that a WA kid had told clubs if he were drafted to Victoria he'd be counting down the weeks until his contract was up. Des Headland wore a Fremantle top to his draft interviews and bailed the second he could. Gavin Wanganeen won a brownlow with the bombers and bailed on them in a heartbeat. Obviously we've been stung before with Thompson and the Wizard. There is plenty of precedent to back those worried about this kind of thing.

When I heard Trengove drop that line, I too sat up and took notice. I really hope it was just nerves causing his tongue to run off in directions he wasn't pointing it, but there is precedent and in the past premierships and brownlows haven't been enough to keep players at the clubs they were drafted to (or even the club setting them up with models who like to wear really skimpy red dresses). I just really hope we're not going to be in for a shock in three years.

Give the boys a break. They were about as nervous as a white mouse in a tampon factory.

Jeez this Henny Penny brigade makes me laugh. What do you think we should do? Only draft spuds from Metro-Melbourne so they won't want to go home and even if they do want to change clubs nobody will want them?

Utter nonsense. Even our own recruiting guys have mentioned it. There was an interview around draft time where it was brought up that a WA kid had told clubs if he were drafted to Victoria he'd be counting down the weeks until his contract was up. Des Headland wore a Fremantle top to his draft interviews and bailed the second he could. Gavin Wanganeen won a brownlow with the bombers and bailed on them in a heartbeat. Obviously we've been stung before with Thompson and the Wizard. There is plenty of precedent to back those worried about this kind of thing.

When I heard Trengove drop that line, I too sat up and took notice. I really hope it was just nerves causing his tongue to run off in directions he wasn't pointing it, but there is precedent and in the past premierships and brownlows haven't been enough to keep players at the clubs they were drafted to (or even the club setting them up with models who like to wear really skimpy red dresses). I just really hope we're not going to be in for a shock in three years.

You are right, but it is the Club as whole who has to make these boys want to stay here, make the MFC run through their blood.

Norm Smith was a Huge Filth supporter before he came to melbourne, granted their was not the big money then but Norm became Melbourne.

If the club continues to grow in all directions these guys will want to stay hopefully, remember Thompson left when we were stuck at the junction oval antique shop and went back to state of the art facilities.

Once our new Gyms are open at casey and Bubble dome The MFC will feel so much more like a club to be at. Sure hope so anyway.

Once Free Agency kicks in who can tell what is going to happen.

But these guys havent even started yet so lets enjoy the ride and see what happens.

But one thing we must do as supporters is make a lot of noise at the games, so the players feel our support out there.

Gotta get rid of that image that we are "dull" supporters-it's carp i know but people out there believe it (heard a poll on SEN the other morning that made me want to throw up really. Everybody was just hanging it on the MFC)

We will not be the whipping post for much longer, and the AFL community hopefully will get the shock of their lives.

Even if there is something to be concerned about with Trengove (which there isn't in my eyes), why waste energy worrying about it now? Just sit back and enjoy the ride. Whatever happens, happens. I never understand why footy supporters want to worry about this level of "problem" -- i.e. one that is completely beyond anyone's control. Takes the fun out of it I reckon.

self flagellation.

Personally I don't see the point in joining a team that's now fading and will drop out of the Top 8 soon (Adelaide) or joining a team that doesn't seem to be going anywhere (Port Adelaide). He might as well stay at Melbourne, where he has a real shot at playing in a premiership, if that's really what he meant by 'a great place to start his career.'

Bizarre, I know, but I happen to think he just meant that he is starting out his career and the Melbourne Football Club is a great place to do it.

Nothing more or less.

Stop jumping at shadows people, please.

I can`t believe the legs this thread has got from 1 simple statement to be honest. I heard him say it, and how anyone can think he will jump ship is scaremongering of the highest order

This is what happens when people have been deprived of football and indeed wins for so long.

Poor Jack looked like he was about to wee in his pants, he was that nervous.

And to be honest, I was more concerned that he used the phrase "yeah nah" :rolleyes::P

This is what happens when people have been deprived of football and indeed wins for so long.

Poor Jack looked like he was about to wee in his pants, he was that nervous.

And to be honest, I was more concerned that he used the phrase "yeah nah" :rolleyes::P

I noticed that too. Nasty.

What the heck did he even say?

Something along the lines of `` the MFC being a great place to start his career``. From that, one can only deduce that his career at the MFC will be over in 3 years time. No doubt Sculls wants out too!

That's sensible...

The only thing here is that the go-home factor goes both ways. They might have a gun Victorian at some stage who wants to head to Victoria, and assuming in 3 years that we're ready to strike, we may be the most attractive option.

Also, it's not like the club gets short-changed. You would hope that in the least, Trengove gives us good service BEFORE he made a decision to go back home. If he did, then we'd be compensated hugely with draft picks, players etc.

Add to this the Judd factor. If we have him for these three years, then say another 2-3, he very well could have played his best footy a-la Judd. The longer it goes, the more I reckon West Coast made out well with that deal.

No reason to slit your wrists just yet. Assuming he does want to go (which is a long bow to draw at this stage, it has to be said), there's plenty of silver lining on that cloud.

I was happy how Lyon spent more time with the Melbourne boys than the other 3, and how he seemed to light up introducing them. He genuinally seemed excited.

Personally i think the whole thing was a puff piece from Lyon, for the MFC(to generate memberships). The only reason they had the other players, was so it wasn't so obvious.

Annoying getting worried about Trengove leaving is an idiot. Lets worry about that in a couple of years. AFL will be a totally different game then.

'An idiot' is being kind.

Heheh. Tom Scully. The demeanor and attitude of James McDonald and the talent level of Travis Johnstone.

If you want to see the segment, go here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZZjsYKLRWwE

First laugh at Jonathan Brown 10 years ago doing the same thing.

Then wait until 3.59, when Lyon gets to Trengove.

Then continue on where you'll see Scully embarrass himself by leaving the set when he shouldn't have. Poor guy.

Was mildly funny when Sam made a joke about him being the size of a schoolboy, but after all these years he still doesn't know when a joke is over and continued to show mock disbelief to the point of it being far from funny.

Scully did look like a dwarf next to Hall and Brown, but he is a whole 3cm taller than Ben Cousins.

Why do you think Crawford didn't get up to stand next to him when originally asked? It'd have spoiled the joke from the outset.

Trengove leaving to go 'home' is a complete crock, the kid isn't even from Adelaide. It's about the same distance from his home to Melbourne as it is to Adelaide.

God I can't wait untill the season starts