The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Colin Garland update

Demon_Tingles

Posted

OK, I am going to say this one more time. STOP TALKING ABOUT HIM GOING FORWARD !!! he only just came back from a serious injury and he has played all his footy in the backline. He was drafted as a utility but has played backline ever since. He is not the answer to our forward problems yet. He needs time to settle in. I doubt he will play forward so please stop demanding it and saying it needs to be done.

Posted

OK, I am going to say this one more time. STOP TALKING ABOUT HIM GOING FORWARD !!! he only just came back from a serious injury and he has played all his footy in the backline. He was drafted as a utility but has played backline ever since. He is not the answer to our forward problems yet. He needs time to settle in. I doubt he will play forward so please stop demanding it and saying it needs to be done.

Demon Tingles- it is my belief he could become an outstanding winger- great defensive yet very attacking. Your opinion please would be greatly appreciated. Please note after a return from the backline.

Posted

Fair call Tingles, it will just be great to have him back playing, back pocket will do me. You say he was drafted as a utility, i seem to remember commentators mentioning he kicked bags of goals as a junior. Is this correct?

Posted

You are correct [censored]. He played as a forward for Tassie, and in fact, in his initial games for Melbourne. He's more than capable of going forward and probably should given the current team balance.

Posted

Yes he did when he played tac cup for the tassie mariners he kicked bags. He became a backman when he played on David Neitz in a practice match and ripped him up. I mean he dominated Neitz. Jayceebee I agree with that however I think he is destined to be a kpp. We have some damaging wingmen in morton/grimes/scully and even Sylvia. We dont need midfielders, we need backman and forwards. More forwards but its my knowledge that Col will be back in the backline.

Posted

Yes he did when he played tac cup for the tassie mariners he kicked bags. He became a backman when he played on David Neitz in a practice match and ripped him up. I mean he dominated Neitz. Jayceebee I agree with that however I think he is destined to be a kpp. We have some damaging wingmen in morton/grimes/scully and even Sylvia. We dont need midfielders, we need backman and forwards. More forwards but its my knowledge that Col will be back in the backline.

He is an interesting option for us and and exciting one at that. He is quite similar to Morton in a way. Height and weight and can play an attacking role out of defence. If Col can return and gain some fitness I can see him going forward and Morton can be left to develop his skills off the half backline were I believe he plays his best football. Either way its adding to our options giving us diffrent setups for differing opponents.

Thanks for the feedback MR Tingles, fingers crossed for the boy.

Posted

Could care less where he plays, just looking forward to seeing the likes of he and Wonna back on the park and looking to see some further improvement.

Posted

Tingles- thanks for comment. I agree he will reurn as a backman initially, but he would make a great wingman. However avid Neitz thought he would replace him eventually at full forward.Very versatile and a brilliant utility.

Posted

Garland may have played in the backline mainly so far in his AFL career, but it doesn't mean how won't or can't play forward going forward.

I'll continue to call for him to be put forward.

I firmly believe the best apprenticeship for a forwardline player is to begin in the backline.

Posted

Garland may have played in the backline mainly so far in his AFL career, but it doesn't mean how won't or can't play forward going forward.

I firmly believe the best apprenticeship for a forwardline player is to begin in the backline.

We all know Garland is Very Qualified to play forward, but he has hardly played for over a year & has had a disrupted pre season, so is way under-dunn, :( Not the best prep for a young player to go forward & take one of the best defenders each week.

Posted

I saw him today at the servo In St Kilda. I asked how his foot was and he said going well. Will play a half for Casey this week. I asked are you aiming for round one and he said probably not, more like round 2 or 3.

Posted

There has been some bad news about Jurrah and also some reports saying Colin Garland didnt pull up well. I spoke to Colin last night as most of you know he is a close friend of mine. He pulled up great, foot no longer causes any pain whatsoever. He will play a half Against the eagles and is aiming for round one.

He doesn't appear to be in the squad. Care to explain?
Posted

I will just be happy when Col plays for the club again, in any position.

That being said, I find it funny how so many people want him played forward.

I know we need some forwards, but we cant just chuck people there because we think they may be good there. (see Stef Martin, who is a much better defneder than forward, but is being continually pushed forward)

Col has shown he is a very good defender, both on talls and smalls, and there will always be a spot for him down back.

Realistically I could see him taking over Frawley's place, as Frawley gets bigger/stronger/more experienced and takes over from Warnock (who is just a good/ honest footballer)

Posted

Can understand your thoughts re Neita but because of our injuries and him it may best to ease him in the backline on resumption and gaining confidence before giving him new challenges.Still think he would be an ideal winger -imagine Morton and Garland on the wing- SENSATIONAL.Reminds me of Woods & Clay when they played for the tigers. Thoughts you old timers. Nearly said WJ and others.

Posted

He doesn't appear to be in the squad. Care to explain?

I am not on match committee I can only go on what he told me. Now there's two people who also spoke to him. I hope you are not criticising me because you know I am not on selsction committee he told me he was playing a half. Maybe why hes not in squad as he is only playing a half ?

Posted

He's probably playing a half for Casey as it's his first game back.

Posted

Read my earlier post. Straight from the horses mouth, playing a half for Casey this weekend. Aiming for round 2 or 3

Thanks for the update J-Riv.